1989 Daihatsu Charade CS 1.0 3 cylinder turbo diesel from Netherlands



General Comments:

It is a cheap car to drive, only a little bit noisy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2001

16th Apr 2001, 01:30

I own a Charade. The engine was noisy. I bought this product call MotorKote 100 engine wear protector. When my car is due for an oil change, I got my mechanic to add it into both the engine lubricant and the transmission oil.

Run it in for a month. Oh! now I can enjoy my stereo without blasting it.

8th May 2001, 16:19

I have one and love it, bought it used. I want to know where I can buy parts, maybe another used one cheap, I live in Alabama.


7th Jul 2001, 02:30

I own 1991 charade CS, but the engine is very noisy. Where can I get the MOTORKOTE oil in my country?.. I live in Malaysia.

30th Aug 2001, 01:49

Are you sure the noise isn't coming from your exhaust manifold? I have a CES, which I'm sure is very similar, and there is a whopping hole in my exhaust manifold just under the protective cover by the O2 sensor.

I live in California.

1989 Daihatsu Charade GTti 1.0 3 cylinder twincam 12v tur from Netherlands


Really a high performance bargain


Till now only the CV shaft is shut, engine is rebuilt because of tuning.

General Comments:

Lowered, rolling on 16s group N exhaust system, group a dump valve, turbo boost raised to 1.1 bar, increased fuel pressure, K&N open filter, bucket seats, and approx. 130 HP. This car is really mean and lets most bigger cars like BMW and Mercedes look in the exhaust. Real fun to drive.

And as a member of the Daihatsu club Holland I also noticed that there are some Charades with wide-arch body kits, very rare.

Bottom lowdown is that these cars are underestimated by a lot of people.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2001

27th May 2001, 21:34

I know what you mean about underestimated. My boyfriend has a GTti and it honks. It eats Mitsubishi GSR's and FTO's for dinner and I mean, for gods sake, they are only a 1.0L three cylinder twin cam turbo.

30th May 2001, 13:11

Really cool car, I am about to buy one 1992, 170000km, 80.000 BF. What did you say about tuning, where can I get info on that?

Please reply, I'm from Belgium.

29th Jun 2001, 11:18

The GTti is a super car to drive and also very rare, which at the moment is causing me problems. I need to get my hands on a cylinder head (12 valve), anyone have any ideas, Cheers! I'm from England.

15th Sep 2002, 11:59

For any one with a Daihatsu Charade Turbo G10,G11,G100 and G102, who is looking for a good car manual on the car. Look up Gregorys Automotive book on the net, No 254. The manual is printed in OZ and covers CS, CX, CC, TS, CR, SR, SG, XO, XG, XTE, XTES Series. There is a completed coverage of the engine, 1.0 L 3 Cyl, the turbo, 4 Cyl EFI and Turbo. I came across this while trying to a good book on the Charade.

Hope this is of some help for those who drive this little pocket rocket, my Charade is having a stripe down and clean up for the new year.

1989 Daihatsu Charade GTi 1.0 from UK and Ireland


Cheap, fast and what fun to drive...


Clutch needed replacing at 41,000.

Exhaust needed replacing at 51,000 (good excuse to get a sports one).

Rear shocks leaking due to having the car lowered 40mm.

Cambelt snapped even though I had one fitted 17,000 miles ago last year.

General Comments:

Very fast cheap car that will blow most cars off the road. Well worth buying if you can find a good one.


Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th January, 2001

20th Aug 2001, 20:54

Charades go all out. The other night my mate and I ripped back an 89 VR4 (which was last in the convoy we were chasing).

1989 Daihatsu Charade from Japan


A piece of crap.........


This car is a piece of crap, I have had nothing but problem after problem after problem since I got it......

The starter went out, had to replace the distributor cap.

The fuel filler etc... and now I'm told 2 parts I need for the car are nowhere to be found... that I would have to go back to Japan for them, that is a crock...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th November, 2000

14th Aug 2001, 06:27

How can you say, you have done 0 miles :-).

Get a GTti and all will be forgiven (you can't help it), they are designed for rallying, pretty reliable, low insurance and fast as hell.

25th Oct 2001, 16:24

Guess you are looking in the wrong place for the parts?