1998 Citroen Saxo Reviews - Page 10 of 19

1998 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carCitroen AX

Summary:

Fast car, just sort out those brakes!

Faults:

Accelerator cable snapped.

Air bag lights come on if anyone sits in the passenger seat.

I get a rushing water sound when the car is revved after starting?

I get a constant high pitch whine/whistle from the engine while it is running.

General Comments:

This car is very quick, especially when pulling from 2nd gear.

It has better build quality than my AX GT, but still has room for improvement.

However the brakes are terrible! I have just had the front discs and pads replaced and it still takes forever and a day for the car to stop. You also need to stamp on the brake quite hard if you want to stop quickly, and the brake pedal is quite hard to press.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th January, 2002

30th Jan 2002, 02:05

I have a '98 Saxo VTR which is coming up for 50k. I agree the brakes aren't the quickest at stopping, but mine feel OK, I've had no other problems with them. My airbag light was sorted at the dealer, it was the cable under the drivers seat.

30th Jan 2002, 17:23

Thanks for the reply - the airbag light has already been fixed once by the dealer but is back again - I can see an orange cable running under the passenger seat but there appears to be no break in it.

The car is going back to the dealer next week for the "rushing water" sound to be investigated as it is also starting to overheat, even though it is not losing any water from the radiator, pipes of leaking out of anything else?

Maybe I am expecting too much from a car that was built in 98 and already done 74k!

31st Jan 2002, 07:39

I have a 97 Saxo VTR and also had the problem of a running water noise when I started the engine. This was diagnosed as a head gasket by Citroen, but it was actually the radiator that had rotted. They are very flimsy and this may be the same problem that you are experiencing.

13th Nov 2008, 02:50

I have running water noises coming from my engine. I have a Y reg VTR Saxo. Thanks for the advice about the radiator, as mine looks a bit worse for wear. I hope it is that and nothing else.

1998 Citroen Saxo X 1.1 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

Very economical but fun

Faults:

Gearbox leak at 40,000 miles after driving through 2 foot deep water (my own fault).

General Comments:

Great handling - I beat many 'better' cars during mountain pass races. OK, it was only driving down them when power is not important - going up was slow!

Working in Switzerland I owned the Saxo as a second car to keep in the UK. My main car was a 1999 BMW 323 (E46) but I prefer the Saxo for daily use and sold the BMW last year because I was not using it!

Owning a fast bike both cars are total slouches - at least the Saxo gets great mpg and is easy to park.

Odometer over-reads by 10%.

Brakes could be better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2002

1998 Citroen Saxo VTS 1.6i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6i Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired64 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A wolf in wolf's clothing..

Faults:

Had a few problems with the car. The common documented power steering knock, dodgy squealing fan belt, and a damaged radiator. All these were fixed easily, the only problem that was unforunate was a faulty door seal which allowed water into the car, which took a couple of days at a dealer to dry out and clean up.

General Comments:

Fastest car I have ever owned, but economic too. I owned my car under a work lease so I did a fair bit of mileage, averaged 38mpg most of the time, this dropped a fair bit when you had fun with the car. A good car for pottering around in, and equally as happy thundering down the motorway or backroads. I wish I'd never let the car go at the end of the lease.

Such a good car that it could show up many a "hot hatch" on your favourite stretch of back road, from an Impreza to an Integra Type-R (I should know). :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2002

7th Feb 2002, 05:09

I'm sorry. I don't think that your little Saxo VTS can out run a Impreza or a Integra Type R. I own a Rover 214 Si 16v and I have had many a race against Saxo VTR and VTS's, and they are poor at both accelerating and top end. I feel that you are just making your car sound better than it is.

Rover Driver (Surrey)

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 86 reviews