1998 Daihatsu Terios Reviews

1998 Daihatsu Terios from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired200000 kilometres
Most recent distance350000 kilometres

Summary:

Worst car ever, but it makes you a brilliant driver

Faults:

Electronics constantly failing.

Shocks have been replaced 3 times.

Stalls if you go under 20 kph.

Refuses to go above 80 kph.

Brakes have been replaced twice.

Constantly leaking oil.

General Comments:

Great for long distances.

Better suited for country life than the city.

Comfy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th April, 2012

11th May 2012, 16:18

220 000 miles is pretty good for a 1300. You have little to complain about.

1998 Daihatsu Terios sedan 1.3 from Jamaica

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.3 Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Previous carDaihatsu Terios

Summary:

Good enough for me

Faults:

I had an accident.The car skidded off a hill.Crashed in a retaining wall. Needs several front end body parts.

General Comments:

The car is great overall.That's why I want to have it fixed. The parts are really hard to get.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th October, 2008

1998 Daihatsu Terios Standard 1.3L, gas from Colombia

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3L, gas Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired4 kilometres
Most recent distance210000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Sidekick

Summary:

A very durable and reliable compact SUV with great off-road performance

Faults:

Its reliability and quality are really outstanding. I've abused of this car for six years and I never had any problem.

No problems until it passed 200000 Kilometers/125000 Miles.

With this compact SUV I've only worried about replacing its tires (The full-time 4WD consumes the front and rear tires at the same rate), replacing its battery, and putting some oil and gas on it.

General Comments:

I live in Medellin (A three million people city in Colombia-South America), and I have a farm in the mountains. I've tested this car in the city roads, and I often go off-road to the Andes mountains.

City Driving:

Its acceleration is very surprising for a 1.3L car. A very good performance is obtained at very high rpm (The car runs comfortably at up to 7000 rpms) and you'll never have a problem with the engine.

About fuel efficiency you can expect up to 48 Kilometers per Gallon. Gearing is fast, parking and handling is easy and predictable for a 4x4 and It performs well at 100 - 140km/h.

Off-Road Driving:

Every time I go off-road I get surprised. The car is strong going up-hill and very reliable on muddy terrains specially using the differential lock. Good on slippery terrain and sand. Its light and compact, so it can sometimes even go where the big SUVs can't.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2004

29th Apr 2004, 03:19

Hi =) just curious as to what sort of problems you experienced with the Terios after it reached 200000kms?

21st Oct 2004, 13:34

I bought my car in October. There are two critics that I would say about this car. First one is about ergonomic faults.

For example, the open/close buttons for windows at the inner side of the front doors. In my opinion there must be designed in horizontal position. they aren't proper in order to use easily. The second one is driving security on the road. Equilibrium of the car is very sensitive at off-road using. You have a problem on curved road because of the upper placed center of mass. you should decrease your normal speed lower level than other 4x4.

12th Aug 2010, 11:28

Center differential locking is not good for all time driving. I broke my front differential because of different tires. I changed the front differential for 350$ (US). It was an old one. It is running good off road.

1998 Daihatsu Terios SX 1.3 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired61000 kilometres
Most recent distance71000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Magna

Summary:

Uncomfortable, but cheap to run

Faults:

Change the left and right hand side C.V, it was broken.

The rear shock absorbers had changed due to leaking.

General Comments:

The tiny 4WD has no power at all, the 1.3 engine is absolutely not enough power.

The interior plastic trim was really rough.

The engine is noise when it running.

The ride is not smooth, shocks came straight in the car.

This car is a fuel saver.

The seats are uncomfortable.

Easy to maintain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th May, 2003

14th Feb 2012, 17:05

Presumably the car had no power when you bought it, so why buy it and then complain?

1998 Daihatsu Terios 1.3 from Honduras

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired328 kilometres
Most recent distance60450 kilometres
Previous carDaihatsu Charade

Summary:

Amazing little set of wheels, bad dealer

Faults:

The dealer checked the ignition timing endless times but it kept overheating the ignition coils(three pairs already have been replaced), in order to keep a proper operation of the engine the ignition time is set at three degrees b.d.t.

Dealer had no idea how to fix it; any help with my problem will be really appreciated.

General Comments:

Pretty decent car for city drives, parking spaces are no trouble.

You need to keep attention at high speeds, try changing to 16 inch wheels and 245/50/16 tires, it is a great improvement in look as well as in performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2000

30th Apr 2008, 14:22

I desperately need a replacement engin for my 1998 Terios. I enjoyed driving it. would love to have it back on the road.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 5 reviews