1997 Daewoo Espero Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1997 Daewoo Espero CDXi 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Worth the money

Faults:

Air conditioning condenser broke down.

Seat belt anchorages had to be replaced.

General Comments:

Overall it is a nice tidy family car that's not too flashy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2002

1997 Daewoo Espero CD 2.0i from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0i Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired13 kilometres
Most recent distance48564 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

A smart and affordable gem

Faults:

Only one thing, the front wheels popped out of alignment when it hit the footpath at 47,000 kilometres.

NOT ONE PROBLEM that the car has actually been responsible for.

General Comments:

The car was purchased in 97' and I have had no problems with it in the reliability section.

The car itself now is cheap because it's not popular, the quality is that of an acceptable standard, and the performance in acceleration terms is okay, but at 183 kph it isn't exactly a supercar.

The boot is large enough for many items and the room in the back is not barely acceptable.

It's a good car!

I also own a Mercedes Benz S-Class and I prefer the Daewoo as a town car, it's got good torque!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2002

4th Oct 2003, 02:50

Good torque? And you also own a Mercedes? There must be something wrong with your Mercedes then...

The Espero is not a bad car, not very good too. Quality is average. But it has no torque below 3000 rpm. I own an Espero 2.0 CD Aut.

1997 Daewoo Espero CD 1.8 from Romania

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired14 kilometres
Most recent distance550 kilometres
Previous carDacia SuperNova

Summary:

A really good car

Faults:

I had to change the front shock absorber and the exhaust.

I had to change the tires (they were really out!).

General Comments:

Because the car is out of production the prices dropped: I got it with 3000 dollars!

A good car with good options.

I got it with A/C, electrical windows, and electrical AM/FM antenna.

Instead, the car audio was poor so I had to spend another 1000 dollars on a cassette player with CD changer and new speakers.

A good engine but a very heavy car, so don't expect sports driving.

Highly comfortable and with a lot of internal space.

I got it because my father owns one and from 1995 the car had no serious problem!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2002

1997 Daewoo Espero CDi 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

Comfy daily workhorse at a good price

Faults:

ABS problem at 10k miles which was a dodgy sensor. They fixed that under warranty but they did have a couple of goes at it. It's fine now.

A drive shaft snapped at 25k miles leaving me stranded on the motorway at 3am on January 1st 2000. You can imagine my attempts at getting the AA out. I was not a happy bunny. Again, fixed under the warranty and seems fine now.

I've had to replace the front wheels due to vibration though I suspect that says more about the state of London's road than about the car.

The last 35K miles have been fine (I do approx 35k miles/year). I'm basically going to wear it to death.

General Comments:

Comfy.

Is happy at 90 on the motorway, accelerates acceptably, absolute top speed is 115mph so it's not a high performance car - doesn't pretend to be though.

It starts getting thirsty at about 80 but is fine below that. I average 33mpg but you can get more out of it if you're more careful.

The suspension is a bit soft and it rolls a bit round corners compared to most European setups. The air conditioning is a boon here in summer. The boot is fantastic, you could get a couple of bodies in there.

The engine does get a little warm in traffic but it doesn't seem to affect it much.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2000

1997 Daewoo Espero CDXi 2.0 Litres from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Litres Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Swift but thirsty!

Faults:

Wiring a little suspect i.e. connections to relay box, horn, interior, all minor niggles really.

Air con could be better considering the size of the cabin.

General Comments:

High spec, swift and comfortable, parts can be found cheaply, BUT NOT FROM THE DEALERS!

Can be thirsty, a nice car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2000

1997 Daewoo Espero CDi 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 1.8
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10

Faults:

I've been having some ABS problems with the car. Initially, the ABS would kick in under braking when below about 5mph, which is a little disconcerting. At it's 20,000 mile service I mentioned it to Daewoo who checked it and couldn't find anything. Three days later the ABS went completely and the ABS light and parking light came on so it's going to be fixed in a couple of days.

General Comments:

It seems a little sluggish under acceleration and guzzles fuel above about 80mph.

I bought the car second hand with 11,000 miles on the clock. It was significantly less expensive (40%) than other manufacturers with similar mileage/features.

Overall, I'm pleased with the car and the service from Daewoo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 1999

27th May 2003, 06:42

Hello I'm Robert from The Netherlands.

I bought a 1996 Espero 2.0 CD early this year Jan 2003.

Since then I to have ABS problems.

After breaking three times, or going faster then 20mph the ABS lights comes on.

The Daewoo garage said first there was one left front ABS sensor failure.

They replaced that item, so I drove of... and again the ABS light comes on.

So back again and now they replaced the right front sensor.

And I'm of again... and back because the ABS light comes on again.

Know they said there is a "missing link" so it must be a electrical cable failure somewhere.

They also made a remark that they had another Espero in the garage were the engine had failed. So if I wanted and it would be better they said... I could put my engine from my Espero in that car and I wouldn't have a ABS problem no more because the other Engine defective Espero had no ABS option.

That remark took the last... good reservations I had about this Deawoo Garage away. I phoned around with Daewoo Dealers and Explained everything. I know are getting a second opinion at a other Daewoo affiliated garage.

So I hope they can fixed it quickly.. because I was 4 months busy with my other garage who seem not to be able to repair this problem.

For the rest the car drives good, has lots of room for 4/5 passengers, has lots of trunk space (don't buy a tv set it wouldn't fit because it ain't a hatchback!) and the car hasn't given any other problems then the ABS problem.

It ain't a fast car, but then again I didn't buy it for that purpose. It has a large engine 2.0 liters so if you keep the RPM needle at 3000 rpms, by using all the gears 1 to 5 then it gets reasonable mileage.

1997 Daewoo Espero CDXI 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Recently involved in a rear end RTA. Vehicle written off. Believe this was because rear end crumple zone performed as manufacturer intended and absorbed impact which protected the passengers. I am more than pleased with vehicle's performance and am looking for a replacement Daewoo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 1999

1997 Daewoo Espero CDX 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10

Faults:

Nothing!

General Comments:

An excellent company to do business with - highly recommended.

I regularly change my car - next time it will be a Daewoo Leganza 2.0 CDX.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 1997

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 14 reviews