1998 Daihatsu Fourtrak TDX 1.8 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

The best for serious, no frills off roading

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

The Fourtrak Rocky is the best 4x4 we can find.

There have been no problems with it whatsoever, even after missing services.

It can easily put a Land rover Defender in its place, or see off one or two other specialized 4x4's.

It's a shame they where discontinued in 2002 as I would buy another one.

Tows like nothing else I know of, and does not give up easily when under serious pressure.

Excellent for 300000 mile guarantee, and a massive 2.8 liter engine gives it raw power under the bonnet.

It's a unique and powerful car - no other like it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th March, 2004

25th Nov 2004, 14:03

I disagree, I have had my fourtrack for under a year. Admittedly it was second hand, but at 40,000, I expected a workhorse that would last. It has depreciated by over £4000 in the last twelve months. To top it all, the clutch was slipping at 40,000 miles - £600

The Gear box needed a rebuild at 45,000. - £1400.

MMMM - wish I'd never set eyes on it, any of you fans out there want to buy it? Very much for sale.

Next time I'll buy a Mitsubishi, maybe it will manage a reasonable mileage?

28th Feb 2006, 11:27

Fourtrak 2.8 is the best,I've had just about every other 4-4.

21st Jun 2006, 07:18

Just bought a T reg Foutrak having ditched the Mitsubishi L200 - a nightmare of a vehicle- horrendous road handling. A boat. A pig of a truck. Welcome lovely Fourtrak xxx.

15th Feb 2007, 04:20

I recently bought a four trak, T reg, at first I was a little put off by its 'box like' outline, but when you look inside, they are spacious, neat, modern, perfect for children as mine is a 7 seater. Now I love my four trak, it is the best car I have ever owned... drive like a dream, at last driving is a pleasure once again... And for all of you who say they go wrong, I cannot support this either, as I have known the owner from new and there has never been any problems with it, so you must be cursed! :S.

11th Nov 2012, 04:05

I think you were had. It's very unlikely you needed a gearbox rebuild. A very common problem with these is gearbox problems. Almost always sorted by tightening 1 bolt, which works loose.

1989 Daihatsu Fourtrak el 2.8 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A cheap tow vehicle, very capable

Faults:

Overheating problem, the cause was a blocked radiator matrix. the front wheel bearing wore out. the front springs had to be replaced, as they were starting to sag.

General Comments:

A good tough tow vehicle, as I regularly tow a tonne and half caravan with no problems. very strong off road. the cabin is a little dated, almost tractor like.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2003

1996 Daihatsu Fourtrak TDX 2.8 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Why on earth have they stopped building them?

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Excellent fuel efficiency for a 4 wd vehicle (30+ mpg always).

Good all round duel purpose vehicle.

A little noisey over 70 mph - a little extra sound proofing sorts that though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2002

21st Jun 2006, 07:21

I cannot understand why, for the life of me, Daihatsu stopped making these. It's madness. What an economic blunder. Mind you - perhaps they were too good and turnover was too low!!

1989 Daihatsu Fourtrak LX 2.8 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A great reliable, powerful, well looked for 4x4

Faults:

A slight noise as if something is rubbing at the back axle.

The front seat didn't fold forward to get into the back.

Slight rust on the rear panel.

General Comments:

Exellent off road.

Feels great and very responsive to tow.

Powerful engine.

Gives the Defenders a great run for their money.

Sluggish.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2001

1989 Daihatsu Fourtrak DX 2.8 diesel from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

Hard ride due to the leaf spring suspension on this model. Gearbox a bit 'agricultural'. However, had this car for 10 years & covered 150k miles faultlessly. Has never failed an MOT - particulate / emissions test still v good. Excellent for towing, go anywhere vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2000

21st Jul 2004, 14:23

I have had my 1989 Rocky 2.8 Diesel for nearly 5 years now. I would rate the comfort as 8/10, Value for money 10/10, Performance 10/10, offroad ability 10/10, and fuel comsumption 10/10. You don't get much better then 6.2 Litres of diesel per 100 Miles.

You review is good, Great to see many Rocky owners out there. I also have a 1966 Model Series 2a Land Rover.