1975 Datsun 120Y 1.2L Leaded from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

I've only driven a few cars (high performance ones to) but nothing is as reliable or cost effective

Faults:

Valve stem cells needed replacing. Blew a bit of smoke as a result of slight oil leakage.

Crack in dashboard.

General Comments:

Sticks to the road like nothing else.

Awesome fuel economy (roughly 500km on the 43L tank)

For a 1171 cc 1975 model a top speed of around 150 km/h is great.

Changed all head gaskets, exhaust gaskets, cleaned push-rods, and replaced valve stem cells in under 3 hours.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2004

1975 Datsun 120Y GL 1.4 Litre from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

You get what you pay for and it lasts forever

Faults:

The Carburetor has had a few problems, but was replaced for $40 Australian.

Radiator was cracked when we bought it.

Has trouble warming up due to the extractors not having a hot box like the original headers.

Large amounts of rust when we bought it.

General Comments:

The Datsun originally had a A12 motor in it, but we have recently put an A14 in. The new motor goes twice as quick with minimal effects on the fuel consumption.

The Front seats are horrible, but can easily be removed and have later model japanese seats put in. I just don't have the money at the moment.

The car only cost me $400 Australian to buy and since have spent around $300 Australian fixing it up and now it looks like it came off the showroom floor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2004

1975 Datsun 120Y 1.2 from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Wouldn't have another car at this stage because of it reliability

Faults:

General wear and tear.

Bad rust.

Cracked dashboard.

Nothing major.

General Comments:

My first car and has proven to be a bargain buy. Cost me $500 and nothing major has gone wrong with it although it's driven long and hard.

It has excellent fuel economy, sometimes I think it runs on air!

Not the best looking car, rust, bad seats, bad body roll, but wouldn't have another car at this stage because of it reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2004

1975 Datsun 120Y 1.2 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

A simple, but great car

Faults:

The base of the carburettor became warped causing stalling and missing.

Brake master cylinder needed rebuilding because of leakage.

General Comments:

The Datsun 120Y is in my opinion is the most reliable, fuel-efficient car I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2003

1975 Datsun 120Y 210B coup 1.2 from Belgium

Summary:

I really want to finish this one, it's a nice and funny car, really gives me a seventies-feeling!

Faults:

I have a lot of rust at the front, which was hidden under the wings and on top of the suspension.

Already changed the brake system (pumps, etc..)

At first site, the engine seems problem-free..we'll see that afterwords, because the poor thing is totally stripped!

General Comments:

All the parts are in pretty fine shape, bought it from an old dude..only..i broke my front windshield and it's hard to find spare parts over here.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th August, 2002

1975 Datsun 120Y Coupe Hatch 1.2L Stock from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Cars aren't made like this anymore

Faults:

New master and rear brake cylinders and lines.

Diaphragm needed replacing (blew smoke for a few hours there!)

Dirty contacts on ignition coil (getting desperate now...)

General Comments:

Get one.

There is no better first car if you can grab one of these classics in good condition. This car has been better than Fords, Holdens, Toyotas, Mercedes as far as reliability goes. It runs every day without fail, is very easy to work on, and book stores will sell you a manual so that even a beginner can work on these cars (like me).

"Oil and Water" is what keeps this car going.

Sure, a moped could probably outrun it, but who's on a drag strip?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2002

26th Jul 2002, 03:02

I acquired my Datsun 120y coupe, first registered November 1974, in 1983, and still love it today. Has original 149.000km on the clock, all original specs except the mag wheels.. Big compromise was the auto, it de-powers it badly.

One Happy New Zealand woman owner.

27th Feb 2007, 21:40

Never had One of these myself, but My Aunt had One of these which was later traded for a Datsun 260Z 2+2.This was the first of many Datsuns and Nissans into my family. The latest is my 2006 Tiida ST Automatic Hatchback which is the modern day version of the 120Y, SUNNY AND PULSAR.

1975 Datsun 120Y B210 A12 from Sri Lanka

Summary:

She aint pretty, but she's reliable as sunset

Faults:

Nothing apart from the regular wear and tear.

Mechanically it has not given much trouble.

I do get some noise in the steering around fast sharp corners.

Oh hang on the glove box fell off, but I could just put it back no fuss.

General Comments:

It's bloody reliable.

Put in a new points set.

And replaced original radiator cap after 27 years.

It still has the original toshiba headlamps and they work fine.

Great on fuel consumption.

Upholstry is looking good.

It has been my family since 1975 and we have not yet taken the engine apart.

Good handling for car that weighs around 800Kg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2002