1995 Citroen AX Reviews - Page 2 of 6

1995 Citroen AX ax 1.4 from Egypt

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 kilometres
Most recent distance342170 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Swift

Summary:

It is precious to me

Faults:

Air condition is leaking frequently.

Wheels cover falls easily.

General Comments:

Though this call looks small from outside, it really feels big and comfortable from inside.

However it is a little cost to run this car, but it is really worth it.

This car is really strong in accidents, i experienced it myself.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2007

1995 Citroen AX Elation 957cc from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 957cc Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carSeat Marbella

Summary:

Fun to drive as a first car as it is not too powerful and a great way to start driving

Faults:

Only had a problem with the thermostat sticking which was removed completely and the car is still running fine.

General Comments:

The interior is very dark so I have painted some of the interior plastics red to match the colour of the car on the outside.

The handling is rather sketchy in the wet which I believe is due to the 13inch wheels, which are also very thin.

The seats are uncomfortable for long distances which I believe is due to me being over 6foot tall.

The seats would be more comfortable if they could slide further back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2006

1995 Citroen AX Debut 954cc from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 954cc Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance42444 miles

Summary:

Fantastic, little runner especially for new drivers and learners

Faults:

Problems with my Citroen AX Debut since June 2005.

~The hose clip was loose on the radiator.

~The air cleaner housing seal was missing.

And most recently the problems in order being:

~Small oil leak from around the cylinder head gasket area.

~The engine seems to fade and die when sitting idle, e.g. in a queue of traffic. I have been recommended to change the quality of unleaded petrol I use in my car from supermarkets fuel to Shell, BP etc. And also to use a higher octane fuel.

~I have also noticed a very tiny amount of a leak coming from the windscreen washers tank... but nothing too bad.

General Comments:

I am really impressed with this car. I bought it to learn to drive in... I have done that and I still don't want to sell it!! It may only have a 954cc engine and 4 gears, but it still gets up to at least 85mph uphill on the motorway! (until I notice and slow down again!)

I really do recommend this car for new drivers/learners, because:

~it is easy to drive.

~cheap (only about £25 to fill the tank about every 3-4 weeks)

~insurance is really cheap because of the tiny engine.

~it is quick and NIPPY!!

(Nippy being the nickname I have given my car!!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2006

1995 Citroen AX from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles

Summary:

I like it a lot

Faults:

New indicator arm needed when first bought.

New battery needed just after buying.

Two replacement tyres needed.

General Comments:

The car always starts in the morning, even when it's very cold.

The acceleration is slow, and on steep hills is so slow it is embarrassing.

However once the speed builds up the car can go pretty fast, e.g. overtaking flash cars on the motorway easily.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2006

1995 Citroen AX spree 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carDaewoo Nexia

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

I have replaced the front cv joints and had a bit of suspension work on the front undertaken.

General Comments:

For the size of the car it is suprisingly nippy and relatively comfy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2006

1995 Citroen AX Elation 954 cc petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 954 cc petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired77012 miles
Most recent distance77609 miles

Summary:

Fun to drive, a real car

Faults:

The first thing to go on the car was the rubber ring on the gear linkage, which caused a rattle – this was quite cheap to fix.

The main exhaust mount bracket was another thing, which also caused a small rattle, because it was cracked. - This was fixed by welding.

The rocker box gasket is slightly perished, causing a small oil leak, this has not yet been fixed.

General Comments:

These cars lend themselves very well to town driving.

It is a very easy car to service, and all of the parts can be replaced or serviced by the owner.

The cabin is very nicely sized, and fells very light and airy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2005

1995 Citroen AX Tonic 1.1E from Switzerland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.1E Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired137000 kilometres
Most recent distance152000 kilometres
Previous carToyota MR2

Summary:

Cheap and reliable

Faults:

Speedometer stopped working whilst driving the car back from Switzerland in one go. 22 hours of fun!

Horn gave up the ghost!

Stereo (after market) bad connection on the rear connector... not a problem.

General Comments:

Very good economy.

Reasonable handling except braking at high speed.

Unusual driving position.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th May, 2005

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 31 reviews