2004 Daihatsu Terios Reviews

2004 Daihatsu Terios SX 1.3 from Egypt

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 kilometres
Most recent distance4500 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Lancer

Summary:

One of the best mini SUV

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I fall in love with my Terios car. It's an amazing mini SUV car with extraordinary charisma. Drawbacks are the weak engine (1300cc), and the narrow seats. Otherwise this car is one of the best of its category regarding price, reliability, and mainly charming beauty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2006

28th May 2007, 16:20

The terios2 2007 is very light car and unstable and the service center is not good.

29th May 2008, 08:19

The terios 2 2007, though much stable then the older model, it is still very light & unstable car at speeds over 100 KM/hr and the service center is not all that good.

2004 Daihatsu Terios SX 1.3 from Israel

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3 kilometres
Most recent distance14000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Lancer

Summary:

Amazing vehicle!

Faults:

Nothing much actually.

The alarm beeper was not working after I tried to wash the car engine with water pressure, but hey - I'm the only stupid one who can think of something like that, ha? Anyway, the warranty covered it :)

General Comments:

A greet vehicle!

When I first saw the Terios back in 1999, or it was 1998 (don't sure) I knew - it was love from first look.

Have it for about 2 years, works great, can tune-up when needed, just two things I hate in that car:

A. The gear response is very slow, which makes it everything else besides a sports car.

B. The engine (1300) is way too small for an off-road car, a 1600 or 1800 would be great for it..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st November, 2005

2004 Daihatsu Terios SX 1.3 VVTI gasoline from Greece

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3 VVTI gasoline Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired4 kilometres
Most recent distance2000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

A good and reliable friend

Faults:

The only problem until now is with the speaker-system of the car. The speakers have no tweeter and their quality is low. The dealer of Daihatsu in Greece put a cd-player for free. The quality of the sound was very bad, so I put two tweeters front. Now comes a noise from the front right speaker (not from the back right), when the engine runs. The tweeter has nothing to do with that. The Dealer in Athens told, that it might be the speaker-installation of the car. I don't know and I don't want to harm the car. I would like to know, if other Teriosowners have or had such a problem.

The car is new and I don't know, if I will have other problems. The other problems like noisy aircondition and engine, are not problems for me.

General Comments:

This little car is not like the others. It has a soul. You love it. Its becomes a part of you. With that money I could buy a bigger and stronger car, but nothing like Terios. I'm feeling free and safe with that, specially hier in Crete where the roads are good for cars like Terios and other SUVS.

Terios can do many things. It can go on the sand, in the mud or even on the beach in the seawater!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2004

2nd Dec 2004, 08:42

Strange, I had the same problem in the front right speaker, which I fixed installing bigger speakers in the back and sending to them the 70% of the signal (you can do this with a good CD player), for me, it appears to be a size problem, the front speakers are too small, and when you have a CD player with 50wxchannel, you can hear the noise.

Other problems I have, the lack of spare parts (I crashed my Terios 2004 and the spare parts took 3 months).

It's a good and strong car, I recommend it to anyone who wants to go off-road with no harm to the nature.

Cheers.

7th Dec 2004, 12:45

Thank you for your answer! I will follow your advice. I am sorry about your accident. Good luck and have a nice time with your TERIOS!

15th Jan 2005, 05:00

Could you please tell me why there is no Low Gear?, or its transmission is good enough for off road use (not extreme off road).

8th Jun 2005, 20:57

There are no low and high gears because 1st and 2nd are geared so low you don't need low gearing on this car.

29th Nov 2005, 13:45

First: Could someone tell me whether the Daihatsu Terios 2004/2005 has a galvanised body?

Second: the gear ratio of Daihatsu Terios models prior 2000?

17th Dec 2005, 15:47

I have just bought Toyota Cami (2000) twin sister of Terios. Offroad is great joyride, but on the highway to reach 100 km /hr 5 gear requires 4500 rpm! very noisy...

Is it normal? Please advise to zbig@wenda.org.

16th May 2006, 18:20

Yes is normal to reach 100 km /hr 5 gear requires 4500 rpm.

24th Sep 2008, 16:08

Hi, any info I can get on a Daihatsu Terios 1998?.. I crashed my Daihatsu car and am unable to locate parts, can you help? It's mostly front end parts. Please help me.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 3 reviews