1995 Citroen AX spree 1.0 from UK and Ireland


Ideal first car and a great base car for young modders


I bought the car with a blown water pump. Easily repaired.

General Comments:

This car has immaculate body work and a good interior.

I bought it as my first legal car as my old one wasn't legal.

Suprisingly nippy from a 1 litre, but still lacks power.

I have started modifying it with an alien bodykit, cherry bomb exhaust, alloys, induction kit and lowered springs.

Ditch the standard stereo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th February, 2003

20th May 2003, 16:19

I am looking to buy an alien body kit for my Citroen AX and I was wondering were you got yours from.

21st Jul 2003, 10:06

What is an alien kit? I have an AX and I'm intrigued!

11th Aug 2003, 04:37

I'm in the middle of modifying my ax and wanted to know what the alien kit looks like and where I could get one from, also what springs and shocks did you use and how low did you go.

17th Aug 2003, 14:08

Alright buds?

I have an AX spree, my first car, bought Compomotive 15" alloys and a back box. Looking for a body kit, but don't know what to go for, alien? vision? prowler? what do you guys think?

An induction kit? where did you get that from?

1995 Citroen AX Debut 1.0 from UK and Ireland


A reliable basic runaround


When slowing down in 2nd gear the gearbox tends to grind a little, but nothing drastic.


Heater control knob fell off.


General Comments:



Insurance friendly car.


Ride is adequate.


Interior noise could be better.


The pedals are very oddly positioned, especially the accelerator which is so far over to the right it is barely pres-sable with a large adults shoe, tip toes are required.


Suprisingly nippy 954cc engine is a bonus on such a basic car.


Good handling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 2002

1995 Citroen AX Forte 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland


Despite it's problems I love this car


Gearbox needed replacement twice. First for broken reverse gear, second for general wear.

CV joints seriously clank whilst cornering.

Rear drums replaced due to brake fluid leak.

Oil seals replaced.

Sunroof Leaks water.

New Cam belt.

Driver side door lock completely worn.

General Comments:

Nice fast initial acceleration.

Increased rev range by drilling holes into the air box.

Quick, smooth gear changes.

Suspension could be improved by lowering. Tends to slide round corners even with wider tires.

Brakes don`t inspire confidence even with new pads and drums.

Noisy, rattly engine.

Very economical with an average 40MPG even with a heavy right foot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2002

1995 Citroen AX Echo Plus 1.5 diesel from UK and Ireland


Remember to fill the tank


Front right brake squealing. Fixed with new discs/pads.

Clutch release arm snapped. Difficult to get hold of from Citroen/Peugeot Dealers.

Gearshift very loose, needs new linkages.

General Comments:

For the price these are fantastic motors. I average 500 miles on a tank (10gallon).

Starting to lose a bit of power now, due to high mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th August, 2002

1st Sep 2004, 08:09

I own an AX 1.5 diesel (N reg), with 89,000 on the clock. Generally happy with the car in terms of performance - it's pretty nippy, probably the torque that helps - reliability is excellent, and of course, the economy is fantastic. On a recent trip to Europe, returned figures of around 60mpg; this included long stints of high speed driving on German autobahn's (80-90mph).Car was faultless throughout, offering decent comfort, though noisy at autobahn speed. Handles fairly well, though absolutely terrifying in a cross-wind at highish speeds due to light bodywork; very sluggish up alpine passes in France, Germany. Only a 2CV was slower!

1995 Citroen AX Elation 1.0 Injection from UK and Ireland


Cheap, quick nippy motor


Fag Lighter Fault.

Speedo Needle sticks.

Rattles everywhere typical Citroen. Found most of them now thought.

2 New CV Boots. New front pads and discs on front due to leaking grease from the CV Boot.

Cam belt @ 55,000.

Gear box is a bit noisy in 3rd.

Annoying vibration in the door.

New instrument bulbs, they go regularly and it's a pain getting out the instrument panel.

General Comments:

Good cheap car, but when they get older and do more miles problems start occurring. Good for a 100mph, I've also had 97mph with 5 passengers which in not bad for a 954cc, however the brakes don't work well with 5 up.

Rattle like hell, handles like a dog, through any corner you must expect the body roll.

Not many performance parts for AX's available.

Not bad for 1.0, cheap and goes well when pushed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2002

17th Apr 2003, 09:08

You say the Citroen AX handles like a dog. Is that why it was praise in every motoring publication in it's day? People assume that body = bad handling. Handling is not about roll/roadholding. It's about enjoyment, it's all down to the steering.