1978 Daihatsu F20 f20 1.6 from Australia and New Zealand

Faults:

Rust not so good, was going to make it a soft top then I found some tin, some pot rivets and not 2 much bog, paint job, like new again.

General Comments:

I've been comparing my f/20 1978 with a 1990 Suzuki sierra that friend has, f/20 is built to last drives like a real 4wd, the Suzuki is very cheaply made and things keep busting on it, not like the f/20, never sell it you won't find better, if you want a small 4wd.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th July, 2006

6th Aug 2006, 20:17

I have found my F20 to be an excellent 4WD in sand and mud. Due to it's size, I have taken it places friends with 40 series Land Cruisers have not.

The lack of parts has been a problem, with a complete brake system needed to be specially made and that was expensive.

1979 Daihatsu F20 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Very rare in the UK, and better than the equivalent SJ Suzuki

Faults:

Leaking brake pipe.

General Comments:

I bought this F20 as an off road machine to replace my previous Land Rover S3.

Although pretty rusty, mechanically it's A1.

It came with a roll cage and was finished in a military paint scheme.

I have loved the F20/F50 Daihatsu since I was a kid, and saw one on an Australian television program about a vet in the late seventies.

I have just acquired another F20 that is in very good condition, only requiring a little bit of TLC. I am going to fully restore this one, and use it as my everyday car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th December, 2004

15th Dec 2004, 08:46

Hi, I posted the other review. Nice to see at least two other fans of F20s in the world. I was told by my mechanic in Saudi that it is a Corona 1600 engine, when he fitted a new thermostat and housing from one to the F20. I believe the twin cam engine from the mid 70s celica is therefore a "drop-fit", as the Celica was basically a Corona Coupe.

I remember playing in soft sand in mine, using about 5500 revs in low box 1st gear when I noticed the oil pressure light was on! I let it cool down it restarted fine and never seemed any the worse for it. I guessed it had got so hot the oil had gone out of grade.

I spotted an F20 near Arnside in Cumbria recently so they are still about.

9th Dec 2006, 06:02

My brother has a F20/1982 with the 1600cc Toyota type 12R engine and it proved to be very effective especially in winters when nothing seems to stop it. The only down side is an unknown oil leak from somewhere in the flywheel area; also some rust has made it's way in, but it's understandable at 24 years of age.

The real bad thing is that there are no service or owner manuals available.

Nice little car!

14th Apr 2007, 23:05

I have just purchased an F20 and I am loving it!

30th Dec 2007, 19:41

The F20 uses a Toyota 12R engine, this was predominantly used in the Toyota Hi-Ace 1.6 van, and in early models of the Hi-lux pick up.

1983 Daihatsu F20 4WD 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Postman Pat's Colander!

Faults:

Engine suffered high oil consumption, transfer box leaked oil.

Tyres fell to bits before the tread was worn out due to the heat.

General Comments:

I owned this car when I worked in the Middle East, where it was used only for off-road trips.

The high oil consumption was caused by wear, due to the ingress of fine sand past the air filter. Despite changing the oil every 1500 miles it was always black. I suspect the piston rings were worn.

Offroad the weedy 1600cc Toyota engine lacked the power to tackle deep sand, but its light weight and small size allowed it to get to places big 4WDs couldn't.

The styling reminded me of Postman Pats van. Hardly ever seen in the UK now due to rust, the last one I saw looked suitable only for straining vegetables!

Mine was rust free, I did think about driving it back to the UK when I finished work, but when I was offered the same money I paid for it I decided against it. A 4WD with air-con, but no heater fitted? Ideal for North-country winters!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2002

1st Jun 2005, 22:28

I have an F20 and its still in good condition. no rust yet and goes beautifully. it's a soft top. it goes out bush every weekend and goes where the big 4 wheel drives don't. I love the car.

19th Jul 2005, 11:14

Hi i´m ecuadorian and I have a f20, well, when some friends invited me to a 4x4 adventure trip, I thought that my 1980´s car was too old and... well let´s go. There were 12 cars, and all were about 1999 or newest, but my little tonka was the teacher, I really love my car, it´s a white hard top with many extras, tires, lights, audio system, etc.