2001 Citroen Xsara VTS 2.0 16v (167 BHP) from UK and Ireland


Brilliant Car, Looks Good, Drives Good,


Engine Idle speed increased to 2500 RPM when stationary.

Windscreen had a chip when purchased. The dealer fitted a new one.

General Comments:

This is one of the best cars I have driven.

It sticks to the road like it has been glued to it.

Engine sounds wonderful and likes being revved hard.

The steering and clutch are better than the standard Xsara. The standard Xsara steering and clutch are far too light.

The only thing I don't like is the gear change mechanism, it feels like it has been set in concrete!

Don't get caught out like I did, The car may be affordable, but the insurance can be astronomical, I was quoted £3500 by one insurer. Check your insurance premium to ensure you can afford it before purchasing this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2006

28th Jul 2006, 04:38


Had a catastrophic O/S/F coil spring failure. I have been led to believe that other Citroen models have had similar problems.

To maximise engine efficiency and performance, use advanced fuels with high RON. I have used 'Optimax' for the last 3 months constantly and getting an average of 34MPG as opposed to 30MPG.

2001 Citroen Xsara LX 2.0 HDI from UK and Ireland


Not world beating, but no second rate car either. Does what you need from a car


Left indicator stayed on, even when the stalk was in the neutral position. I bought a new stalk from a breakers yard (for less than £20) and replaced it. I have no technical ability whatsoever, but that was childs play.

General rattles everywhere.

Turning circle is poor.

Rear view mirror vibrates

General Comments:

Handling is good.

ABS makes up for the soft breaks.

Great for all kinds driving, particularly long distance and motorway.

Cheap as chips to run and maintain.

Holds its own in the power stakes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 2005

2001 Citroen Xsara VTR Coupe 1.6i from Finland


Overall a good car for the price


Left front wheel bearing replaced at 80.000km and right bearing at 84.000km.

General Comments:

A decent compact car, which I mainly bought for the cheap price.

I would consider the Xsara as an upgraded Peugeot 206, as it has a bit larger chassis, more boot space and bit more comfort on the road. (engine is identical)

Lack of torque makes this a jumpy ride in the cities. On the other hand the engine has plenty of kick to accelerate when the revs go up to 3500+.

Decent comfort for it's size. The suspension is a bit bouncy and the noise from the tires gets loud at about 100km/h.

Shines when cruising on those curly country roads - good grip and cornering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2005

19th Aug 2005, 19:05

I never had problems with tire noise above 100kph with my Xsara. It is very quiet compared to any small hatch I've driven. Corollas, Civics, and Mazda 3's are absolutely noisy at cruising speeds compared to the Xsara. Maybe it's time to inspect your tire condition.

11th Dec 2005, 18:36

We have a 2001 Xsara VTR and it is the biggest heap of crap we have ever bought. It has had: both seats replaced (retracting mechanism failed) new rear discs, drivers door seal, oil filter work loose, airbag light keeps coming on, spare wheel stolen (what idiot put it under there?) new indicator stalk, N/S front wheel bearing. All this before the thing has done 40,000. Never again!!

2001 Citroen Xsara LX 2.0HDI from UK and Ireland


A worthy investment for for anyone, from boy racer to family man


I have only had three minor problems:

The heating blower stopped working about 3 months ago. I discovered it was the switch which has been replaced and is working fine.

When someone shuts a door, there is a metallic rattling sound from near the fuel tank. Nothing seems to be damaged there though.

The driver's door internal trim has loosened a touch (due to a lot of use I guess.) This causes vibrating noises when listening to music.

General Comments:

I have added non-standard alloys and uprated brakes, merely adding to the already sharp handling. I will admit to being a careless driver sometimes, but this car always seems to pull me out of trouble.

The comfort provided makes it a perfect car for traffic jams and open motorways. It may be dated looking, but it is still better than most.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2005