1995 Citroen XM Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1995 Citroen XM SX 2.0 petrol from Spain

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 kilometres
Most recent distance126000 kilometres
Previous carCitroen XM

Summary:

Don't buy this car, it's a poor sod

Faults:

Front wheels wobbly at 120 km, steel wheels have been replaced by alloys with new tires, but problem persists. Probably the half axles need a check.

XM's always make noises and little bits and pieces go faulty, however they seem to regenerate after a while, so you better leave the car alone until it really breaks down.

General Comments:

This is my second XM and it will probably kill me because there seems to be no limit to merciless cornering on bad Spanish roads, especially if a stubborn Audi A8 won't let you go by.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2004

22nd Feb 2005, 14:43

Sadly, few Xm owners or tyre dealers understand that Xms only run true on Michelin tyres. A simple fact, but a testament to the design of the car, it is one of the few cars that has been designed to the point of a specific tyre working with the car, rather than being designed 'down' to a number of potential everyday possibilities of tyre choice.

13th Aug 2008, 09:59

Car runs fine now on Continental ECO2. I've driven it to Brittany and halfway Morocco without any problems (well a speeding ticket). Kms driven now 50000. Unfortunately headlights and airco go off whenever they feel like it, especially when dark or hot. Hope to be able to fix it, cause at the dealership this will be an expensive repair. If I push it, even now, no other car keeps up with this animal: mods are: chip tuning, turbonator fin at the air inlet, and 195/60 instead of 195/65; even though it's a 2 litre 16 valve, this car is very eager and well balanced. Please don't tell anybody else OK? Next year I want to buy the V6 12 valve manual, so I hope prices stay as low as they are.

29th Apr 2013, 03:51

Well it's April 2013 and I have owned this car now for nine years without major trouble. When I bought it, it was already a ten year old car. I'm afraid there are not many XM's left now for me to buy my third one.

1995 Citroen XM VSX 2.0I turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0I turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carCitroen XM

Summary:

A wonderful, quirky, costly flirtation with extravagant lasciviousness

Faults:

Clutch very heavy. Dealer recommends new clutch assembly - 675 pounds.

Suspension pipe leaks.

Driver's electric window regulator has failed.

Three ABS sensors have failed at different times.

Windscreen washer jets keep blocking up.

Key alarm has failed.

General Comments:

I'm trading my beloved XM in for a C5 this weekend, although having read some of the horror stories on the web about this marque, I wish I hadn't been so hasty!

I much prefer the spaceship looks of the XM to the dumpy blandness of the C5. However, my XM needs over a thousand pounds' worth of repairs and, at 1500 pounds value as a trade-in, it's not worth it.

This is my second XM and I certainly would have had another one, say a 'T' reg, if I could have found one for sale.

The handling is superb and the driving experience one of the best I have experienced.

The brakes are excellent, except the wearisome foot handbrake.

The luxury and comfort of this car are arguably unparalleled in the executive car sector.

The engine's as game as a woodcock and as lusty as a Somerset barmaid. All it needs is regular servicing and care and affection.

There is a tremendous cachet in owning an XM, whereas owning a C5 is like owning a Toyota Avensis - dull as soap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 2003

20th Dec 2004, 12:25

Did you ever fix the key fob alarm? I replaced the batteries in mine, but the alarm sensor refuses to disengage and the only thing that seems to work is deactivating the siren.

29th Jan 2005, 08:05

My '94 auto diesel is the best car I've owned, but as with other owners, is suffering with ABS warning light trouble. I would recommend anybody to purchase one though, as the value for money package is beyond anything available for the money!!

31st Jan 2005, 12:28

I've noticed that the ABS light intermittently comes on. It seems to be a problem with the warning lights console though since you can turn the ignition off and back on and all is well.

The only warning light that stayed on was the coolant light and it did need topped up.

13th Jul 2005, 10:42

I filled the tank of my XM 2.5 d. VSX two weeks ago in Normandy. I still have just under half a tank left and I'm at home in Carlilse. Keep it under 75mph and enjoy passing the service stations..

1995 Citroen XM SX Estate 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance103500 miles
Previous carCitroen XM

Summary:

Great

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Brilliant piece of machinery. Still does 120mph. Has never used any oil, water, H.L.M, or transmission fluid.

Seating is great.

Drivability is good.

Have not yet found a fault worth moaning about. Must get a newer one!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2001

1995 Citroen XM Turbo Exclusive 2.0 turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired49000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carCitroen XM

Summary:

A living room on wheels

Faults:

Apart from the normal wear (tyres, brake pads....), absolutely nothing wrong.

General Comments:

My third XM and not my last. This car will last forever if the service shedule (9,000 miles) is done properly.

The hydraulic oil must be kept top quality, if not the very complex computer controlled suspension will wear very quickly and cost a lot to put right. There are very few garages or specialists who understand the hydractive suspension.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2000

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 10 reviews