1992 Citroen BX Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1992 Citroen BX 17 1.7 tzd from UK and Ireland

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.7 tzd Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Not a car for youngsters

Faults:

The suspension developed a leak at 140000 miles. But I never bothered. Bought a 4 litres of hydraulic fluid and kept on topping up. Drove the car another 5000 miles like this. Worked fine.

General Comments:

Very comfortable car. All the buttons were still working when I scrapped it. Needs a little bit of care in the use of hydro pneumatic suspension. I raised the car to its maximum height and drove off road, that's when it developed the leak.

The best part is the engine. Gave me 8.8 miles per pound when a litre was 93p.

The car is lush from the inside and adjustable shocks make it highly comfortable. It's very spacious too.

I could never go above 95mph, as the car started to vibrate above that speed. Don't know why.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2006

30th Jan 2009, 15:49

Vibration is sometimes the result of badly weighted wheels.

1992 Citroen BX TZD 1.7 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.7 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired138000 miles
Most recent distance144400 miles
Previous carCitroen 2CV

Summary:

Brilliant, I ought to have bought one years ago

Faults:

Most of the electrical gizmo's didn't work 'cos the switches all needed cleaning.

Exhaust back box fell off

Electric sunroof switch broke, needed replacing (obtained one from a scrap-yard)

General Comments:

Bought the car to use as a tow-car for a caravan however I'm so impressed by the comfort, diesel economy and performance that it has become my everyday car, my previous everyday car was/is a Citroen 2CV and although the BX does not have the old fashioned charm of the 2CV it is relaxingly pleasant to drive. Compared to the 2CV it is not only big enough not to be intimidated in on the road, but also big enough to bully BMW's and the like.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2005

27th Jul 2005, 11:18

I agree with the review. I thought, when first introduced to BXs, particularly the diesel model, that they were slow, ungainly and uncomfortable. Having owned three, second hand ones, I have found them economical, speedy, easy to maintain and very comfortable.

I moved up to the Xantia, very comfortable, but the engine and gearbox are on the way out, hence my return to looking for a BX turbo diesel.

Dennis.

1992 Citroen BX TD 1.9 diesel from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired220000 kilometres
Most recent distance413000 kilometres
Previous carRenault 11

Summary:

A lot of car for a little money

Faults:

Water-pump broke down at 300.000 kilometers.

Front brake disks at 320,000 kilometers.

Front brake pads at 320,000 kilometers.

The hinge on the driver's door needed welding at 380,000 kilometers.

Rear brake pads at 400,000 kilometers.

General Comments:

This car is very reliable. It's never failed us.

I used to think that Citroen drivers were exaggerating about the comfort of the hydraulic system. Now I know better, the Citroen really is a smooth drive.

The BX likes long distances.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2003

1992 Citroen BX 19TGD Break 1.9 diesel from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired325000 kilometres
Most recent distance344500 kilometres
Previous carCitroen BX

Summary:

An economical reliable and comfortable car for a low price

Faults:

The rear arm bearings where worn out, there was a minor leak in the fuel system and the alternator needed replacing.

General Comments:

It is a very economical car, it's fuel use is 1:18.

The car is very reliable.

It is very comfortable driving and has lots of space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2002

1992 Citroen BX Progress 1.6 from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carCitroen BX

Summary:

A lot of car for the price

Faults:

Once it didn't elevate, this minor problem was caused by a little air bubble in the hydro pneumatic system.

Apart from that, nothing yet.

General Comments:

This is my second BX, the previous one being a normal 14 which had about 150000 km's in it's life. Apart from a bad gearbox (2nd was a problem, but it didn't get worse in the 3 years I owned this car), no problems.

The Progress is more luxurious and has a more powerful engine. Beautiful car, very very comfortable, and so far very cheap in service costs. Or am I just lucky? Time will tell.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th August, 2001

1992 Citroen BX 19 TZI 1.9 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

A relatively cheap luxury car with lots of go when pushed

Faults:

Alternator output cable charred.

Battery cable connectors charred.

Front struts creaking.

Front strut rubber return line.

Apart from general maintenance items eg. brake pads (front) at 110,000 and replacement front discs shortly, no major faults.

General Comments:

Having had 2 Tractions and 3 D's the BX is the better car.

Build quality is very good.

Plastic trim is fading in the Aussie sun.

Goes very well for a 1.9 Litre, no doubt the 120HP and 1,100KG make the difference.

Handles precisely.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2001

13th May 2001, 06:07

You can't compare a 'modern' car like the bx with a Traction or DS. The Ds and traction were in their days (and for years afterwards) revolutionary while the BX meant little in automobile-history.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 12 reviews