1989 Daihatsu Charade Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1989 Daihatsu Charade GTti 1.0 twin cam 12v turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.0 twin cam 12v turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance89500 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Minature car, mighty punch! A REAL hot hatch

Faults:

Clutch replacement (after lots of abuse!!)

Exhaust (10 years, not bad for an original exhaust! Replaced with a Mandrel bent, free flow, stainless steel job).

General Comments:

Well what can you say! Working for Cosworth Technology I see a lot of exotic machinery, yet still this 1 litre Daihatsu is my favourite car... ever... Fun to drive and own, easy to tune (engine has forged internals as standard, bomb proof they are, potential for HUGE power). Easy to maintain and they are fairly exclusive (rare).

Don't be put off by the fact it's a Daihatsu, this car was designed for rallying. I went with my mate in his Golf GTI to pick my Charade up when I bought it. Had a little race on the way home, I just drove away from him!

If you find one in good condition, buy it, look after it, you'll love it!

There's nothing which looks, sounds, or drives quite like them.... RAW FUN!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2000

6th Mar 2001, 13:24

I have been offered one of these cars for £550 and although none of the GTti's on this website have seemed unreliable, after owning a 5 turbo I wanted something a hell of a lot more reliable.

Provided the car is good to start with, would I be disappointed with this car???

1989 Daihatsu Charade CLX 1.0 3 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 3 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance138000 miles
Previous carBMW 1600

Summary:

Very reliable and economical

Faults:

Exhaust leak, air conditioner part (electronic).

General Comments:

Except for normal wear and tear, this car has had almost no repairs. It has never left me stranded. It feels much more solid than any other small car. I wish they still sold them here in the US.

The only strike against these cars is that OEM parts are harder to get, but I just looked on carparts.com and they have a lot of parts that I would not have expected to be able to get from secondary manufacturers (ie. clutch cable, all brake parts etc).

If you can find one in good shape, I would buy it, especially because they are SO cheap on the used car market.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2000

22nd Feb 2007, 12:18

Go to daihatsu-help.com and you can find all OEM Daihatsu parts.

26th Feb 2009, 02:16

Around the world, Daihatsus are known as good, dependable, but rough little cars. Parts come from overseas.

1989 Daihatsu Charade CLS 1.3 16v from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 1.3 16v Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles

Summary:

A tough bargain that beats anything in its price range!

Faults:

Nothing! Even the brakes lasted 100,000 miles! Just oil changes and tires!

General Comments:

This was a very tough vehicle, too bad they stopped selling them here! You could drive it two weeks on 10.00 gas. High quality materials used, much better quality then any of the Korean stuff being sold in this country! Felt very solid, like a much bigger car than it was. Why did they stop selling them here? A high quality car people can afford, what a concept!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2000

26th Feb 2009, 02:18

America (and Canada) still have gas that is unbelievably cheap, even now. Everyone is getting into smaller vehicles, though as their wallets start to hurt.

1989 Daihatsu Charade GTi 1.0 turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 1.0 turbo petrol
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

Nothing while I had it.

General Comments:

I bought this car from new in '89. Bought it tax-free when I was in the army and was a bit cautious, it being an unknown quantity.

Although I sold it several years ago, I had to make an entry to say that it was the most fun car I've ever owned! It was quite happy at an indicated 130mph on the german autobahn. I did 44k miles in the 3yrs I owned it and never a hiccup. I was stopped for speeding on the M1 (I was only doing 90mph) and the policeman was very surprised when I told him it was only a 1.0 litre engine. Very economical too. See, you can have your cake and eat it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 1999

17th Nov 2003, 12:42

I've seen too 210 km/h (about 130 mph) on my 100% standard GTti. However, bear in mind that speedos always exaggerate AND the road was slightly sloped... I believe the true top of the car is about 184-185 km/h...

1989 Daihatsu Charade Gti 1.0 twin cam 12v intercooled t from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 1.0 twin cam 12v intercooled t
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Waterpump after 53,000 miles.

Turbo rebuild after 80,000 miles.

General Comments:

The ultimate 1 litre car. 0-60 in 7.7 secs - reliable, economical, handles superbly and isn't too expensive to run, unless something serious happens i.e. turbo blows!

Main dealers don't know what to do with them and parts can be expensive. Find a turbo specialist to service them and change the oil every 3,000 miles!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 1999

1989 Daihatsu Charade CX 1.0 from Singapore

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 1.0
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10

Faults:

Rather noisy engine. Vibration occurs when I turn on the air-con. I have sent it to the dealer but they are unable to guarantee that the problem will be rectified. Yet to solve this problem. Anybody who has the solution may E-mail to pgjamie@pacific.net.sg

Thanks!!!

General Comments:

Thought powerful for a 1.0L car but it's noisy!!!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th January, 1999

9th Dec 2000, 07:16

I think the comment made is outrageous!!

I own a Charade model 1986, standard and it was not until last month that I had to get it to the workshop to get the engine overhauled and the shockers changed. Keeping in mind that I drive this car in Karachi, Pakistan, where the roads are quite bumpy, I think the Charade from Daihatsu is the best 1.0 litre car I've ever driven!

Mohammed Taqi Nasser

acenash@dot9.com

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 22 reviews