1991 Daihatsu Applause Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1991 Daihatsu Applause Li 1.6L from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 kilometres
Most recent distance240000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Swift

Summary:

A reliable little car I've done heaps of highway driving in

Faults:

Not much has gone wrong with this car up until now. Unfortunately it looks like all four shock absorbers are now in need of replacement - however, they are the original shock absorbers, or so I am told.

Vinyl on driver's side seat is starting to crack near the door.

Replaced the water pump bearing at 230000kms.

Replaced radiator at 215000kms.

General Comments:

This car has been reliable and pretty cheap to run.

I found the seats particularly comfortable.

The most annoying feature was that the back doors don't open very wide.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2003

1991 Daihatsu Applause Li 1.6 fuel Injected petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 fuel Injected petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired119000 kilometres
Most recent distance170000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Sigma

Summary:

Very cheap to run car with plenty of carry capacity

Faults:

CV drive-shafts became noisy on cornering, so had them replaced ($650aus) Mar 2001.

For a long road trip I had the timing belt replaced, but mechanic overtightened the fanbelt. In middle of Australia the water pump failed. Mechanic paid all costs. June 2002.

Clutch release fork broke suddenly. Cost of repair approx $1000. Bit the bullet and replaced it myself. Easier than I expected. Also cleaned and freed solenoid on starter motor as it was sticking.

General Comments:

Not the most attractive looking car, but it has huge boot space and fantastic economy. Long road trip cost me so little in fuel I was amazed.

Its looks stop it from being stolen.

I am over six foot tall, but very comfortable car for me to drive.

Has reinforced doors for side impacts!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2002

1991 Daihatsu Applause LS 1.6 petrol carb from Israel

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol carb Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance300000 kilometres
Previous carZAZ (Former USSR) NSU Prinz clone

Summary:

A real bargain - a cheap and trouble-free car

Faults:

Fuel pump leaked once, didn't have to change it, but did, just in case.

The automatic choke failed, almost replaced it, but it started working again after 2 weeks, and has worked great ever since.

General Comments:

A virtually trouble-free car that won't see the inside of a garage other than for regular treatment, a real pleasure to own.

Good fuel consumption - does 10 km/l even with the air conditioner on constantly, and after 300000 kilometers there's still no overhaul needed.

The handling is not sporty at all, and the grip is average at best (155 mm. 13 in. tires), but the car behaves in a very predictable way, and is very easy to control. The roll angle is high though.

The acceleration is good - 91 HP on 915 kilos are more than sufficient, and the overall quickness is also good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2001

15th May 2004, 05:42

Have just purchased a 2nd hand 1991 Daihatsu Applause, LI.

So far so good. 195,000 Km and everything (well almost) is going well. One thing the car lot did not tell me was that the previous owner had disconnected the heater. Apparently this is not uncommon because the heat exchange unit in the cabin eventually rusts and leaks, so many owners find disconnecting the cheapest way out.

Shane Wiley.

27th Jun 2011, 11:19

Does anyone know that can I pump unleaded fuel 95 or 98 offered by BP into this car although the car manual says it can only take unleaded 91?

28th Jul 2011, 17:10

Yes you can! I always use unleaded 95. You can probably also use unleaded 98 too.

1991 Daihatsu Applause Xi 1.6 from Hungary

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 kilometres
Most recent distance73000 kilometres

Summary:

Good performance and comfort for a low price

Faults:

Spring in rear suspension broke.

Battery died.

Some problems with ignition.

General Comments:

This is a very comfortable and strong car. Lots of space for luggage and in the back seats too. Has a low price compared to its performance. If only there weren't those annoying small problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd June, 2000

31st Jan 2001, 15:54

Did you ever had problems with the gearbox? My Applause had serious problems with #2, #3, and #5 after 180,000 kilometres. Take my advice,and change the gearbox oil more often than the manual says. You have the chance not to lose fifth gear!!

5th Oct 2002, 11:47

Does anyone know the engine code for the 1600cc EFI engine fitted to the Daihatsu applause.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 6 reviews