1997 Daewoo Espero Reviews

1997 Daewoo Espero CD 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres

Summary:

Not bad I'd say

Faults:

I had the radiator leak.

Quick to drain the battery.

Exhaust needed replacing after corrosion.

Quick to wear on the front tires.

General Comments:

It's quick, and a good car if you look after it!!!

It's very comfortable and has much room. It has quite a large boot for at least 3 dead bodies.

The interior is OK and extras are plenty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2006

1997 Daewoo Espero CDX 2.0 MPI from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 MPI Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 200

Summary:

Cheap and well spec'd, but a substandard car at the end of the day

Faults:

Head gasket blew at 55,000 miles.

A host of minor electrical faults.

General Comments:

For:

Very cheap to buy (£2,995 for a then four year old car with alloy wheels, a CD auto-changer, PAS, ABS and air-con).

Large spacious boot space and passenger compartment.

Relatively cheap to maintain, certainly cheaper than any other car of it's size.

Relatively modest fuel consumption - I averaged about 40mpg.

Against:

Inadequate performance for a 2 litre, barely 100bhp. 0-60 took a very long time, and although it cruised reasonably well at motorway speeds it did not have enough in reserve to maintain speed when overtaking or on an incline.

Handling left a lot to be desired, big awkward, and clumsy with PAS far too light. Downright dangerous in snow and ice.

Uncomfortable over long distances due to cheap seats. Very uncomfortable in the back.

Very badly built, with cheap plastic work forever coming unstuck, electrics shorting out all over the place and wires held in with nothing more than carpet tape falling out of their holders.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th December, 2003

1997 Daewoo Espero GLXi 1.5 DOHC petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 DOHC petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired72500 miles
Most recent distance73145 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

A saloon car, plain and simple

Faults:

Minor things first:

Central Locking - intermittent fault.

Broken rear spring (probably worn by previous towing)

All main brake pipes corroded.

Minor rattle on camshaft.

Big End failed. Result was a con-rod through the side of the block = 1 dead engine.

General Comments:

Cheap plastic trim needs care and respect.

Generous load and passenger space.

High-spec for the cost of the vehicle.

Inoffensive, if a little bland, appearance.

Reasonable comfort for the class of car.

Not an ideal family car - trim, handles etc would be easily broken by boisterous children.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th September, 2003

1997 Daewoo Espero CDi 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carOpel Manta

Summary:

But cheap, pay later?

Faults:

The Electric windows on passenger side have failed (twice)

The Thermostat didn't function (minor problem)

Most recently the car broke down due to failure of distributor. This has proved to be extremely costly, the part being £300 GBP and apparently double the price of equivalent Vauxhall.

General Comments:

It is a lot of car for the money & very roomy.

The main problem is, according to my local garage, that parts are difficult to get and are extremely costly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th October, 2002

15th Apr 2005, 09:41

I've never owned an espero, but I am interested in buying one, so I read a lot in forums about this car. So, with regard to the spare parts being expensive and hard to find, most people say that almost all parts, as well as the whole car, are identical to Cavalier (Opel Ascona, later VectraI).

1997 Daewoo Espero CD 2.0 multipoint fuel injected from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 multipoint fuel injected Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25 kilometres
Most recent distance52024 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz S-Class

Summary:

A cheap performance, good quality and good equipment bargain

Faults:

Nothing, I have never had a problem with this vehicle, apart from when the wheels came out of alignment when I hit a kerb.

General Comments:

The car has good equipment levels, the build quality and rigidity of the car is okay, performance is delivered in the 3000+ rpm range.

When you put some good tyres on it it goes and goes.

I have pushed it to 170kmh on the freeway, and the engine didn't struggle.

A bit gutless, but its not a supercar and there are some annoying rattles once the car gets pushed to about 140kmh.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2002

1997 Daewoo Espero GLXi 1.5 DOHC from Philippines

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired96 kilometres
Most recent distance4000 kilometres

Summary:

A great car for a cheap price

Faults:

Two of my door handles broke. The quality of the plastics used is poor.

Rear, right cabin light does not work. I think there's a broken connection in the wiring.

Air bag warning light does not go off in the dash. Computer problem.

Other than these problems, the car is OK.

General Comments:

The car has only been with me for about 6 or 7 months, and it's really great for city driving.

Acceleration is a bit slow for this heavy car with only a 1.5L engine. But I've replaced the air cleaner with a sport air filter and the acceleration has improved a bit.

I don't know if there's a defect in the engine, because it has difficulty reaching the 100 KPH mark.

It's very comfortable and roomy in the cabin. Lots of leg space.

Suspension is great at low speeds. But becomes bone-jarring at high speeds.

A gas-guzzler if you like to go fast.

It's easy and fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd April, 2002

24th Feb 2007, 02:25

I have this car for a year now and I have only a few problems with this. the alternator was replaced with an 85 amperes. the previus one was 90 amperes. if there is some problem with the parts I buy it and replaced it immediately otherwise this car is super.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 14 reviews