Daihatsu Fourtrak Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1998 Daihatsu Fourtrak TDX 1.8 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carDaihatsu Sportrak

Summary:

The best for serious, no frills off roading

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

The Fourtrak Rocky is the best 4x4 we can find.

There have been no problems with it whatsoever, even after missing services.

It can easily put a Land rover Defender in its place, or see off one or two other specialized 4x4's.

It's a shame they where discontinued in 2002 as I would buy another one.

Tows like nothing else I know of, and does not give up easily when under serious pressure.

Excellent for 300000 mile guarantee, and a massive 2.8 liter engine gives it raw power under the bonnet.

It's a unique and powerful car - no other like it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th March, 2004

25th Nov 2004, 14:03

I disagree, I have had my fourtrack for under a year. Admittedly it was second hand, but at 40,000, I expected a workhorse that would last. It has depreciated by over £4000 in the last twelve months. To top it all, the clutch was slipping at 40,000 miles - £600

The Gear box needed a rebuild at 45,000. - £1400.

MMMM - wish I'd never set eyes on it, any of you fans out there want to buy it? Very much for sale.

Next time I'll buy a Mitsubishi, maybe it will manage a reasonable mileage?

28th Feb 2006, 11:27

Fourtrak 2.8 is the best,I've had just about every other 4-4.

21st Jun 2006, 07:18

Just bought a T reg Foutrak having ditched the Mitsubishi L200 - a nightmare of a vehicle- horrendous road handling. A boat. A pig of a truck. Welcome lovely Fourtrak xxx.

15th Feb 2007, 04:20

I recently bought a four trak, T reg, at first I was a little put off by its 'box like' outline, but when you look inside, they are spacious, neat, modern, perfect for children as mine is a 7 seater. Now I love my four trak, it is the best car I have ever owned... drive like a dream, at last driving is a pleasure once again... And for all of you who say they go wrong, I cannot support this either, as I have known the owner from new and there has never been any problems with it, so you must be cursed! :S.

11th Nov 2012, 04:05

I think you were had. It's very unlikely you needed a gearbox rebuild. A very common problem with these is gearbox problems. Almost always sorted by tightening 1 bolt, which works loose.

1989 Daihatsu Fourtrak el 2.8 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.8 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carDaihatsu Fourtrak

Summary:

A cheap tow vehicle, very capable

Faults:

Overheating problem, the cause was a blocked radiator matrix. the front wheel bearing wore out. the front springs had to be replaced, as they were starting to sag.

General Comments:

A good tough tow vehicle, as I regularly tow a tonne and half caravan with no problems. very strong off road. the cabin is a little dated, almost tractor like.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2003

1996 Daihatsu Fourtrak TDX 2.8 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.8 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Shogun

Summary:

Why on earth have they stopped building them?

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Excellent fuel efficiency for a 4 wd vehicle (30+ mpg always).

Good all round duel purpose vehicle.

A little noisey over 70 mph - a little extra sound proofing sorts that though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2002

21st Jun 2006, 07:21

I cannot understand why, for the life of me, Daihatsu stopped making these. It's madness. What an economic blunder. Mind you - perhaps they were too good and turnover was too low!!

1989 Daihatsu Fourtrak LX 2.8 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.8 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance300000 miles
Previous carLand Rover 110 Defender

Summary:

A great reliable, powerful, well looked for 4x4

Faults:

A slight noise as if something is rubbing at the back axle.

The front seat didn't fold forward to get into the back.

Slight rust on the rear panel.

General Comments:

Exellent off road.

Feels great and very responsive to tow.

Powerful engine.

Gives the Defenders a great run for their money.

Sluggish.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2001

1989 Daihatsu Fourtrak DX 2.8 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 2.8 diesel
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

Hard ride due to the leaf spring suspension on this model. Gearbox a bit 'agricultural'. However, had this car for 10 years & covered 150k miles faultlessly. Has never failed an MOT - particulate / emissions test still v good. Excellent for towing, go anywhere vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2000

21st Jul 2004, 14:23

I have had my 1989 Rocky 2.8 Diesel for nearly 5 years now. I would rate the comfort as 8/10, Value for money 10/10, Performance 10/10, offroad ability 10/10, and fuel comsumption 10/10. You don't get much better then 6.2 Litres of diesel per 100 Miles.

You review is good, Great to see many Rocky owners out there. I also have a 1966 Model Series 2a Land Rover.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 12 reviews