1998 Citroen Saxo Reviews

1998 Citroen Saxo VTS 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles

Summary:

Stupidly fast, very thirsty, every one will think you're an 18 year old idiot who justs wants a race

Faults:

Air bag light occasional comes on.

Gearbox about to give up (input shaft bearing).

Bad idle.

General Comments:

Whilst the car is undoubtedly quick, it is flawed in that if you want to drive it normally (as in not thrashing it) it struggles, as below 3000 rpm there is not a lot of welly.

Over 3000 and all hell breaks loose, 2nd gear 25mph to 60mph, oh my god...

The major problem in doing this is that you will wipe out £45 of unleaded in 200 miles or less.

Drive it like Miss Daisy and you'll still only get 35mpg. This doesn't bother me in that I know what type of car it is, but don't buy one and think 'oh I'll drive slowly so I can afford the petrol'. It won't happen.

The gearbox's are very weak, mines done 80k and it's knackered. The problem is that as 2nd gear is THE gear you use when you're misbehaving, so it takes major abuse. A used gearbox will set you back £120 plus fitting...

The airbag light is the bane of my existence, this is caused by the wires under the seats coming loose, not hard to sort, but will keep happening on and off.

Seats are very uncomfortable, and not that deep either, so quick cornering would probably see you sliding about.

Pedal spacing, BAD! I've got size 11s and have to watch what shoes I wear, boots are a big no-no! Saying that, all Saxos and 106s are the same.

Also the pedals are offset to the left as the wheel arch is in the way. Didn't used to bother me, but my back is bad and it does make it a tad uncomfortable.

Likes oil! But at least there's a level on the dash when it's started up.

The main problem for me is the image it has. Pull up to lights and EVERYBODY thinks you're a little boy racer and that they want to show you the cars rubbish. I know the majority of Saxos (especially the one time free insurance VTRs) are driven by younger people and I regularly see them being driven stupidly.

Is is a shame it has this image as the car is amazing, handles like a go kart, will get you to 60 in 7.4 seconds, and if you so desire, will destroy 80% of the cars on the road.

To sum up - if you see me coming, I DO NOT WANT TO RACE YOU IMBECILE!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th November, 2009

11th Nov 2009, 18:46

I used to have a VTR. Had the same traffic light effect as your VTS. People always would speed off from lights next to me, before I'd even released my handbrake. I have something a lot quicker now and people tend to pull in behind me at lights as opposed to pulling along side :) Nice thing about the VTR/VTS is that they will win the majority of traffic light races. Once you get to 60 though they are pretty average. Still, you pay for what you get.

11th Nov 2009, 20:17

0-60 in 7.4 seconds with a 1.6? Where? Down the side of a very tall building?

12th Nov 2009, 15:43

120bhp in a light weight car, which can reach 60 in 2nd, meaning only one gear change. It's possible to do it in 7.4 seconds.

13th Nov 2009, 09:27

I have taken the 0-60 from car mag review figures (of which there are many), I haven't made it up myself, nor do I intend to try it in my car!

As a reference, I have in my sticky mitt a past copy of EVO mag (Oct 09 issue 135) and the trusty VTS is listed (still! can't be too rubbish can it! 4.5 out of 5) in there at 7.6 (tested themselves).

Whoops I was .2 of a sec off. The figures do seem to vary by .2 here and there.

I will happily concede that after you have got to 60 it is not very rapid. It is geared to be very quick at lower speeds, so on motorways it is very average.

13th Apr 2010, 08:06

0-60 in 7.4 seconds; more like 7.9. It is possible for a 1.6 to do 0-60 in this time though; look at the Civic ek9; 0-60 in 5.7.

1998 Citroen Saxo VTS 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

An amazing go-cart with a engine that shocks everyone that tests it!

Faults:

Gear box needed replacing when I bought it as it was leaking oil.

O/s Drive shaft needed replacing because of the gearbox being knackered.

General Comments:

I initially bought my VTS 5 months back as a runaround, which only cost me a grand, and came with full service history etc and is lowered about 60ml.

After about two weeks of owning the beast, I noticed the gearbox was leaking oil, which turned out to be needing a new gearbox (they're very weak on these cars, especially when lowered, and was surprised it's still on the first one at 90,000 miles.

Anyhow, when the gearbox was getting swapped over, I found the o/s drive shaft need replacing as well due to the gearbox, but hey parts are cheap for these babies (g-box 130.00 / d-shaft 80.00), and once I sorted the transmission out and a performance exhaust, she goes like a rocket and keeps up with most of the big boys!

Every time I drive her, I have to remind myself it's only a 1.6, and with a 0-60 7.7 sec & 130 top speed, it leathers most big engine cars - makes me smile every time!

I used to own a mk4 VW Golf Gti turbo, which was nippy but heavy, and after having the VTS it would rip it to shreds believe me! Buy one and you'll love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2008

27th Jul 2008, 11:24

Glad to see there's a happy owner out there.

I've always liked the Saxo. My brothers 1st car was a P 97 Saxo 1.6i SX Auto, and he says now that was the best Citroen he has owned, and he has had 3 since.

The Saxo was like a tank. His 2nd Mark 2 V 00 Saxo 1.4i SX Auto had a few faults over the 3 years he had it; fearbox went, ignition barrel went and the thermostat went, all within 50,000 miles. Shame as the 1st Saxo was brilliant.

He then had a 52 2003 Reg C3 1.4i SX Auto; it had cutting out problems, window switches broke, gearbox went at 2 years old and rear suspension went.

His car now is a 55 2006 Reg C3 1.6i 16v Exclusive SensoDrive. Well that's had problems since week 1. Keys have broke. It cuts out. Cooling sensor went, needed a new clutch and gearbox last year, and it's still only on 25,000.

Overall the Mark 1 Saxo was better built car than a lot of these new ones these days.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 86 reviews