Datsun 180B Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1972 Datsun 180B sss 1.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1972
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 miles
Most recent distance390000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Type II

Summary:

Fun to drive

Faults:

Clutch. gearbox 250000 miles.

General Comments:

Great all round car. When played with the right ways, can beat most cars on the track. (in its day)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2003

1978 Datsun 180B GL 1.8 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired238123 kilometres
Most recent distance239586 kilometres

Summary:

A cheap thrash car

Faults:

A wire came off the distributor.

Seat belts have frayed badly.

Headlights don't always work.

Seat position adjuster has broken.

Driver side window has smashed.

Passenger door handle has broken.

General Comments:

This is a great car for driving in the paddock.

The engine goes hard and has never broken down since I have had it.

The rear wheels have little traction in the wet, especially when the car is facing up hill.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th May, 2003

20th Jun 2006, 05:38

The headlight problem is more than likely a fuse issue. I suffered the same problem for a while... I discovered it was just a fuse AFTER I replaced the alternator (there were other problems aswell though).

I know where you can get a driver's side window. I don't know how old this comment is, but if you're still interested post another message...

1974 Datsun 180B SSS 1.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1974
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired250000 kilometres
Most recent distance270000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Acclaim

Summary:

Super cheap and fun motoring

Faults:

I have completed a restoration of the vehicle, the only things mechanically which required replacement were:

-brake master cylinder

-radiator

-voltage regulator

-alternator.

Engine and transmission is running smoothly, even after more than 250000kms.

General Comments:

I had a 180B sedan as my first car, ever since I sold it I have wanted another one. About 9 months ago I managed to find an original 180B SSS (2 door coupe) which I have restored.

With the SSS factory enhancements such as twin SU carburettors, 5 speed transmission, tachometer, intermittent wipers etc.. it is more user friendly and easier to drive than the sedan.

The car is fantastic to drive, it's great fun! Also VERY easy to fix and work on, and super cheap to run.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2003

20th Oct 2004, 03:35

I fully agree with your comments. I have had my 180B SSS for almost 15 years. It is always maintained at the correct service intervals and is a fun car to drive. I am only the 2nd owner and I knew the original owner well. I still have the warranty and log books.

20th Jun 2006, 05:27

I have a Datsun 180B sedan GL or GX (I am not sure which one I was sold & don't know what the difference is!) In the past 2 years I have had her, she has cost me very little in repairs. Have needed to replace: battery, carburetor, alternator, a fuse, a piece of rubber tubing, the back wheels, the drivers window, and 2 x Starter Motors! My latest is the Master Cylinder & brake pads... getting them tomorrow. Go the DATO!!!

12th May 2007, 01:13

I have a 1974 Datsun 610 (known as the 180B in Australia and UK (NZ and other places too.)

It is an excellent car. The IRS suspension and the powerful motor make it a pleasure to drive.

With some performance suspension and a set of twin DCOE Weber carburetors , it flies!

The 610/180B came to the US without the twin SU set up, so we missed that part. Also, we missed the very cool round gauges early 180BSSS have.

Excellent car, strong and if maintained, a car for ever.

Potential for fast road car, rallye car, and a beautiful restored classic car too. High five!

16th Oct 2009, 01:06

Hi, we are looking for a 1975 180b bonnet and boot lid. Gold Coast. Any help please??

1977 Datsun 180B GL 1.8 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired177000 kilometres
Most recent distance185000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Valiant

Summary:

This 180B is a very good car

Faults:

Datsun 180B

Paid $400 for this car. It was licenced and is A1 mechanically.

Not much has gone wrong.

Needs new radiator, it's got rust on the bottom of the doors and in the boot.

Apart from that, the rust isn't too bad.

Rear axle's slightly bent from hitting the curb.

Broken front windscreen.

Needs new springs on all wheels.

Clutch is still good, but the gear box is starting to loosen up.

The motor is a L18, a very strong motor can tow just about anything.

General Comments:

Shakes a bit at high speeds, has quite good handling in the wet, but if over powered can spin out.

It's on its second motor, 25 years old, still runs straight and is running very strong.

This motor would go on for ever.

A very very reliable car, not much can go wrong when everything is made of steel and doesn't have many electrics.

However the car would be best suited with a 5 speed gearbox instead of the 4 speed, because at a 110km/h it's doing about 4500rpm.

A very good car - (Datsun 180B)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th June, 2002

17th Jul 2003, 04:04

I had a 1978 Datsun 180B (810) station wagon for about seven years from 1987 - was an ex rental automatic - utterly and totally bombproof, reliable and went most places it was pointed at, road handling was average being leaf sprung suspension at the rear.

The L18 petrol motor was still going strong at 230,000 odd kilometres when replaced with an LD 20 diesel and 5 speed box for economy reasons.

Being on the West Coast when it was sold, I fear the rust may have knocked the wagon off!

12th May 2004, 05:20

Sounds like a bomb, yet since I am only 17 what else can I afford other than a bomb?? well? cheap car is what I need.

24th Jul 2004, 20:33

I got bought a '77 Datsun in 2001 for $100 and I neglected it since 2003 when I got a 76 in better condition. I am now keeping the '77 for wrecking and I'm keeping the engine/drive train/suspension etc. as spares (not that I'll ever need them) the 180Bs have taken a fair beating from me, I used to chase kangaroos around the paddock with them and take it for a hoon around the bush, I was very surprised at how well it handles the pot holes (thank you independent coil suspension.

I'm not afraid to spend a load of money on my '76 because it truly is a great work of engineering and looks awesome.

The only problems are, rust at the bottoms of the doors and brakes are a bit weak in design, could use a better clutch system. Water seems gets in near the pedals. I'm going to fix it and garage it. Maybe paint it bright green as well.

23rd Apr 2006, 20:17

After a string of poor quality BMC cars I went with the 180B in 1976. It was a revelation. No more water leaks, utterly reliable. I was used to BMC cars stretching back to Morris Oxfords and Austin 1800s finally the Kimberley (shudder). This car was right for me as a commuter car and for occasional touring. Unfortunately I came a cropper crossing William St, Sydney, one night when a driver, talking to her companion, ran across a red light. So after repair I replaced it with a 200B, an utter disappointment.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 8 reviews