1997 Daewoo Nexia Reviews

1997 Daewoo Nexia from UK and Ireland

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired44750 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carDaewoo Nexia

Summary:

OK, drives nicely

Faults:

Car radio switches back to code every time I switch off the ignition.

General Comments:

No complaints so far, only need to sort out the car radio, as above.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2006

1997 Daewoo Nexia Gli 1.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6800 miles
Most recent distance7200 miles
Previous carProton Proton

Summary:

Good price for a good car

Faults:

Clutch cable, but I'm pretty sure this was my fault.

Cylinder head.

Fuel indicator works when it wants to, can jump from 1/2 tank to 1/4 tank in 15 miles.

General Comments:

For a cheap car, it has tons of feature, ABS, Air-Bag, Air-Con. Central locking is on my car, but I think this was a custom fit.

1.5 Engine provides sufficient power for most people.

Very comfortable and spacious, factory-installed audio system very good.

The boot is big, very big. But seats won't fold down.

Good control layout.

Does on average 35m.p.g.

I have styled this car with Xenon lights, fogs (2nd hand), Lexus style taillights, electric aerial for just over £150.

A lot of Astra parts can be used with little of no modification.

Could have done with electric windows and factory central locking (available on the GLXI model)

Another small hatred of the car is, at least I've noticed, when closing the doors, they bounce back ajar, can be quite annoying.

But I would recommend buying this car, but try to get one with a warranty. Oh and the resale value on Daewoo cars are quite poor, so you can pick up a good bargain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2004

1997 Daewoo Nexia GLXi 1.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Most recent distance59500 miles

Summary:

A terrible waste of money

Faults:

The Catalytic converter after 3 years and again one year later.

The drivers seat has worn badly at 50000 miles.

The engine blew at 59500 miles.

General Comments:

The second hand value of Daewoo's is extremely low.

The build quality is poor, once the 3 year warranty is passed expect trouble, but don't expect any help from Daewoo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd February, 2003

1997 Daewoo Nexia GLXi 1.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles

Summary:

Unreliable, Petrol Drinking, False Economy..

Faults:

Drive shaft has gone and consequently so has the hub, rear brake cylinders need replacing, seat belts have never been able to retract, horn inexplicably doesn't work, etc etc etc.

General Comments:

I have a car which is 5 years old, two owners from new, full service history, (admittedly high mileage) and I am currently contemplating having to scrap it, as the cost of the required work is higher than the guideline value. How absurd is that?!?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd October, 2002

1997 Daewoo Nexia GLi 1.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carCitroen BX

Summary:

Was fine until it went in to be fixed by the dealership

Faults:

Where do I start?

Tye head gasket blew at 55,000 miles.

The brakes keep seizing up & sticking on, both front and rear.

Seat belt front restrainer rusted and wore through seat belt.

Water leaks from rear windows.

Rough running engine, I suspect poor HT leads, which were not picked up on by the dealer, but my local independent garage.

Front door hinges creak badly and cannot be fixed.

Windscreen wiper linkage failed, causing the blades to collide and twist.

The fuel sender keeps giving empty tank readings.

General Comments:

The car drives very well and the seats are comfortable for long distances, but the road noise is poor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd September, 2002

1997 Daewoo Nexia GLXI 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carSkoda Favorit

Summary:

Good car let down by bad after sales service

Faults:

Trouble with starting and the radio. Never ever been put right after 3 years.

Dealer service bad. Will not pick up the car. Never have courtesy car even when ordered. Fail to book services. Seem to have no stock of even the most basic spare parts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th September, 2000

18th Mar 2001, 13:40

We have to agree with every comment you have made. On reading it, it seems as if we had written it ourselves.The two Ronnies.

27th Jan 2002, 07:36

Sorry to hear about the poor after sales service. I've had a Nexia G LXi for 5 years now, put 105,000 miles on it, and had very good after-sales service.

I agree about Halfords not carrying even basic spares - that's a nuisance - but they've never let me down.

Only real problem with the car is the rear nearside window has stopped working (it's electric), and I can't be bothered to spend money repairing it.

- Dave from Bury.

8th Sep 2002, 12:32

I love my GLXi - had it 4.5 years, despite some problems. The sunroof has always leaked - the local Daewoo main dealers said it was impossible to get the seals and it needed a new sunroof. A local sunroof fitter put a new seal on and charged £30. The Daewoo garage is very poor indeed at any repairs/service.

My engine seized on the M1 and had to be replaced. We ordered a new short engine which arrived rusty and had to go back! The cost of parts was horrendous.

But mostly I love the car.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 11 reviews