Citroen GSA Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1983 Citroen GSA Pallas 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired119000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carSAAB 99

Summary:

Cheap, but often rusty comfort

Faults:

I got the car free with no MoT.

To pass the MoT, it needed new four (cheap) tyres, some welding, a new exhaust Y-pipe, some adjustment to the carb for the emissions test and a couple of lightbulbs. Oh, and the wiper linkage had broken, leaving only the passenger side one working!

Looks like a lot, but there were no nasty surprises - I knew what I was getting into when I picked it up.

General Comments:

I love these cars. I had a 1978 GS Club before, and really missed it.

All G-series cars are rare, technically interesting and wonderful to drive with smooth engines and that magic carpet ride quality. They also handle extremely well - they roll a lot, but keep on gripping.

They have extremely light and precise steering, and powered disc brakes. The car "feels" much safer and easier to drive than my modern - not bad for a design which appeared in 1970!

I didn't like the small boot opening and the lack of power in the '78 GS, but my '83 GSA has a hatchback and an enormous boot, and a slightly more powerful engine with better chosen gear ratios and, joy of joys, a fifth gear. I drove my GS to Italy in two days once - these are fabulous long-distance cars. Not bad for an old family saloon, and much better than the equivalent British Maxi or Marina!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2003

5th May 2003, 07:19

I quite agree, these are fabulous long-distance cars! I drove the length of Norway in one day only! Very nice!

25th Jan 2005, 06:21

T agree. These cars are comfortable, handle well, low mantanence, and if you tune them up they are very fast, and that is just the 4 speed 1220 model.

One day I raced a Nissan Skyline Turbo through some bends and I had the pleasure of watching him disapear through the rear vision mirror. They are very fast around corners and I am yet to find a car for under $20,000 AU that can keep up with them after $200 worth of modifications to the engine. Maybe a Fiat X1/9 could.

1982 Citroen GSA Special 1.2 cc from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.2 cc Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10

Summary:

A cheap. unreliable beauty

Faults:

Very poor damp starting.

Massive oil leaks.

Rust coming from the inside out.

Suspension intermittently packed up, leaving the car at its lowest setting.

General Comments:

My GSA handled excellently, and has the best ride comfort of any car I have driven.

Although its noisy its also great fun and you can put up with its quirks for the pleasure you get, people look, stare and then laugh at it, its great...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2003

1982 Citroen GSA Pallas 1.3 from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired53100 kilometres
Most recent distance53500 kilometres
Previous carCitroen BX

Summary:

An extraordinary highly comfortable car

Faults:

This car has a lot of rust problems.

The engine is leaking oil.

General Comments:

This car is the ultimate comfort.

I do not use it as a daily driver, but have it just for its great design, comfort and specialty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2002

1983 Citroen GSA Special 1.3 boxer from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 boxer Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired175033 kilometres
Most recent distance178278 kilometres
Previous carCitroen CX

Summary:

A low cost reliable car

Faults:

Well I'm the 4th owner and needed only to replace a light bulb. The driver's side is worn, needs to be replaced.

General Comments:

The engine is great, it gives a very nice roar. When the engine is tweaked it is a fast car. It looks like it's the Citroen CX's smaller brother, only it looks a bit better :)

The car's brakes are of a high standard. So is driving over bumpy roads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2001

1985 Citroen GSA Special 1.3 petrol from Romania

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.3 / 10
Distance when acquired156000 kilometres
Most recent distance17000 kilometres

Summary:

A total waste of money

Faults:

Everything, from electrical to mechanical parts. Every two weeks something new went wrong! The list would be too long.

I suspect this was because of the previous owner(s), but anyway I spent my money for nothing.

General Comments:

Comfortable car and that's it. It drinks petrol and oil like a thirsty mammoth!

Don't you ever think of buying one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th October, 2001

31st Oct 2001, 00:37

They are one of the most reliable cars to own. Mine consumes no oil and an average of 8L of gas on 100km. You should not neglect them too much. The one I have has had no problems at all, it's a 1983 GSA X3 with 99000km on the clock. Wonderful cars to drive and rarely you see one on Belgian roads.

15th Dec 2001, 16:39

Was it a imported Tomoz assembled Yugoslavian GS?

28th Jan 2002, 02:01

I have 1980 Tomos made GSA and it is very reliable.

19th Mar 2003, 03:01

I own a GSA 1980 model. Wonderful! I have carelessly driven it for two years around Rhodes, on all kinds of terrain, she's still alive and kicking, worth every Drachma!

5th May 2003, 07:15

I have owned two GSA's, and on my way to buy my third.

I have had little problems other than original parts are difficult and expensive to get. Therefore I had to use non-original parts, which leads to more problems. One bad experience doesn't mean the car is generally bad. Far from it!

9th Jan 2005, 10:21

I have only recently bought a GS Club so I can't really comment accurately on reliability although I have heard that they are OK so long as they are maintained well. I have to say that these cars could never be described as bad as they are true design classics both technically and in looks. They have a lower drag co-efficient that a Ferrari Daytona, ultra smooth magic carpet ride, amazing handling, steering and brakes, lovely interiors with the nicest seats on a car of this size. I have to say that fuel ecconomy doesn't seem great at this point, but I believe people when they say they get 35 miles to the gallon and I'm sure it depends on how well set up the engine is.

1983 Citroen GSA Pallas 1.3 from Hungary

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired192000 kilometres
Most recent distance220000 kilometres
Previous carTrabant 601

Summary:

Comfy. cheap car for everyday use

Faults:

Rust of the sidebars and some other parts (like rear brake pipeline).

Usual parts: rear brake pads and disk, some bulbs.

The biggest problem - when the car was scraped - the left rear suspension holder broke and the suspension was damaged totally. Althought this unwanted event happen to the car, I liked the car (and have already bought another one) ;-)

General Comments:

I like the car because it is a mid-size car with a large boot, it's comfy, cheap to keep on road, and reliable.

The routine maintenance is OK, but some parts are restricted to reach (need to dismantle other components to reach the defective part), but because it's reliable you do not need to service it too often.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2001

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 12 reviews