1990 Citroen BX Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1990 Citroen BX 16v 1.9 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carCitroen BX

Summary:

A superb high performance five door saloon car

Faults:

No problems whatsoever other than general wear and tear. Clutch and spheres had to be replaced at 91,000 miles, but it was still running on the original ones fitted at the production factory.

General Comments:

This has been the best car I've ever owned, I had an 8v GTi previous to this. The ride comfort is second to none and has been complimented by everybody that ever had the pleasure of sitting in it, so long as the spheres aren't left to deteriorate, it then feels like you're driving a pogo stick.

The performance is outstanding for a car with only a 1905cc engine, it would happily see off the equivalent Peugeot 405 Mi16. The 205/309 Peugeot 1.9 GTi didn't stand a chance, though many tried failed. As many have said, the revs do need to be kept up above 4,000 to maximise its full potential and even seems to enjoy racing around at 5,000.

Equipment levels are again fantastic, electric everything, central locking and anti lock brakes are all standard. There is room for five adults and boot space is huge.

Stupidly I sold my 16v in September 2000 and bought a 1999 Nissan Almera GTi, a nice car with lots of nice toys, but it was quite a let down after the BX. In hindsight I should have stuck with the BX and would probably still have it now, the Almera and I too parted company in April 2001 and I have been looking for another BX 16v to replace my first, as yet the right one hasn't come along but I will keep looking.

In short this is a wonderful car with brilliant performance, comfort and handling so long as it is looked after, don't be scared of the suspension like anything else, maintenance will prolong life.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2001

1st Dec 2005, 10:41

"it would happily see off the equivalent Peugeot 405 Mi16."

- No it wouldn't! I have read several reviews of these cars, and there's really nothing in it.

The look of the 405 is probably more acceptable today anyway.

2nd Dec 2005, 16:08

Although performance of the BX 16v and 405 Mi-16 is pretty similar (as you would expect given their identical engines), many of the reviews of the time suggested that the BX was the slightly quicker of the two, due to being over 60kg lighter. It was worth a couple of tenths on the 0-60 and 0-100 runs. Not enough to "thrash" the Pug, but enough to be noticeable.

26th Feb 2010, 02:12

The Peter McLeod (Privateer) BX 16V thrashed the Pug Mi16 factory backed entry driven by Peter Brock in the Bathurst 12 hour race in 1992 at Mt Panorama Circuit. Thrashed it in endurance race conditions.

1990 Citroen BX 16v 1.9 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Best bargain ever, future classic

Faults:

Nothing really has gone wrong with this car since I have acquired it.

I bought the car for seven Irish pounds.

As we speak I am starting the restoration work.

Bodywork cost (estimate) £500.

Doner car (1988 BX GTI) - free.

General Comments:

I fully intend to put this car back to its original condition.

When I first came to see my new investment (it was bought after it was described to me by a friend) it was parked in three foot high grass.

A new battery and two turns of the key later, it started.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2001

10th May 2001, 01:50

Best of luck to you, myself and a friend are also restoring one right now. If you have any queries, don't hesitate... we have become quite knowledgeable about these.

1990 Citroen BX 19TZS 1.9 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance100180 miles

Summary:

Great car, let down by poor reliability and maintenance costs

Faults:

Quite a lot, mostly concerned with the suspension and electrics.

General Comments:

Very comfortable. The hydraulic suspension system would be great if not so unreliable and costly to maintain.

Not a performance car, but with its ease of cruising and stability, very pleasant to drive.

The 10-year old internal equipment is often better than new cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th April, 2001

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 25 reviews