1992 Citroen BX Reviews

1992 Citroen BX TXD Turbo 1.8 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carCitroen ZX

Summary:

Mine is a lemon

Faults:

Car will not start - possible power drain. The battery does not recharge after driving the car, which suggests a problem with the alternator.

Turbo spins but provides no power. Checked pipes, and took the car to 2 garages, neither could diagnose the problem.

Possible rear arm bearings pending.

General Comments:

The worst car I have owned. Some serious issues, and much money required to fix.

I have just got another car to replace the BX...

I am in no doubt that this car is simply a bad example, so I would get another BX, just not at the moment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th March, 2009

30th Mar 2009, 06:36

A lemon is when you get a new car with the faults you mention, what you got was an old worn-out high mileage car.

3rd Apr 2009, 10:28

Look on the bright side, you could have brought a Peugeot 306 - now that is a really bad car. Look at the reviews on this site for proof.

7th May 2009, 14:30

Who put that last one up? Very Funny!

1st Oct 2009, 11:11

Update... after getting some help with the car, we found out there's even more wrong than first thought - it's leaking oil from somewhere and the cambelt was ready to fail, but luckily I haven't been using the car, so that's OK. It's been sat outside my house for about a month now looking like a right mess.

1992 Citroen BX Kat 1.4 from Greece

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance190000 kilometres
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Unsung hero

Faults:

Only the normal wear and tear items - brake pads, oil, filters, etc.

Spheres replaced at 150,000 km, clutch at 170,000 km.

Quality of interior trim could have been better.

Electrics needed some tidying, but only minor stuff.

General Comments:

An absolute gem. This car was always reliable, no matter what use and abuse I threw at it. Just like an old dog - always by your side till the end.

Unfortunately, it had an old dog's looks as well. But with the comfort and pleasure of driving the car, after a few miles you no longer cared about its looks. In fact, it turned from a frog into a prince.

(Sorry about the animal metaphors - they just seem quite appropriate right now...)

Would gladly get another one if it had been taken care of properly. Most of the problems with this car, as with other hydraulic Citroens, is associated with maintenance carried out by people not familiar with its ins and outs. If you have a Citroen dealer service history, don't think twice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2007

1992 Citroen BX 19TGS 1.9 petrol from Spain

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.9 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10
Distance when acquired122000 kilometres
Most recent distance123000 kilometres

Summary:

So French - inside car driving: not bad, outside car looking at it: embarrassing in the extreme..

Faults:

Rubber hose burst (perished) after a week causing overheating.

Rear wiper does not operate.

Temperature control was stiff to turn, took me about 5 minutes of owning the car to snap it off whilst trying to force it round. Now its on hot, and I live 10 miles north of Africa in 40 degree heat. Nice.

Too rusty for a dry climate and for year.

General Comments:

This is easily the ugliest car I have ever owned. Suspension is just pointless - why? I have a BMW, never thought "Wish it had a little lever to make it go up and down"...

Engine okay, goes well for an 8v carb engine and not a bad exhaust note too when its pushed. But you have to pretend people are not cringing at the shape of the thing...

So FRENCH!!!

Plus side - has PAS, EW, central locking. But even back when it was launched it must have been out of date. No airbags. No sun roof. No a/c. And it runs on... yup I can't quite believe this for a 1992 car... leaded petrol. Mon ami, if it hadn't been virtually given to me I wouldn't own it.

Good to see Citreon are finally selling more cars these days, now they look more like, well, cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th July, 2007

16th Jul 2007, 08:10

Further to my review ...

Yup, my first impressions of this car and its "quirky" (for "quirky" read "crap") suspension design have just been confirmed. Just moved it after letting it run for 10 minutes to warm up and... yes no prizes for guessing, a big patch of green LHM oil under the right hand wheel.

What a complete shed. Ugly AND useless: great combo.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 12 reviews