1998 Citroen Saxo Reviews - Page 13 of 19

1998 Citroen Saxo SX 1.5 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous carCitroen AX

Summary:

Fast little diesel for good money

Faults:

Gearbox failed at 20000 miles due to the synchromesh failing.

Radiator failing at 25000 miles due to the manufacturer's fault.

Airbag light fault due to the connector under the driver's seat, a constant pain.

General Comments:

Very quick car for a diesel, over 50 miles per gallon.

Seats however, are not always very comfortable.

Looks good with an added spoiler.

SX model best, with added fog-lights, electric windows, sunroof, remote central locking, and power steering.

Great car to own.

Good on corners at any given speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2001

1998 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired46500 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Scirocco

Summary:

Great little car for the price

Faults:

I have only had the car a week but have noticed a few niggles which I am currently sorting out with the garage.

The engine has stalled a few times on warming up when sat at junctions.

Also the gearbox doesn't seem very smooth and seems to clunk when changing gear. Has anyone else had a problem with their gearbox or is it just how they are on Citroens?

General Comments:

The car is very nippy and handles very well and I love the styling. Although the build quality isn't brilliant, I have previously owned a Scirocco and a Golf GTI which were much better quality, but all in all I do love the car.

Could someone give me some advice/opinion about my gearbox?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th August, 2001

9th Aug 2001, 09:32

Good car, but the gearbox is very weak, and prone to failing. Just had a new one fitted to my 1998 model, get it checked out, they're well known to be duds.

12th Jan 2002, 13:33

I purchased a Saxo East Coast 8.8.2001.

With 9500miles recorded and full main dealer history. I have always been aware of a noise that sounds like a worn drive shaft. It is always present when lifting my foot off the clutch. My local main dealer said this is normal.

I could not believe this so I phoned Citroen Customer Services in Slough and they confirmed what the dealer had said was correct. This is my reason for being on this web site at this moment.

8th May 2003, 05:04

Mine was the same it was the thrust Bering

1998 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carNissan Sunny

Summary:

A lot of car (fun) for your money. Just sort out the brakes!

Faults:

The main problem I have had with the car is that it keeps overheating. I have been told this is supposed to happen, but the fan still comes on frequently (and is rather noisy).

Other than that, the brakes have never felt very good, but if you stamp on them, they stop you very well.

More recently, the cylinder head went (at 41,000 miles) which was fixed fairly quickly by Citroen (a courtesy car was supplied).

Unfortunately this happened just outside the warranty of the garage I bought the car from.

General Comments:

This is a pretty quick car and will keep most drivers amused. It has good pulling power from low revs, but does tend to run out steam around 5,000rpm! I find the seats to be fairly comfortable (even on long journeys), but the fact that the steering wheel doesn't adjust leaves very little room for the drivers legs.

Looking through other peoples comments, it's true that the sunroof is a little stiff.

On a whole it's a decent motor that I would recommend to others. It just doesn't seem to be screwed together as well as my Nissan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd August, 2001

1998 Citroen Saxo VTS 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

Definitely a high performance bargain

Faults:

I only bought the car this year (2001), but I have had no problems with it so far.

General Comments:

The car looks the biz and after a good polish is definitely a head turner.

The spoiler is worth the extra investment, as this really adds to its looks.

I looked for speed and certainly got it. It was also at a price that was more competitive than other cars in this class. You get a lot for your money.

The only down side so far is a numb bum on long journeys!

I would certainly recommend this car to anyone looking for fun.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2001

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 86 reviews