2002 Daewoo Lanos Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2002 Daewoo Lanos from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired90 kilometres
Most recent distance23000 kilometres

Summary:

Gets you from A to B cheaply

Faults:

The dashboard cracked after only 6 months, but was replaced by the dealer.

There was a problem with the compressor in the air con; this was also replaced.

Then there was a problem with the relays. Daewoo would not replace it for 2 months, but the dealership gave me a car to use while they were waiting for the part. In the end they had to take the part out of another model so I could have my car back.

General Comments:

I love the car! It's zippy, great on fuel and reliable. It helps that I have 3 years roadside assistance and factory warranty for 3 years. I paid 13,990 drive away. The metallic paintwork was thrown in as well as headlight covers. I have also travelled long distance in it, and it went like a dream.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th June, 2004

22nd Jan 2007, 12:52

I know- isn't it great! I am a college student, and I take it to school and back- 16 hour drive- it's such a great little car! :)

2002 Daewoo Lanos S 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired22 miles
Most recent distance8020 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

A must have for commuters!

Faults:

Passenger seat slowly reclines.

Squeaky seatbelt. WD-40 corrected this problem easily.

Reverse gear grinds if foot not on break.

Standard Hankook tires have very poor traction on snow, ice, and rain. Replace with better tires as soon as possible.

General Comments:

I love this car. I have more room in the drivers seat than my Pontiac Bonneville.

The five-speed manual and its light weight makes it faster 0-60 mph than many V6 equipped vehicles.

It has a full seat bottom that extends to the knees not end mid-thigh.

Gas mileage observed is 32 city and 42 highway is much higher than estimates on window sticker.

This car purrs at 80 mph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2003

2002 Daewoo Lanos 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired41 miles
Most recent distance22347 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Runs well, but pretty much a "throw away" car if anything goes wrong.

Faults:

My brakes recently went out.

My seats fall back without being rolled.

My windows go down without being rolled.

My entire dashboard squeaks constantly.

General Comments:

This car gets good gas mileage, and has held up well as far as major parts are concerned.

However, from what I've been told, if certain parts do go out I'm in trouble because you can't find them at this time.

It took me a month to find brake pads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th December, 2002

9th Apr 2004, 19:09

Your comments on 2002 Daewoo Lanos shock, me seeing that my grandparents just bought me one as a graduation gift. Thanks for the information, but I must say that I hope my new car will hold up better than yours, since I'm freshman in college and can't afford an another anytime soon.

24th Jun 2004, 20:54

The Lanos is not a bad car the gas sensor might read wrong (had to replace that once),the dashboard rattles lightly, nothing serious, had to replace brake pads, brakes to squeal when just warming up. The only major problem there is now is one of the belts squeals when the a/c is on and there acceleration, supposedly it's normal (IT'S EMBARRASSING! I try not to use the a/c when in city or accelerating hard). Every car is going to have problems just take care, keep up with maintenance, try to care of little problems soon and you won't have to worry about paying out the ying-yang.

8th Sep 2013, 14:05

What did you expect?! This is a fridge or microwave, and as you exactly describe something you would throw away when it expires. It's not a Ferrari.

2002 Daewoo Lanos S 1.5 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5 SOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired189 kilometres
Most recent distance5200 kilometres
Previous carPlymouth Colt

Summary:

Stands out from the Civic Bandwagon

Faults:

Air leak in the driver's window fixed.

Blower motor changed due to squeaking.

Rear Tail light changed due to leakage.

General Comments:

The car is a well-built, and under rated car on the road.

Acceleration is surprisingly peppy from the 86 hp engine.

The fuel economy varies from 7-12 liters per 100 kilometers.

The car so far has been reliable, except for a little fit-and-finish problems, which were fixed under warranty.

Further updates to come.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2002

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 14 reviews