1993 Daewoo Racer Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1993 Daewoo Racer 1.5i from Pakistan

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5i Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100 kilometres
Most recent distance42300 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Much better than Suzuki

Faults:

Car's engine performance is superb. There is lots of noise inside the car while all the windows closed. Brakes performance are dead. Engine gives better shoot in starting, but at the speed of 120 km/h it seems as there is something missing or just there is no comfortability and at this speed brakes seem as not more than NONE. But no doubt car is much reliable as I normally change its oil over 10,000 km and this car never becomes hassle for me therefore I like it and still I keep it and I don't have any intention to sale it out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2004

1993 Daewoo Racer 1.5 cc from Pakistan

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5 cc Manual
Distance when acquired37 kilometres
Most recent distance82320 kilometres
Previous carDaihatsu Charade

Summary:

A high performance bargain don't sell it

Faults:

The biggest problem with this car is its brakes which need repairing very frequently.

General Comments:

This car is seriously quick and handles like it's on rails. It has a very powerful engine and just taking some little care of it make it a very good car. Its aircondintioner is really cool here in hot summer of lahore and its road grip is excellent. It works on both patrol and CNG very well just clean terminals of battery and earth regularly and change oil and filter this car will enjoy you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2004

1993 Daewoo Racer GSi 1.5 petrol from Singapore

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 kilometres
Most recent distance214000 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo Alfasud Sprint

Summary:

A very reliable workhorse at a bargain

Faults:

This is an update of my first review listed on Nov 1999. I have owned the same car for 3 years, this month.

Most of the repairs were done round about just after I purchased the car.

Steering bracket replaced at $300/-. This was the cause of the steering problem highlighted in my earlier review.

The air-conditioning system was replaced at $900/-. The air-con has been super cool since.

Alternator went bad at 145000km at a replacement cost of $150/-.

Clutch needed some work on it at 155000km at a cost of $200/-. It has felt much lighter since.

That's about all, I guess. Servicing was done every 10000km, without fail. This probably accounts for the reliability I have experienced.

General Comments:

The car is now nearing the end of its lifespan (as far as the local context/regulations are concerned), it is almost 10 years old.

I have 2 months to drive it before it is due to be scrapped.

It has been great. Generally, the car has served me very well. Its huge boot has seen tons of groceries, materials and equipment (i am a site engineer). There have not been any major breakdowns. It basically gets me from point A to B without fail, everyday, although performance is nothing to brag about.

I have heard of tales of Daewoos failing, but either I am lucky, or I have maintained after mine well (which I doubt).

Although I am looking forward to getting a new car, I will never forget the comforting feeling I get everyday before I start the car.

The new Integra sure looks good...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th October, 2002

1993 Daewoo Racer EXi 1.5 from Pakistan

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6700 kilometres
Most recent distance0 kilometres

Summary:

Unbeatable

Faults:

It is an excellent car except it becomes too heavy on the a/c.

General Comments:

Excellent car. Exceptionally good for racing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2002

1993 Daewoo Racer STi 1.5 petrol from Oman

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 kilometres
Most recent distance75000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 309

Summary:

An excellent car for the money

Faults:

The fan belt broke after 50,000 kilometres.

The electric window motor broke after 74,000 kilometres.

The compressor for the air conditioning needed a replacement after 67,000 kilometres.

General Comments:

I have owned this car for 7 years and shipped it from Oman to Pakistan. It has proved reliable and comfortable. Performance is acceptable although I do not find it particularly fuel efficient.

The handling is poor as are the brakes, which lock up too easily.

Overall, this car is cheap, but reliable and well built. It would benefit from a stiffer suspension and antilock brakes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2002

1993 Daewoo Racer EXI 1.5 from Pakistan

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 kilometres
Most recent distance87000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

An excellent car. Better than Honda

Faults:

Nothing at all. It has been 4 years, not even a single problem from the engine and the rest.

General Comments:

An excellent car. Extremely fast. Solid engine. Smooth, and 100% reliable car. Better than Honda & Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2001

7th Aug 2001, 05:14

The Daewoo Racer is a good car. But it isn't capable to be compared with the Honda Accord or might it be a Civic. Because the owner of the Daewoo hasn't told us about the recent Accord he owned. What was the model? How much was its mileage and when did he buy that car? I am sure if the car was in fine condition and used well it is far superior and a better car..! And if he wants the proof, he better drive an Accord of the same model (93) having the same condition. He'll know the difference...

1993 Daewoo Racer GSi 1.5 from Singapore

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired142000 kilometres
Most recent distance143000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Satisfactory

Faults:

I experienced occasional very eratic high RPM when idling at 1600rpm with the Air-con on, but when I shut it off, RPM returns to normal. So I guess, may be it is the heating issue. This does not happen very often.

General Comments:

Very stable car. Running at 140km/hr, still feels very comfortable. RPM is also low, say less than 3000rpm for 120km/hr. Engine is rough, noisy. But the price of the car is very good as compared to other Japanese cars. So definitely worth owning one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2000

1993 Daewoo Racer GSi 1.5 petrol from Singapore

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.5 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

I'm the 2nd owner. 1st owner sold the car to me thru' dealer after 7 years. Original condition, owner's manual and service log still in glove compartment as new. Idling erratic when engine temp high. During sharp turns, steering seems to resist. That's about all.

General Comments:

Performance is average. After all, it is a run-of-the-mill model.

High points are low fuel consumption (2300rpm at 100km/h), boot space and German engineering (body, interior and mechanics same as the Opel Kadett GSi) at a bargain price!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 1999

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 12 reviews