2002 Citroen Picasso SX 2.0 diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A brilliant buy for families; combines performance with economy to some extent

Faults:

Problems with the fuel gauge have meant keeping a careful eye on what miles have actually been covered since last fill-up. This problem could have been avoided if the dealership had been more competent. Brakes squeak a little since new, but not enough to irritate.

General Comments:

Seriously generous on space and quite luxurious. 2 litre diesel engine goes like a rocket; the only way you'd know is by the noise and that's quieter than you'd expect. Fuel consumption is about 48 mixed cycle and better on a longer run. Massive boot, comfortable drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2003

2002 Citroen Picasso Exclusive HDI 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

You get more than you pay for

Faults:

Very little. In fact, Nothing at all!

General Comments:

Very easy access in and out. Great vision except when parking. Front seats could be more comfortable compared with my previous Citroen, an XM.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2003

2002 Citroen Picasso 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A good value, comfortable family car

Faults:

Only that the handbrake had to have a slight adjustment.

General Comments:

We decided to upgrade our car to a MPV type and spent some weeks looking at different models

We finally decided on the Picasso.

So far we cannot fault it.

Having owned 7 previous cars of various makes I have to say that the Picasso is the most comfortable.

The driving position is excellent - Nice and high.

Also the Kids love the higher seating as they can see more.

The Extra glass all round gives an even bigger sense of space and comfort.

The Picasso comes well equipped as standard with lots of storage space - we especially liked the two under-floor boxes.

The 1.6i engine is surprisingly responsive and smooth and the gear changes are slick and easy.

All round we think that the Picasso is a good value family car which the kids love.

Would definitely buy another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2002

27th May 2003, 11:05

HI I just want to say that the 1.4L scenics would rip your Picasso apart. your 1.6L Picasso suffers badly on performance. the 1.4L Scenics have a quicker 0-60 time and more bhp. as the 1.4L scenic has 98 bhp compared to your 1.6L 95 Bhp Picasso.

18th Jun 2003, 17:52

Mmmm, the 1.4 98bhp Scenic eh! Well i`ve yet to see one rip me from a standing start in my 1.6i SX... Thanks for the laugh though..

2002 Citroen Picasso SX 2.0 HDI from UK and Ireland

Summary:

The Citroen Picasso provides versatile, comfortable value for money motoring for the family

Faults:

The vast expanses of glass regularly mist up requiring use of air conditioning.

The brakes screech when applied whilst reversing (this is something that I noticed on the dealer's demonstrator too).

There has been an annoying squeak and rattle which I eventually identified as coming from the underside of the drivers seat. This was cured with the insertion of some additional foam between the fabric of the seat and springs.

Very occasionaly the vehicle refuses to start first time - often when the engine is warm.

General Comments:

On the whole I am delighted with the car.

It is very comfortable on long journeys.

It returns approximately 45mpg over mixed driving conditions.

The vehicle is incredibly practical with versatile luggage space through complete removal of any combination of rear seats.

The interior plastics are too pale and hard - showing every scratch.

The dashboard causes distracting reflections on the huge windscreen.

To convert the headlights for continental driving requires the purchase of stone-chip deflectors at £45!

I bought the coat-hangers that attach to the front headrests, however they are a poor design and interfere with the operation of the tray tables so beloved by my children.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th November, 2002

26th Apr 2005, 06:28

Beam deflectors for driving on the continent can be purchased from any motor accessory dealer for about £5 or £6. The stone chip protectors with beam deflectors are the only solution from a Citroen dealer - as always the dealers are out to get as much of your money as possible.

6th Jul 2005, 12:15

On Pleasure Motoring of around 200 miles, including some Motorway, I regularly get between 55 & 58 m.p.g. (2.0 Diesel). An exceptionally versatile, spacious & comfortable vehicle. Bad points; dash reflection and poor footwell heating in winter. Can Citroen improve it? yes, install Sat Nav. and variable int.wipe.

31st Dec 2005, 12:39

I have a 2002 (52) 1.6 sx, only faults I can find are poor foot-well heating, dashboard reflections and having to use the air-con to stop the glass misting up. fuel consumption is brilliant, two trips to Scotland last year and I managed 51mpg at motorway speeds, mate of mine also gets 50mpg plus.