Daewoo Kalos Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2004 Daewoo Kalos SX notchback 1.4 DOHC from Malta

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.4 DOHC Manual
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance1200 kilometres
Previous carSkoda 120L

Summary:

Not recommended

Faults:

The car which is still brand new, (after only 1200 km) has an abnormal clunking noise when the clutch is pressed and released, which I find very irritating.

The manufacturer claims that this is a characteristic on all Kalos models, which I find is not a plausible answer.

Crankshaft end-float can be felt by hand from the front pulley which I think is excessive and the manufacturer has also dismissed this as being the cause.

General Comments:

I am not satisfied with the car and with the manufacturer's handling of my complaint.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th August, 2004

18th Aug 2004, 08:58

This is not so. I have a kalos and there is no clunking noise at all - try a different garage. In fact it runs beautifully - have had it for 6 months and no problems.

2nd Dec 2004, 03:00

Further to my comments of 27/11/2004 the sorry saga of my Daewoo Kalos continues. Having taken the car back yet again to the dealership on Monday 29/11/2004, I was informed that the car required the replacement of two components and I had therefore to return to the dealership yet again for these parts to be fitted. The dealership booked my car in for this work to carried out on Friday (03/12/2004). In view of the past experiences I had with the dealership I telephoned them today (Thursday 02/12/2004) just to confirm that everything was okay, only to be told that only one replacement part had arrived. Had I not telephoned them I would have found myself making an unnecessary (60 mile) journey.

The car has been returned to the dealership on 4 occasions, the next visit will make 5, the AA recovery service has been out to the car on 4 occasions and have reported that there is a fault with the car (like I needed telling!) and the car is only 10 months old and has covered only 6,000 miles!

I have also been in contact with GM Daewoo UK head office who are fobbing me off with excuses over the poor quality of the car, and the apalling service I'm receiving from their dealership. They have offered me a £30 fuel voucher as an offer of good will, this is an insult and I am of course taking the matter further.

Mr. G Pywell

Broughton

Nr. Chester

North Wales

UK.

2003 Daewoo Kalos S 1.2 from Hungary

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance1000 kilometres
Previous carDaewoo Tico

Summary:

A very nice and comfortable family car for a surprisingly low price

General Comments:

Excellent comfort in its category.

Lots of room for the driver and passengers alike.

You almost have the commanding view of an SUV from the driver's seat (O.K. it is a view of a small SUV, but it is still an advantage in this category).

Very good base price, practical upgrades for favorable prices.

Economical operation and maintenance.

Large luggage compartment and easily folding rear seats (fold in 60:40).

Very nice appearance, good choice of colors.

The 1.2 engine is a little slow to react, but provides sufficient power for defensive drivers. It is not a sports-car anyway :-)

Controls and instrumentation are very practical and easy to handle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2003

23rd Feb 2004, 09:00

A super car - agree with all your comments.

23rd Mar 2004, 07:37

I agree with everything you say about the Kalos. I have just bought one and am thrilled with it. Extremely comfortable, nice appearance, quiet engine, good overall view from drivers side.

Would recommend this car to anyone.

31st Mar 2004, 05:22

I agree with previous comments regarding the Daewoo Kalos, having just purchased a new kalos I was very impressed with the overall package.

I have a 1.2 engine under the bonnet which, to be honest lacks power, but hopefully once the engine has been 'run in' will improve.

I am also a bit disappointed in the fuel consumption, but again I hope will improve with time.

I am though very pleased with the cars comfort, the engine is very quiet and the seating position is very commendable.

Finally, I would add that the sales service was excellent both before, during and after purchase. This aspect is often overlooked when buying a car and in my view reflects the efforts Daewoo are putting into selling cars.

Graham Pywell.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 8 reviews