Citroen C8 Reviews

2006 Citroen C8 SX HDI 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carFiat Ulysse

Summary:

Overpriced, probably should have looked at the Kia

Faults:

Car cut out today 26/03/2013

Engine stopped. "Immobiliser Fault" came up on the display.

Fuel & oil lights are on permanently.

Ignition switches itself off after a few minutes.

The AA man could not get the car to respond to his OBD computer.

General Comments:

Up until recently the car has been reasonably reliable!

It is a bit cumbersome, slow & fuel hungry.

However my wife took the car out to Lakeside Shopping Centre today with our daughter, & on the way out of the car park, it just cut out.

She rang me & said "immobilizer fault" came up on the display & the oil light & the fuel light are on permanently, although the tank is full.

The engine turns over, but won't start.

The ignition lights initially come on, then go off after a minute or so.

The AA recovery chap connected it up to his OBD, & his computer would not connect to the car. So he tested his OBD on another car & it worked fine, so he was unable to diagnose the problem.

He did say that when he squirted fuel into the engine, it tried to start, so it could be the fuel pump, but this doesn't explain the miscellaneous electrical problems.

So currently sitting outside my house whilst I decide whether its worth having Citroen look at it or not.

Although I am disappointed that this has happened, I have to accept that the car has given me up to now 6 & a half years trouble free motoring.

I have had the occasional air bag warning light come on, but it tends to be a very occasional fault.

I haven't had the cam belt changed yet; will probably have to get that done as well, after reading everyone else's problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th March, 2013

27th Mar 2013, 19:43

Wow, what a total shed! Steer clear of the dealer and go to a specialist.

I would not touch a French car with a 30 foot bargepole.

2003 Citroen C8 LX 2.0 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carCitroen C3 Picasso

Summary:

Terrible

Faults:

Water pump replaced.

Clutch went.

Alternator went.

General Comments:

I have owned four Citroens in the last 10 years.

The C8 is the worst car I have ever owned.

The tyres are going on the shoulders, sensors are constantly going off, front seat is falling apart, and the handles are flaking.

I have only owned it for 10 months, and it's cost me nearly 2 grand in repairs and numerous headaches.

I have still got 2 years left on the finance. I'm worried it's not going to last that long.

I am going to run it into the ground, and then get rid. I will never buy a Citroen again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th March, 2012

2003 Citroen C8 from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carFiat Ulysse

Summary:

Just the same as the rest, if maintained

Faults:

Rear doors not opening with handle (non electric). Elastic band fixed that. £0.10.

Alternator at 73000, £110.

Drivers door switches replaced at 70000, £35.

Handbrake seized off at 70000. Don't use it much anyway.

General Comments:

Ignore Citroen's 100,000 mile timing belt rule. Fiat say (remember it is the same engine) 60,000 or 5 years, which ever comes first. Apply this rule and all reported belt failures wouldn't have happened. Hope mine doesn't go tomorrow LOL.

Great car overall.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2011

2003 Citroen C8 Exclusive 2.2 HDI turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.2 HDI turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz C-Class

Summary:

Problematic and expensive to repair

Faults:

My cambelt snapped with my wife driving on a dual carriageway on December 18th in minus 7 degrees. Had the car recovered by RAC, and taken to my garage where they told me what was wrong.

Before ringing Citroen UK, googled C8 cambelt failure on the Honest John website, and found it isn't that uncommon i.e. there is a design fault in cold snowy icy conditions; water runs down the very large windscreen in copious amounts, and then is dumped on and around the timing (cambelt) belt housing, and if like me, your car is too large to go in the garage, then the large amount of said water freezes solid on the belt, causing premature rotting of belt, or as in my case, a snapped belt.

Citroen are aware of this fault, but chose not to do a recall because they considered it not to be a big problem (ha), but instead solved the problem on 06 vehicles (C8) only.

I politely but firmly told Citroen UK I knew all about the problem, and what would they do for me, as my car had only done 80000. The car is now with Citroen having a new engine fitted; total cost to Citroen £8000 engine + labour. And they are fitting the 15p piece of pressed plastic that would have avoided all this.

Regards healdpaul@aol.com

General Comments:

The car is great when everything is working.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd January, 2011

22nd Jan 2011, 08:23

Why would you spend £8k on a new engine for a 7 year old car?? Second hand engine? I don't know if it is on the original cambelt, but 80k miles is pushing it IMO.

22nd Jan 2011, 16:47

Sounds like you got great service from Citroen. A new engine at their expense in a 7 year old higher mileage car, we all should be so lucky. Garage it, service it, it's not a series two Land Rover!

22nd Jan 2011, 22:01

He said Citroën paid for the new engine, not the owner. Do you really think a car manufacturer would risk putting in a second-hand engine?

Average review marks: 4.9 / 10, based on 14 reviews