1998 Citroen Xantia Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1998 Citroen Xantia Exclusive 2.1 td from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.1 td Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired36100 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carCitroen ZX

Summary:

Fantastic mile muncher, and a real bargain buy

Faults:

The micro switch for the alarm on the bonnet catch worked loose making the alarm intermittent. Fixed in 1 minute!

General Comments:

A great motorway car with every luxury you need. The suspension works superbly switching between modes & ride quality is excellent. The automatic wipers are also a great help on the motorway dealing with spray etc.

Maybe a memory function on the seats would be good idea as my wife is a fair bit smaller than me, & there's so many electric adjustments on the seats that you can fiddle forever!

The 2.1 engine is typically old school diesel in response with a heavy flywheel slowing gear changes (bad thing?) but it's quick at motorway speeds partly due to the good aerodynamics of the car. Economy is excellent at 43 mpg average, 46 on a run. Who needs HDI? Refinement is also superb.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2003

27th Jul 2004, 15:31

Noticing the age and mileage of your car have you changed the cam belt yet?

26th Jan 2010, 00:41

No, it will last the life of the car.

4th Feb 2010, 18:38

The cambelt will NOT last the lifetime of the car, it needs changing dependent on manufacturers specs. With the Xantia it's around 5/6 years or 72,000 miles, which is sooner.

The only belt that lasts the lifetime of a car is a chain cam-belt, the Xantia has a rubber cam belt.

1998 Citroen Xantia SX 1.9 TD 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired8200 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carCitroen BX

Summary:

A really great car - just keep it properly serviced

Faults:

There were several electrical problems - headland bulbs blowing (6 in 6 months), unreliable engine temperature indication, and starter refusing to turn. These were cured when the rusty washer on the gearbox termination of the battery earth lead was replaced.

General Comments:

The car has been very reliable, with only normal items having to be replaced - tyres (from new at 50000 miles), wiper blades, brake pads and discs - and the headlamp bulbs!

The steering, ride, and brakes are excellent - typical of Citroen.

The interior has no signs of wear.

I am still very impressed and happy with this car, but wish I still had my Citroen BX 4x4 - that was fun!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2002

1998 Citroen Xantia S.X. 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carCitroen Xantia

Summary:

Excellent economical family car

Faults:

The car has so far been fault free.

General Comments:

This car is the ultimate in luxury for a car of it's price.

Peoples concerns over the suspension are totally unjustified, as long as it is properly maintained. Especially the filters in the hydraulic oil tank.

The Xantia may not be the most'robust' car on the market, but buy a good one and look after it and it will give good affordable service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2002

1998 Citroen Xantia Sensation 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance22300 miles
Previous carCitroen Xantia

Summary:

I would recommend a Xantia to anyone who wants a good cheap car

Faults:

No problems as yet.

General Comments:

I bought this car to replace my old Xantia as it was getting old. I have been very pleased with the build quality, the comfort, and the reliability of the Xantia model. The climate control makes all the difference to the comfort of the car. The brakes are second to none and the driving position is superb for long distance motorway driving. The ride is so smooth compared to other cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2002

1998 Citroen Xantia V6 Exclusive 3.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carCitroen XM

Summary:

A much underrated and rare car

Faults:

Small electrical connection problem to oil level warning light. Traced to near side engine compartment plug/socket.

General Comments:

Excellent car from start of ownership.

The option to switch between standard performance, sport or snow provides 15 x 3 sets of driving levels.

Manual setting of harder suspension setting plus sports mode provides a terrific car.

Hugs the corners and very positive feel at high speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2001

1998 Citroen Xantia LX 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carCitroen BX

Summary:

God's gift to all second hand car buyers

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with the car, except natural wear and tear. Only the other week I had to change both windscreen wipers because they had worn down, but then and again, that's something that can't be avoided.

General Comments:

Definitely the most reliable car I've ever had. The only thing I dislike about it is the spare wheel tray under the car, as 3 months ago it was stolen and serious damage was left. This is a Xantia Mk2, and not many people know how much different they are to the original Xantia's. The dimensions are slightly bigger, and the cabin is like a completely different car. The styling is unique, and very modern looking. The interior uses quality plastics, which have a soft feel to them, instead of hard grey plastics used in many other cars. Performance is great, and the benefits of the turbo unit really show when overtaking or going up hills; it just flies up them in 5th gear. It's ideal for long journeys. I'm not going to say too much about the suspension, because I don't really need to: it's perfect (later Xantia's, like mine, use Hydractive 2 suspension). Great if you're buying second hand, because when I bought mine, it was almost 50% of the original price when it was just a year old. This was because it was an ex-rep car. Original price: £19000, second hand: £10000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2001

16th Jun 2001, 08:43

1st : the tray for the spare wheel is ideal when you have a full boot and need to get to the spare

2nd : from 1993 the xantias have hydractive 2 on higher spec models, base models have a non electronic adjusted suspension

3rd : there is no difference in size between series I & II.

16th Jun 2001, 11:21

As far as I am aware, Hydractive II suspension is only used on VSX and Exclusive models. You can tell if you have Hydractive suspension there is a switch by the handbrake.

20th Jun 2001, 10:12

I have had 3 BX's and 2 Turbo Diesel Xantia's. All were very reliable covering 100,000 miles in the 3 years I keep my cars for. However I had to replace the engine on the last Xantia due to a simple error of mine --- I put too much oil in the engine. The problem is not widely known by the general public but is known within the Citroen trade.

If too much oil is in the engine and then you use engine braking (changing down approaching an island in my case) causing the engine to rev rapidly, the turbo sucks oil droplets from the crankcase via the crankcase breather and uses it as fuel. Switching off the ignition or pulling the stop lever on the injection pump has no effect. The engine just runs away and over-revs, the only way of stopping it is to engage a gear and stall it. Fortunately I managed to get round the island but it scared me! Then 2 months latter, after replacing the burnt out pre-heaters, a con rod snapped and came out of the side of the engine.

I now have a Picasso, a very nice car, and have noticed that the hand book makes quite a point about not over filling the engine with oil.

Vic.

3rd Mar 2004, 16:32

The later Xantias do indeed have a wider wheelbase, a scant read of the literature would tell you that?

You either love them or you hate them, but please get the facts right. They're the eight wonder of the world after all.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 26 reviews