Datsun 240Z Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1970 Datsun 240Z 2.4 Inline 6 cylinder. from North America

Year of manufacture1970
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 Inline 6 cylinder. Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco

Summary:

A fun, affordable mini-muscle car

Faults:

Body metal is thin, and dents very easily. It also rusts very readily.

Steering is heavy at low speeds. This is not a car for drinking coffee while driving.

The "flow-through" ventilation system sucks exhaust into the car. I have to run the fan to keep a positive pressure in the car. This was largely corrected on later models.

General Comments:

This is a quick, light car in the tradition of old British sports cars, but far, far more reliable.

Old Z-cars are not for timid drivers. They love to be driven hard, and need a bit of a lead foot to really handle well. No coasting around corners.

Old 240-Zs are not "chick-magnets". I don't know why, but if you want to attract the girls, get a mustang.

For the relatively low price these cars fetch, they are hard to beat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2003

3rd Mar 2005, 15:57

I suppose it depends on the age of the "chick" for it to be a magnet. I know when my husband purchased his 1970 240Z it was fabulously sexy. The insurance companies did not know what to make of this car so they insured it as a station wagon. Pretty cheap until they wised up. So, if you're looking for a chick magnet with this car, age of the chick is a factor :)

12th May 2005, 10:06

They are still chick magnets, I showed a picture of one to a 18 year old female friend of mine, and she thought it was a very beautiful car, and man, why did you have to say the M word? My roommates 240Z blew the doors off a mustang, and not just kinda, and when the road got twisty, it wasn't even a contest, so please, no Mustangs around one of the greatest cars on the planet. If you haven't guessed, I despise Mustangs, they are horrible cars, the newer ones are better, but anything older then the 2005 models, make me sick. I have seen a Camaro, with its live axle rear end out corner a newer Cobra with its independent rear suspension. But I can say, anyone who wants a drivers car, get a 240Z, or really any of the older Z cars before the 300ZX, and have fun.

19th Oct 2006, 17:44

Let me give you some advice there buddy- don't change the look of your classic z car because of what some girl thinks.

20th May 2009, 19:51

Stock Z bumpers look stupid, change them ASAP. Otherwise it's very beautiful car. Early 240z bumpers aren't too bad, but still get rid of them, who needs bumpers anyways, just don't crash and you will be fine.

1971 Datsun 240Z 2.4 litre straight 6 from United Arab Emirates

Year of manufacture1971
First year of ownership1976
Most recent year of ownership1977
Engine and transmission 2.4 litre straight 6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 kilometres
Most recent distance95000 kilometres
Previous carHillman Super Minx

Summary:

Vroom!!!

Faults:

Rust!! In the humid Dubai climate, this white car always had brown showing!

Air conditioner controls would stick.

Plug leads were routed through retainers built into the alloy cam-cover. A spray of WD40 was almost mandatory on the most humid days.

Front brake job was tough, you try working on a car at 125 degrees!!!

General Comments:

I loved this car, my first ever sporty model. I only sold it because I had to leave the country. I would buy another in a heartbeat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2003

1970 Datsun 240Z 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1970
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired139000 miles
Most recent distance259000 miles
Previous carDatsun BMW 2002

Summary:

A sexy looking, powerful,able to take great punishment and a reliable machine for budget gourmets.

Faults:

This 240Z was driven just on weekends, I purchased the car in 1990 from an attorney, who had the car for 15 years, he had bought it from his best friend, the original owner. Actually, my car was manufactured in 1969. The car had fine compression, but the head gasket appeared to have at one time leaked a bit, so rather than test it, I had a mechanic replace it. The head gasket never leaked again.

General Comments:

This is one fine driving machine, white exterior, sleek long nose, high kamm back end, radical side profile. After the first month, I installed 15x7 inch wide rims, zero offset and 215/60/15 tires and a 1 inch front sway bar and 7/8 inch rear sway bar. Fantastic handling was the result, more taut than a good condition 1988 BMW M3, maybe not as communicative, but the body rolled less. I have driven both. Handling good enough for autocrossing and driving on most free way on-ramps at double the posted speed limit (up to 35 mph= 70 mph) amazing for an inexpensive car. Dead reliable, would get a squeal from the tires on an up shift to 3rd gear at 5500 rpms with the 215/60/15 tires. After I had the engine rebuilt with hi-performance cam, 280z valves, stock carburetor headers, low restriction exhaust, and a shaved flywheel, 3.90 rear end from a 1980 280zx and a 5 speed from a 280Z, it would pull 7400 rpms in 3rd gear with octane booster, run right past 6500 rpms in 4th gear, pulling like an electric motor. Easy to maintain motor, with a power band from 4500 rpms to 6500+ rpms. 20miles per gallon as is. Dream: Triple side draft webers would be the cream.

Easily a super bargain. There is not enough room to tell you about the Tokico 5 way adjustable Illumina shock absorbers and matching springs... just delicious on the track or auto cross.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2002

1st May 2003, 02:43

Thanks for the review, I found it to be very helpful. Good to know that parts for upgrades are seemingly readily available and that the car's basic structure seems to age gracefully. Would like more detailed information from the writer of the review if that is possible, as I'm considering purchase, and have never owned a Z car before.

kjtar@earthlink.net.

5th Jul 2003, 17:40

Thanks for the great review! IT is so amazing that this car is still so sweet after more than 30yrs. of driving. MY eternal question is always, "does the car look like just some old 70's car some teenager bought because it was cheap, or does this car still impress with its amazing driving capabilities as well as its looks???" I have a '71 240 and want very badly to restore it (completely refurbish) but I don't want it to be a waste. I know that it wouldn't be a waste to refurbish such a great running car, but would it be worth it to restore it back to a beautiful car???

Dannysroom692002@yahoo.com <<< please e-mail me with any comments, anybody. Thank you.

4th Jun 2005, 02:04

It would definitely be worth your while to restore your old 240Z, if rust hasn't taken too much of a toll on the car.

The Datsun 240Z is really getting to be really rare! After much searching, I have had the good fortune to have found a 1972 240Z recently, with an unbelievably little amount of rust in the usual spots, no body filler, and basically original condition. It was the best $2500 I ever spent! She drives like a dream, and I certainly will keep her forever.

All in all, the Old '70 thru '78 Datsun Z cars are amazing to see and drive. The straight 6 cylinder motor in the old Z cars is arguably the most reliable motor ever made. I have never owned one with less than 150K on it, and I have had up to 256K original on one particular car (orig. motor!) at the time of it's sale... It ran!

Good Luck!

Jim.

1971 Datsun 240Z 2.4 litre overhead cam. from North America

Year of manufacture1971
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 litre overhead cam. Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A high performance gas saver on rails

Faults:

Routine brake jobs as needed.

Seats are pretty shot, and flattened out.

Gas tank vent lines have needed replacement.

Rubber seals have come to be looser around windows and hatchback.

General Comments:

The car handles extremely nice.

Car is very fast, with good low end torque.

Steering is great, but can be a burden without the power steering.

For as much power provided, the car is very quiet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2002

1973 Datsun 240Z 2.4 inline 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1973
Engine and transmission 2.4 inline 6
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Standard carbs were horrible, emission certified things, and replaced with Webs.

General Comments:

I've been in many sports cars. Though many were faster, none were nearly as fun to drive as the 240Z. Excellent handling, with 50/50 weight distribution. Classic looks. The only problem I have with this car is that it was mass produced!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 1998

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 9 reviews