1971 Citroen DS D Super 5 from UK and Ireland - Comments

25th Jan 2005, 07:09

I love the DS and it indeed was the first true modern car. I own the smaller GS series and it has the capacity to out run many cars of which are much more powerful around corners. and ever since I have modded the engine the only thing I can think of that is as quick around the track is a Porsche 944 (and maybe a Lotus Elise, and some other wildly expensive supercars). The DS is a brilliant car and I intend on owning one in the future. the poor individual that dissed the DS is a fool and I feel sorry for him in the fact that he has no imagination.

28th Feb 2005, 17:49

Just to set the record straight- crunch zones were invented in 1951 by Bela Barenyi of Mercedes-benz, although the marque was not to use the idea until 1959 with the 'finny' sedans. Please, don't get me wrong, I absolutely adore the DS, but there are other brilliant designers who should be credited.

19th Nov 2005, 21:43

I was introduced to Citroen in 1965 when my father rolled up our back alley in his new ID 19 wagon. We were then the strangest family in south Vancouver. My uncle bought a DS Super soon after, then my eldest brother bought his own DS 21 sedan. After ten hard years service as a hauler for our family of 8, and use as a truck for my father's machine shop, the old Citroen came to its life's end when the tire jack went through the floor; the car had a major weakness, rust. We loved the car dearly, and still talk about it fondly 40 years later.

21st Nov 2005, 16:45

I'm the proud owner of a 71 DS21 Pallas. I find it fascinating that this car appeals to such a wide range of ages, truly showing what a timeless design the DS is. Just the fact that this car has such a polarizing effect on people speaks to it's genius. Only those who have taken the time to appreciate what a masterpiece this car is understand it's many virtues, the detractors resort to senseless babble.

Some misconceptions are: the car is too complex to be dependable. These cars are very rugged and overbuilt, the drive-train is bulletproof. Having said that it does take an attentive owner who will correctly maintain the car.

Another is that it is difficult to find parts for. There is a tremendous amount of support on the Internet (yahoo groups) as well as many part outlets (even here in the USA).

So take the plunge and find a DS and bring it home from the cold!These cars are in dire need of owners who are willing to preserve the most important motoring icon in history, but only if you don't mind attracting massive attention wherever you go.

DW.

2nd Dec 2005, 20:56

I have just bought a DS 1971 and take delivery of it next week. The car in metallic light gold is simply stunning. It has caused a real lively debate at my work as well as home. I can't think of another car on this planet that would satisfy my mid life crisis in the same way as the DS. In a sea of mundane cars on our roads the DS stands out. I consider myself to be very fortunate.

7th May 2007, 11:05

As much as I love the Citroen DS, I have to remind people of the Tucker Torpedo Sedan... American. While no more than 50 were built and the poor guy was put out of business, it was definitely the first with four wheel discs, a swivelling head light in addition to other things including standard seatbelts. This was all in 1948. I have no biases (Canadian) and love the DS (really do), however the truth must be told.

26th Jun 2007, 17:17

I'd like to know if anyone can give me some advice on where to buy a Citroen DS. I absolutely love the car, and want to use it daily, rather than just keep it polished in the garage. Are there better models than others, things to watch out for. Can anyone recommend a good place to buy one from? I think they are also beautiful cars, well ahead of their time.

Many Thanks.

9th Feb 2010, 11:33

Yes, but in this day and age, is the DS reliable?

16th Sep 2010, 08:52

I have been a Citroen fan since the mid-seventies, my early teen years. I got my license in 1979 in a GS Club.

I got a 1968 DS 19 in 1981. Then a 1972 DS 20 in 1982. I drove thousands of kms around South Africa, no problems!

Now I own a 1975 Pallas. What a grand old dame, always a pleasure to drive. I just love all the attention, which I don't get when driving in my Picasso.

Still the best ride and car in my opinion. Just love them.

30th May 2011, 16:07

What a car, what a car...

I've owned at least 325 cars in my life, and the ID19 I had in college (Arizona State) and the one DS21 I had soon thereafter, were probably the most fun, well two of the most fun, cars ever, and god knows I've had a lot of fun cars.

I just want reliability and durability, and maybe a bit of quirkiness thrown in to keep it interesting. And the Citroens always delivered.

So comfortable were/are they in the suspension department, so durable in the drivetrain, so bizare in the single nut wheel and in so many other ways, including the nearly hilarious "Citromatic" gearshift, it was, and is, such a wonderful adventure to own and drive one.

If could find one, I'd buy it in a New York minute, but alas, they have pretty much gone the way of the Dodo... not because of better replacements, but rather thru natural attrition...

I'd prefer a DS, but even the ID would be fine, if I could just find one. Actually a friend still has 4 carcases and piles of parts hidden up here in the mountains, still silently hiding away, but at my age it might be wiser to find one in operable condition without having to resurrect it, as I do with almost all my other acquisitions.

Such fine memories, and a feeling of having been a part of sharing the adventure of truly advanced thinking. Great technical advances need the support of the buying public, and it's just a shame the French marketers never learned how to appeal to us in the USA. Only by word-of-mouth did they get the following they did. Even now, the few still around do indeed turn heads and evoke earnest inquiries, and genuine admiration. French or not, people love these things.

Having been ensconced at "The Shining" up in the California Sierras (nearest real grocery store is 30 miles away) for the last year under near record snowfall (620 inches in total - no not in a single storm) I have reverted to Subarus. But I sure wish I had a DS or ID right now.

In the last 2 weeks:

After getting an SVX to compliment my stable of Foresters and Legacy's, I was rather amused to see "The Truth About Cars" website: in their review of the SVX.

It compared the uniqueness of the SVX as only on par with the venerated Citroen ID19 and DS21.

I laughed and showed it to my wife who had chided me on the SVX purchase. Her reluctant response; "Well OK, if TTAC's reviewer sees a connection to Citroen then I'll stop complaining". Even in retrospect she loves the Citroen, and it's been 32 years since we last had one. Just the thought of it brings a silent moment to our day, and a smile to our faces.