2003 Citroen C3 Pluriel Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2003 Citroen C3 Pluriel 1.6L from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired2500 kilometres
Most recent distance41000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Love this car

Faults:

The car has the usual "delay" sometimes at corners or roundabouts, or when starting up on car park ramps.

- Initial dealer response was to download the latest software - no fix.

- At the next service, the advice from the dealer was that the car was meant to be driven in manual mode around town - no fix, and still had the same problem in manual mode sometimes.

- Next service, it was ticked as fixed, and seems to happen far less now. What I have noticed is that the car holds its gears to higher speeds now, but not to the extent that it seems to be over-revving or increasing fuel consumption. In fact it appears to have all the attributes of a car running in "sports" mode, so I suspect they have changed the calibration of the gearbox in some way.

Problem with air bag warning light coming on.

- Dealer fix was to reconnect the seat sensor under the passenger seat.

- Within 500 ks the light was back on, and since then seems to be fixed when my taller husband drives the car, and thumps the seat down to its lowest height. The problem comes back a few days later however.

Central locking will not lock sometimes

- Dealer response is must be near a mobile tower which is rubbish as it isn't and does and does not lock at same place on different days

- Next excuse was maybe the central computer was a bit hot sometimes

- I suspect a faulty sensor, which seems to be in the rear hatch area

- Would not be a huge inconvenience, except Australian models still have key door lock on the left side (passenger side)

No problems with leaks as reported by others; even when washed with a high pressure washer.

General Comments:

Few minor niggles, but love this car.

The orange color, combined with personalised plates mean that everybody recognises my wife and her car, and the number of people who wave or call out to her is amazing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd July, 2007

4th Oct 2007, 18:53

Just adding to original review.

Still no fix to any of the problems above even after another service.

Warranty expired on Sunday (3 years and 24K kms)

Monday - power steering quit for half an hour, luckily in drive and not on road, but wife could not even turn the wheel enough to get into the garage.

Friday - starter refused to operate for half an hour even though lights went on and radio started when ignition key turned.

Both problems seemed to self correct.

4th Apr 2010, 14:40

For remote locking problems, read the comment here by moon the loon:

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20070920094302AADJNHG

2003 Citroen C3 Pluriel i 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired150 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

Seriously flawed and worst car buying decision I've ever made!

Faults:

I have never had the roof off, as it has been with the dealers for most of the good weather.

The roof seals leaked, and have been refitted 10 times, including the "new improved" type.

The last time the "new" seals were fitted, there was so much silicone sealer used that the rubber bulged... causing leaks!

The dealer told me the seals were OK until the roof is removed... not great news for a convertible!

I have also been told not to jet wash the car, as it will interfere with the seals!

I have owned the car for 18 months, and it has been back to the dealers on 15 occasions, the longest being for 2 months. It is due in again this week.

The electric window regulators in both driver & passenger door were faulty.

The seals have been replaced around the driver's door, passenger door, around the boot, and over the rear of the car.

The upholstery requires cleaning constantly, due to the water stains.

The glove box door could be opened by your little finger, even when locked. Citroen replaced the door twice, which did not resolve the problem. Even I could see that the door catch was not meeting properly. It turns out the only way to rectify this is to remove the dash completely, which of course is not cost effective, so they screwed a bit of plastic to the existing catch to elongate it... TOP JOB! It looks tacky and still does not work properly.

Car has had over £2500 of warranty work carried out, and is due for more.

The dealers have been less than helpful, and a number of my returns to them are due to shoddy work.

General Comments:

The car is nice to look at, but doesn't live up to its looks.

I bought it for its quirky design, but this was an error on my part. The quirky design is basically faulty, and the car is not fit for the purpose intended, i.e, as a convertible the design is completely flawed.

Probably great in warmer climates, but should not have been marketed in the UK.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd February, 2006

13th Sep 2006, 06:43

I too thought the Pluriel was wonderful until it leaked, again I spent more time in the garage having it fixed than driving until due to the last lot of shoddy work at the garage and our dealer being generous, they asked if I would like to exchange to a C2, I will never again buy a Citroen as even my C2 has had problems and sounds like its about to fall apart, nice concepts, but not good to actually drive, I still wonder if every Pluriel I see has the same problem, as every time I took mine to the Garage there was a queue awaiting some more silicon implants, Please use this as a warning, seriously do not buy! You have been warned.

31st Aug 2009, 08:20

I have a 2008 model and have not had any problems with the roof leaking. Hopefully the design has improved over the years. I am a bit concerned about the "alternative" gear box. It doesn't change very smoothly and I've heard of a guy having to pay AUS$2000 to get it fixed.

2003 Citroen C3 Pluriel 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carCitroen Xsara

Summary:

A fun unique car

Faults:

Roof leaked after heavy rain, causing water marks on the interior trim.

Alarm seems very sensitive.

Light grey coloured seats seems to mark too easily, needs constant valeting.

General Comments:

A great little car for the time I owned it, unfortunately the British weather lets it down as you don't get enough days in the year to take the roof off.

Was quite heavy on petrol consumption, and I found that the SensoDrive gearbox blunts performance somewhat. Still, it turned heads and boasts the same charm as the original 2CV.

Not particularly practical, especially if you own a dog - still great fun to drive and own and that's what counts in the end.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2004

18th Mar 2005, 11:04

I have had a C3 Pluriel since last August 2004 and although I am generally pleased with it, I do agree with many of the comments here.

It is quite heavy on fuel even compared to my previous car, which was a Saxo VTR which also had the 1.6i engine. The most economical way of driving the car seems to be in the manual mode, reserving Auto for stopstart driving.

The sensodrive has a few issues that can be a little frustrating. For example, if you are in Auto and slowing down for a left turn, it seems to have to "think" about changing down a gear.

Despite this, it's a nice car and different in a quirky way which I like. Provided you use the manual paddle or stick change it seems fine.

Average review marks: 4.6 / 10, based on 6 reviews