2002 Daewoo Lanos from North America

Summary:

This is the most amazing car ever- I hope I never have to replace it!

Faults:

None due to the type of car-

It has been in two major accidents, and totaled once- this was when it was hit by an SUV. The second accident was the result of a faulty part from the company who fixed it after the SUV accident.

General Comments:

This car is AMAZING!!

Super-good gas mileage- 35+ mpg.

Very fast pick-up and acceleration.

Even though it has been in 2 accidents, there has been NO interior damage.

Cute and sporty look.

Comfortable and roomy inside, despite it's size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2007

2002 Daewoo Lanos S 1.6 from North America

Summary:

Sporty and Reliable!

Faults:

Replaced front tires at 46,000 miles.

General Comments:

I'm completely smitten with this great little car. It is built rock solid yet it is quick off the line. The seats provide excellent support and the overall impression of the interior materials and their fit and finish is that of a much more expensive automobile. The handling is agile and responsive and even when cornering at great speed the car remains flat. All this with 50 + mpg! These are becoming highly collectible, but I plan to hold on to mine!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th June, 2006

7th Jun 2006, 17:47

Don't know how you are getting 50+ mpg with yours -- best I ever got on my '99 was 34 mpg.

Better look at getting your timing belt replaced soon -- if it breaks while the car is running, your engine is toast.

2002 Daewoo Lanos Sports 1.6L DOHC from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

A cute little car that is cheap to run and very very reliable and easy to drive

Faults:

When I first got the car, the exhaust was rattling when you started the car moving off - sounded a lot like it was scraping on the ground (dealer replaced under warranty with no problems)

Drivers electric window gearbox started to die, it would go down, but not back up again (again dealer replaced with no problems under warranty)

Plastic trim in the boot lining is starting to move around a little bit - but again that is more my own fault really for not securing that gas bottle...

General Comments:

The Car is quite zippy - being it is the 3 door hatch model and accelerates very well.

Stopping power is very good, feels like it just throws out the anchors and hauls itself up - constantly, predictably and reliably.

Handles well - even at high speeds it still feels like it is planted on the road firmly.

I have a tiny bit of difficulty with the clutch, but that is driver error (read: lack of skill) as my mates have no problems at all with it. When changing gears "casually" people in the car tend to feel the gear change more, but when I'm really giving the car a lot of poke she changes very smooth!

The engine likes to rev too and it has a very usable power band - you can rev it for the cool factor and rev it to use the power too.

A great little car in shopping center car parks too.

I found it to be extremely efficient to drive as well, and I drive in a very lead-foot style too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2005

2002 Daewoo Lanos 1.6 from North America

Summary:

Very good for the money

Faults:

Replaced cassette player at dealer's expense. Small tear on fender is hard to fix. Finish appears to be a cloth covering, not paint which is easier to replace.

General Comments:

Car delivers 26 mp gallon. Runs briskly. Very good pickup. AC is slow getting up to speed. Seats were a little hard for us. Put foam cushions over them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd March, 2005

2002 Daewoo Lanos 1.6 liter from North America

Summary:

Cheaply built, but still pretty good

Faults:

I had it for a year then I sold it to buy something better at the time.

No problems ever occurred.

General Comments:

This car is a great car for its low price tag.

It is very quick and fuel efficient. Passengers and cargo tends to slow down the light car.

It lacks very much refinement even for an economy car.

It is not the most physically appealing car.

It can make long hauls and long trips very quick and easy.

Its thin doors and general body lets in a lot of noise.

I would be very afraid to get into an accident in this car, I hit it with a shopping cart once and left a huge dent in the door. Hail damage can really tear it up.

Very good for a point a-to-point-b-car.

Weather has little affect on this car. Starts in the cold and runs even in the heat of the desert.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th February, 2005

9th Aug 2005, 11:59

I found the daewoo lanos to be very reliable. Six months ago I was in an accident where my daewoo went off the road due to gravel, and rolled my car it was somewhat dented in from being upside down, the only other damage was dents on the sides of the car and a broken windshield. Not even a light was broken. My sixteen year old sister and I walked out of the accident with not even a scratch. The car saved my life.

8th Mar 2006, 21:04

"I would be very afraid to get into an accident in this car"

Don't be!

I owned a Daewoo Lanos Hatchback Sport... it crashed slam into a wall at around 60mph (no signs or street lights on a sharp turn). I totaled it (stepped on breaks too hard- no ABS!), but got out without a scratch! (was wearing a seatbelt of course!). Extremely safe!!! Also, it's not always a bad sign if a car dents easily. It means the outside takes most of the shock before it gets to the more important parts (you!). Look it up!

I did get another one, a Daewoo Lanos Sedan (they're just so cheap!). Long trips are a breeze! The only problem I've had so far is a busted thermostat housing after 3 years of ownership (exploded- unfortunately made out of PLASTIC). At first, parts were difficult to find (pre GM takeover), but it isn't too difficult now. If a dealer/supplier/etc. tells you they're having trouble getting a part- shop online, it's cheaper and there is a much larger selection!

Overall, a great little car. Loads of room, fabulous fuel economy, and especially safe.

Hope this helps! :)