Daewoo Kalos Reviews

2004 Daewoo Kalos SX 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Was good at very low mileage

Faults:

My cam belt went last Christmas 2010; cost £1500 to fix! 47,000 miles only!

Now the car is cutting out during driving, steering locking - dangerous I know! Now I only go very slowly as I'm saving to take it back to the garage.

Also, it sounds like I'm now dragging something from the front driver's side wheel - any ideas! Not going to spend any more money on it, but hope it lasts the week before garage can look at it!

General Comments:

Did like it, but no more! Seems like lots had problems like this with 54 SX model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th August, 2011

2003 Daewoo Kalos SX 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired80 miles
Most recent distance19250 miles

Summary:

Some great design touches and a very under estimated vehicle

Faults:

Engine management light would come on and off and initially the dealer could not find the fault.

Engine misfired and stuck in 3rd gear.

All 16 valves replaced.

ABS brake warning light sensor needs replacing.

General Comments:

The car has comfortable seating and the driver commands a good view of the road.

Plenty of space inside and the car can seat four adults.

Fuel economy is not particularly good.

The automatic take off from standing a standing start is quick and leaves many manual cars still at the lights.

The car is pleasant to drive and good value.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th November, 2006

2004 Daewoo Kalos Xtra 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carJaguar XJ40

Summary:

Good value, economic and has a personality

Faults:

I have experienced no breakdowns or other problems, save for a hesitancy at light throttle, which is proving difficult to overcome.

General Comments:

I am most satisfied with the car; it is roomy and comfortable, considering its size and price.

The controls are light and positive, the gear shift especially so.

I achieve an average fuel consumption of 43 mpg.

Service items (oil filters, plugs, etc) are inexpensive, and although servicing is free for three years, I do the work myself.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2006

2005 Daewoo Kalos SE 1.2 from Turkey

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 kilometres
Most recent distance19000 kilometres
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Gas Hog!

Faults:

AC went out, but it was covered by warranty.

General Comments:

I was looking to buy a cheap reliable car. I got that and a CD player, AC, and power everything. But this car is a gas hog. I have seen V8's that get better mileage. 1.2 litre engine with 72 hp I just don't get what it does with all that gasoline. I am buying a deisel...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th October, 2005

24th Oct 2005, 14:55

Didn't think Daewoo were in Turkey anymore???

21st Jan 2006, 17:37

My aveo gets poor mileage considering the power output. The engine is dated.

22nd Jan 2006, 11:35

My Aveo gets great mileage and I am happy the engine is dated since it means it is simpler to work on and simpler to fix.

22nd Jan 2006, 16:23

So what IS the gas mileage that you folks are saying is good or bad?

2004 Daewoo Kalos LX 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired37 miles
Most recent distance300 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

Excellent value for money and a great looking car

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong so far.

General Comments:

An excellent car.

Comfortable front and rear seats.

Rear window rather small and vision slightly obscured by handle protruding from the top of rear seat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2005

30th Apr 2005, 02:35

I really enjoy driving my Daewoo Kalos, 8 valve, 1.4. Good suspension, satisfactory acceleration and very steady at high speed. There is however one problem: petrol consumption! I admit that most of my driving occurs over relative short distances in an urban environment, but approximately 10 liters/100 km is very high. My contacts with other owners have confirmed that this is not an exception. Since Chevrolet has taken over Daewoo, I believe the 8 valve has been discontinued in favor of the 16 valve version. Hopefully this will contribute to less consumption as on the whole this car is great value for money.

2004 Daewoo Kalos SX 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.4 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance1700 miles
Previous carDaewoo Kalos

Summary:

I like this car better than all other cars I have owned and driven

Faults:

Welptons of Hessle, my local Daewoo dealer have fixed the rear number plate by drilling through into the bodywork of the tailgate instead of using the pre-prepared fixing mounts.

General Comments:

The car is very comfortable.

The car has a very good seating position, both in the front and rear and the equipment on the SX model is very good. Air conditioning, electric front and rear windows and remote locking are all new to me and very useful as is the reversing aid.

I part exchanged my previous 18 month old manual transmission Kalos for an automatic model for health reasons. I was extremely pleased with my last car as I was with the present model until the local dealer, Welptons of Hessle, drilled unnecessary holes into the tailgate to fix the rear number plate.

I find the front corner pillars between the windscreen and side windows create quite a large blindspot.

The automatic transmission model is quite uneconomical - only about 30 miles per gallon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th February, 2005

12th Mar 2005, 23:38

I have a 2004 Chevy Aveo 5-door, the US version of this car, and I have to agree, it is one of the best cars I have ever owned. It is small, very responsive and very well balanced. There is very little difference in the passenger interior room between the Aveo and our other car, a Chevy Cavalier. The 1.6, 16-valve engine (103hp) with a 4 speed automatic transmission gives me about 23mpg. Not the greatest, but more than acceptable, especially when in-town driving is combined with 75mph jaunts down the interstate. The trunk room is adequate with the back seat up and fantastic with it folded down.

23rd Oct 2005, 00:52

I bought the Canadian Pontiac Wave 5 which is the same as a Daewoo Kalos, Suzuki Swift+ and the Chevrolet Aveo. My Wave is the Automatic transmission version and I disagree, it is very economical. I have put 12,000 Km on my car and find it handles great, is very comfortable. I am getting 41 MPG on the highway and about 36 in the city. This is the best car I have owned over the 35 years of driving and I will be getting another when the lease is up.

21st Jan 2006, 17:34

My Aveo gets nowhere near that mileage... You really must short-shift, and drive 80 on the freeway. I know I drive stupid quickly (I go from Ottawa to Toronto on a weekly basis, and the trips are nicer when they end quickly). My mileage is about 20-25 mpg. I do drive 140-150 on the highway, so obviously that impacts it. Realistic mileage should be around 35 mpg. I also hate the small size of the gas tank, but that's only because I travel long distances.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 8 reviews