1998 Citroen Saxo Reviews - Page 18 of 19

1998 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6i 8v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6i 8v petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf GTi

Summary:

Surprisingly quick but watch the quality

Faults:

Steering noise when new under full lock - fixed under warranty but was a hassle.

Non flush drivers door after 1000 miles (a weld popped out or something).

Rattly dash almost from new.

New front tyres (£120 each!) at 15,000 miles.

Noisy brakes from new (Citroen wouldn't sort it out under the warranty).

Poor quality paint on bonnet - soon started to look tatty.

General Comments:

Suprisingly quick - would keep up with my previous Golf GTi but runs out of puff at higher revs.

Amazing handling - on the twisty stuff virtually nothing can keep up.

Very agile with good brakes and super responsive engine.

Plasticky interior and poor seats.

Poor stereo but solved the terrible speakers by custom fitting some powerful ones.

Great looking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th August, 2000

1st May 2001, 04:18

I agree, by no means a bad car but dealership is horrific. Have you driven the fiesta Zeetec-s, handling which has matched and beaten the VTR! Great fun!

1998 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6i petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired19 miles
Most recent distance33500 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106 XT

Summary:

Excellent fun for not too much money!

Faults:

In the 2 years I've had this car I've had the following changed:

Sunroof seal - 3 times.

Engine management system - twice.

Steering ram (and bits) - once.

Rev limiter - twice.

Entire new driver's seat.

All in all nearly £3500 worth of repairs. I'm just glad I took out an extended warranty!!!!! Also the interior has started to rattle really badly and both the driver and passenger seats squeek badly.

General Comments:

Although it's been in and out of the garage SO MANY times and I'm starting to loose my patience, I still love it to bits.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th August, 2000

1998 Citroen Saxo X 1.5 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.5 diesel Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance44000 miles
Previous carCitroen BX

Summary:

Everyone should drive one!

Faults:

Nothing at all!

General Comments:

The best car I've owned, incredibly economical, cheap to run, fun to drive and surprisingly comfortable (I do 850 miles per week). The only downside is the performance although this isn't terrible.

I have just filled the tank with the trip reader showing 740 miles. The actual mpg was 75.1! This is mainly motorway running at 70mph. I've never got below 59mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2000

1998 Citroen Saxo Mischief 1.0i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0i Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance16200 miles
Previous carFord Orion

Summary:

Extremely good value for the lower end budget of small cars

Faults:

Brakes squeal after driving for a long time.

Passenger side window seems to leak slightly in heavy rain and when washing.

General Comments:

This car is an excellent small car and is one of the cheaper small cars around at the moment. It is extremely economical and handles well. The interior is all compact and everything is layed out well in the dashboard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2000

1998 Citroen Saxo SX 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance39100 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

A well equipped, well priced and reliable little car

Faults:

Within the first month of ownership 1st and 2nd gears had to be replaced. We had similar problems with the gearbox about a year later.

The sidelight bulbs kept blowing but that is now fixed. We get an annoying rubbing noise when we brake, but it never seems to get fixed when we take the car in.

General Comments:

Apart from the above faults we had with the car, it has been extremely reliable. We were putting about 1200 miles a week on it at some point last year, but the little Saxo has never grumbled about it. We're currently awaiting delivery of a VTR in Topaz. I cannot wait, the demo I had in the car was fantastic, and everyone seems to love the handling and performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2000

1998 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Great performance for its insurance group

Faults:

Spindle cover broke which caused water to pour in under the driver's pedals. Repaired by Citroen dealer only for the new part to break after 1 week, still Citroen service was good.

Front tyres worn quickly but hey that's probably my driving.

General Comments:

Great looking car with tasty alloys. Bought a blue one only to discover how tasty the silver one looks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2000

1998 Citroen Saxo X 1.1 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance16800 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Good little family/commuter car, not for people who like sporty cars

Faults:

Tapping noise coming from top end of engine, had to have tappets adjusted. This noise has come back however and is going (it's not the fuel injection, I can hear you before you think it might be).

Passenger side seat fails to lock in place properly and when driving alone after it has been put back by passenger, it can slide forward under heavy braking making a loud BANG!

General Comments:

Great little car, under-powered but still good fun, handles well and is very economic, 400 miles to a full tank sometimes!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2000

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 86 reviews