1998 Citroen Saxo Reviews - Page 16 of 19

1998 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6i petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carRenault 5 GTX

Summary:

VTR is V good

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

Having bought the Saxo recently, I have been pleased with its performance, handling, and looks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th December, 2000

1998 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6i 8v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6i 8v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired18450 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta 1.4

Summary:

Makes you grin like a fool

Faults:

Nothing (yet).

General Comments:

Surprisingly quick - was a bit disappointed at first to discover that the 98 VTR had no rear spoiler but it has turned out to be much more fun to surprise people at traffic lights!

Pretty economical with the fuel too - I normally get 33-36mpg even with generous use of the accelerator.

In summary I've very pleased with my new toy! Not looking forward to changing the tyres though - very pricey!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2000

1998 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6i 8v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6i 8v petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carToyata Starlet

Summary:

1 or 2 problems, but fantastic

Faults:

The car has given a few problems over the last couple over years, The local Citroen dealer is crap, and kept on telling me it was fixed when it wasn't, the main problem at the moment is it cutting out when I come to lights or press the clutch. I was told at first there was a unit gone in the fuel injection and they fixed it, but it happened again and is still happening 3 trips to the garage later.

Rear window de-fogger doesn't work.

General Comments:

Although it has given its fair share of problems I love this car and it handles so well on 15" Momos.

Acceleration is fantastic and the car is stunning looking.

Next car will be a VTS.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2000

11th Dec 2000, 18:45

Is the mixture momentarily too weak when the fuel injection system shuts off to "idling" mixture? This is in my opinion a problem with engines having to run on ever weaker mixtures - no margin left for running slight off optimum tune.

Or is the rpm for idling set too low?

17th Oct 2001, 14:20

Check the fuse on the rear de-mister, that could be a cheap fix.

1998 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 8v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 8v petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles

Summary:

Great fun!

Faults:

Not many:

Idle speed control valve.

£3500 crash.

The recent floods stole my wheel arch extension (but the dealers replaced it for free!)

General Comments:

Great handling car with plenty of go, even better after Superchipping it!

Build quality isn't all that good and the brakes are poor. Costs a stupid amount of cash to run, tyres are £100 and last 6 months and brake pads last 2 months, oh and it also guzzles fuel when spanked.

All that aside the car looks great, drives great and I wouldn't swap it for any other (well maybe a Clio 172).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th November, 2000

4th Feb 2003, 09:35

Tyres £100??? I got 2 decent front tyres for £55 each. If you want to spend more, that's up to you - but it is hardly a valid complaint.

22nd Aug 2006, 21:26

All round not too bad. Brakes need an upgrade, build quality not very good.

1998 Citroen Saxo VTS 1.6i 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6i 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance23500 miles
Previous carRenault Megane

Summary:

Fun fun fun fun fun

Faults:

Blew a head gasket after a mental track day session, otherwise all OK.

General Comments:

Much fun to be had here. The VTS is faster than most so you'll spend a lot of time overtaking. It's great in town for light to light blasts and cruises quite happily too.

It needs aircon.

The insurance is a bit silly though at group 14 - aaaarrrgh.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd November, 2000

1998 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired114 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carCitroen Saxo

Summary:

A quality little motor, but lacking in build quality and aftersales.....

Faults:

I never had any problems with the car until it hit the second year. Since then, the head gasket has gone twice (due to the dealer not fixing the cylinder head the first time round), I have a coolant/radiator leak and various other quibbles, ie. idling all over the shop, flat spots and steering vibrations.

If I had not taken out the extended warranty, I would now be in serious debt. As it is, I'm looking forward to taking my car in next week to have its latest problems sorted. As far as my dealer is concerned, they try to get out of any little attempt of claiming under the warranty. They're unhelpful, understaffed and unknowledgable! How many other places do you know where you go to take your car in for a service and feel like you're being a nuisance to the staff??? I long for the day where I have a VTS and a nice, reliable and friendly dealer.....

General Comments:

The thing is, I still love it to death. It's such a fun car to drive and sometimes has you taking it to its limit without realising (I was doing the limit, Officer!)!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2000

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 86 reviews