Datsun 1200 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1980 Datsun 1200 Pick- up 1.2 gasoline from Costa Rica

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.2 gasoline Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Previous carSuzuki Samurai

Summary:

If you ever get one, you will never sell it

Faults:

Absolutely nothing. My sister made the battery explode once, but that was because it wasn't tied up well.

General Comments:

It doesn't need a lot of gas. I just put like 15 bucks and that means like a week and a half.

It is very fast for a 4 gear car. I have left newer cars far behind with it.

It is made with the hardest steel you can imagine. I once crashed against a bus and I left unscratched.

It never needs water replacing. The water you see today, is the same you saw months ago; it amazes me until this day.

Compared to new cars, this is what Nissan should have kept making.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th August, 2004

14th Mar 2005, 05:27

High potential for modifications, very reliable.

5th Nov 2006, 01:56

These models dent like tin there made as strong as a pre fab house in a cat..5 cyclone.

5th Nov 2006, 07:31

Yes, I agree with your sentiments about tying your sister down - what did she do, drop a spanner across the terminals?

30th Apr 2009, 12:35

Hi there! I am a 14 year old boy and we have a 1975 ute (cream). I LOVE it and it cannot break!!

1974 Datsun 1200 delux 1.2 from South Africa

Year of manufacture1974
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired230000 kilometres
Most recent distance305000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Skyline

Summary:

Brilliant little car on the whole

Faults:

Cold start's a headache because of carbi which was then replaced with an a14 one.

Inside heater stopped working.

General Comments:

Very, very reliable.

Handles very well with the Tiger mags I have on.

Although the gearbox's a 4 speed, and noisy, very strong and built for rough handling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2004

1971 Datsun 1200 Coupe A15 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1971
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission A15 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles

Summary:

My Datsun 1200 Coupe is worth its weight in gold

Faults:

It took three secondhand gear boxes before I got a good one.

I also had to replace the differential around 40000 miles.

Radiator started leaking, needed replacing at 45000 miles.

Door hinges are also a problem.

General Comments:

The greatest cheapest car I have ever owned, unbeatable value for your thrashing dollar.

Very reliable economical runabout.

Dirt demon for sure and just eats up asphalt.

Underestimated! Was my first car and has outseen a few others, clearly my favourite.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2001

1973 Datsun 1200 B110 2 door Sports Coupe mild A12 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1973
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission mild A12 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2739 miles
Most recent distance36328 miles

Summary:

It's a race car all in all

Faults:

Only stuff that was of my own fault. It was rebuilt with new pistons/rings/bearings etc and freshened head with new valves the week I purchased it. I managed to bend a push rod through over revving of the engine :)

General Comments:

The best car I have ever owned, full stop. Never let me down, I drove it 200+ k's each way nearly every weekend for almost a year, to see my girlfriend and it never once let me down.

It had the power after some modifications to be safe and be able to really turn on the heat when haste was of necessity.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2001

1972 Datsun 1200 1.2 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1972
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Built to be thrashed

Faults:

Rust on the front quarters and in the engine bay above the firewall.

The engine is a little smokey, probably has never had its head off since new.

Original shocks are worn.

General Comments:

Fantastic reliability and low running costs.

Great handling and extreme chuck-ability.

Excellent control under all driving conditions, especially dirt.

An under-estimated driver's car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2001

15th Dec 2005, 23:04

I'm about to buy a 1973 Datsun 1200 2 door coupe with 61000 original miles needs carb rebuilt, but otherwise runs perfect, paint is kinda faded and has only one small dent. The guy wants $300.00, is it worth it??

18th Dec 2005, 19:45

Hel..., er, heck yes! Any time you can get a car that runs and moves under its own power, especially with only 61,000 miles, it's worth it for $300. Of course, you have to be prepared for the possibility that within 6 months after you buy it, it will need some things. All used cars do. Assume you'll have to give it a tune-up, buy a new alternator and starter, replace the belts and hoses, and probably change the engine coolant, transmission fluid, and the brake shoes. Routine maintenance, but stuff that generally has been neglected by somebody selling an old car for $300.

6th Jan 2006, 00:30

One of the best cars I have ever owned! Wish I still had it...30 yrs later!

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 10 reviews