1998 Citroen Saxo Reviews - Page 5 of 19

1998 Citroen Saxo VTS 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance50900 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Pocket rocket!

Faults:

My oxygen sensors went on the car at 48000 which meant that my car would stall at traffic lights etc, but this is not picked up on the system diagnostics check any one else with this problem its called the lambda sensor!

General Comments:

The car if standard handles very well! the performance on this car is fantastic you can leave BMW's standing at the lights!if you lower the car it handles like a dream and will be as fun to drive as a mini!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2003

16th Oct 2004, 12:15

I'm sure you were really glad getting back into such a high performance car as an escort 1.4 LOL!

I'd chew you escort in reverse!

Truth is you only wish you could afford the VTS and its insurance... sounds like envy talking.

28th Dec 2005, 20:04

Luckily our comments are being reviewed.

Imagine someone claiming a heavier car with a less powerfull engine would be faster...

1998 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired49000 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

Cheapest performing pocket rocket you will find, Amazing!!

Faults:

I crashed the car into a roundabout one week after purchasing it. Luckily enough I am Fully Comprehensive.

Failed MOT on: Catalytic Converter

Oxygen Sensor.

I had to have a new fan at 52,000 miles as a plastic bag got sucked into it and melted on to it, blowing the motor and fuse. It was only £60 though.

General Comments:

This car is fantastic! Running costs are suprisingly cheap for a 1.6.

Insurance is cheap for such a pocket rocket.

Having the car lowered is definatly worth it you will beat anything round a corner (Dry weather) it's fantastic!

The car is very good for motorway journeys and really quiet, also comfy at high speeds.

As usual though the bodywork as on any Citroen lets this car down, They are built like egg boxes and the paint fades also.

But don't let this put you off this cars are easily picked up for £3000 now and are a real bargain and excellent fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th September, 2003

9th Jan 2004, 10:09

I have to agree! I bought my vtr only 6 months ago after changing from a 325. Reason because I am buying a house and wanted something cheaper to run. I am very pleased with performance from the 1.6 8 valve. I have it lowered 60mm with the standard wheels on and have a very bad knocking noise coming from what I thought was the ball joints, got that checked out and and it appears not to be. Anyone have any answers? The noise is bad over little bumps etc, but she drives straight and the vibration does'nt come through the steering? Any ideas welcome!

1998 Citroen Saxo VTS 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carFord Orion

Summary:

Saxo VTS = A lot of fun and tears at the same time. Just don't go there!

Faults:

After a week owning the car, the wheels needed re-balancing. This resulted in the garage putting the jack through the floor!

Two months after the warranty ran out, the head gasket went -£500!

Then about 6 months later (37,000) the Manifold Air Pressure sensor needed replacing £120.

Then a week later the Oxygen sensor needed replacing £140.

While the car was at the Citroen dealer, the bonnet was damaged and the alloy curbed.

The car ran fine for about 12 months, then all at the same time the coil pack, radiator and head gasket went again. Total cost £1,000!

A month later had to replace the ECU sensor and the temperature sensor.

The car has now just covered 62,000 miles and has let me down again. Have just replaced –

Gearbox £600.

Exhaust £250.

Clutch £140.

Another oxygen sensor £130.

And the car is still not running properly, I think it needs another manifold sensor or the stepper motor replacing.

General Comments:

From my experience a Saxo VTS is a fun car to own for 3 years, and no more. As soon as the warranty runs out, be prepared to have no life! I am very serious.

You will spend a lot of your time arguing with the staff at the Citroen dealerships. I warn anyone that is going to buy one of these cars. You will have a lot of fun in it, but you will pay the price!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th September, 2003

22nd Oct 2008, 17:56

It's true!! My VTR has cost me a fortune and I've only had it 7 months! Bought the car for 3 grand and have spent 2 grand fixing it!!

Within the first month... both the oxygen sensors went, needed new spark plugs, tappets, oil filter and timing belt.

Then the window mechanism failed and had a new one fitted.

2 months down the line the head gasket, radiator and water pump went and needed replacing!! And within the last month, the rear oxygen sensor has gone again!!

I completely agree... Saxos are very nice cars, but completely destroy your social life!!!

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 86 reviews