Datsun 240Z Reviews

1971 Datsun 240Z HS30 L28 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1972
Year of manufacture1971
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission L28 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 miles
Most recent distance230000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

I wish cars were still made like this

Faults:

The only problem has been the distributor's electronic module, which was not a standard item on a 240z, but was on the later 280zx.

General Comments:

The 240z is a heavily underrated machine, especially in Australia, although general opinions are changing.

Excellent handling with minor modifications and improvements.

Very reliable. Can always get it to start and runs like clockwork.

Extremely satisfying to drive, I've never driven a car that's more fun; even high power output turbo's.

The only downside to a 240z is the cabin and original seats. They look great, but are not very comfortable when old and saggy. I about to fit some Recaros.

The fumes in the cabin can be a problem, but replacing all rubber seals around windows and hatch and rear tail lights will greatly reduce this problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2005

1970 Datsun 240Z 2.4 inline 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1970
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 inline 6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired98551 miles
Most recent distance106953 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Best investment I've ever made

Faults:

Replaced the radiator.

Replaced the brake hoses.

Replaced spark plugs and distributor wires.

Also replaced the points in the distributor with pertronix and replaced the coil with a pertronix flame thrower coil.

Interior is pretty well maintained, dash is cracked which is pretty common and the seats are pretty worn in.

A slight bit of rust on the passenger front fender.

New 205/60r14 tires.

General Comments:

I bought my Z for a mere $2,000 dollars. I got a good deal on it because it was a friend of the family's. It was sitting in his garage for 8 years, it had a few problems, but nothing too big. When I bought it I kept it in my garage and worked on to get it in running condition for about 2 or 3 months. I replaced a few of the major things (ie. radiator, brake hoses, tires). and added a few of my own touches front strut bar, pertronix, flame thrower coil, and a few others as well. Its also funny because people are surprised that a girl drives this car, I get a lot of people wanting to race me.

Too sum things up this car has definitly been worth the money that I've put into it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2004

30th Jun 2004, 02:51

Good luck with your Z! I've wanted one since I was a kid back in the '70s. It still looks gorgeous and way better than the 350Z.

Cheers.

3rd Nov 2004, 16:38

I love girls that drive zcars.

11th Jul 2005, 15:48

Haha! People are surprised because you rarely see women driving these cars. There should be more that drive them... many more ;). Have fun and keep the faith; these cars are only getting more and more rare.

Mike (Camarillo, CA)

1971 Datsun 240Z from North America

Year of manufacture1971
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carDatsun 510

Summary:

If you find a good one, try not to sell it

Faults:

Replaced the clutch upon purchase.

General Comments:

I bought 2 of these cars at the same time for $1500.00. After replacing the clutch in one of them, I drove this car daily for 2-3 years while working and attending college. Classic Japanese lines derived from analysis of the American consumer and European body styling. The in-line six is pleasing to the sense of sight and sound, especially between 2800 and 4000 rpm in second and third gear. Engineering of the car allowed for easy repairs and replaceable mechanical parts. The cockpit is comfortable and cavernous. Be advised to inspect the floorboards and wheel wells for rust and stick with the original bell top dual side draft carburetors. In sum, the 240z is a good example of what new manufacturers should produce now; a strong, nimble, spartan, economical sport/muscle car with classic lines and a driving personality.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2004

1973 Datsun 240Z 2.4L Naturally aspirated from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1973
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4L Naturally aspirated Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired128000 miles
Most recent distance146000 miles
Previous carFord American Granada

Summary:

A sexy beast that is fun to drive and cheap to insure

Faults:

Faulty radiator - minor leaks due to crooked fan that collided with radiator when engine was given excess revs. Caused minor leaks in radiator -easily fixed.

The car was susceptible to overheating in hot weather in heavy traffic, this was cured by going to the local scrap yard and installing an electric fan from a Mazda 323 and adding a temperature sensor.

Overheating though managed to cause damage to the head after a long journey and due to loss of some fluids, combination caused head gasket to go and therefore to be redone.

Eventually I got the radiator recored and this managed to get rid of the heating issues once and for all, I could travel down the M25 and sit there for hours after thrashing down the M4 and the car would purr away at running temp.

Electrics were a bit faulty initially, when I say it was faulty, it always ran, although sometimes power was inconsistent.

This took a long time to get right, first I replaced the leads, followed by the spark plugs. It began to get better, next I replaced the coil and power was visibly more consistent. Next I went through the wiring with a friend of mine and we managed to iron out the majority of the rest of the electrical niggles.

This process was well worth it and took little time in comparison with reward. Power output was noticeably quicker. The car could reach 127mph again.

General Comments:

The Datsun is a good looking sexy car, the lines are beautiful and I am more than happy to say that since this car, Datsun or Nissan have not come to close to something that looked this good. The 350Z just doesn't quite have the prowess of the 240Z.

The cars wheelbase is short combined with the naturally aspirated 2.4L engine gives a twitchy, fun car to drive. The engine roars rather than growls and sounds fantastic.

In addition it's rear wheel drive and that can always bring a smile to one's face. Sideways can be fun in this car, although the short wheelbase can lead to some nervous moments if you're not quick.

Check the brake balancing as this can be a little off and lead to some interesting heavy braking where the car turns sideways.

Look for rusted sills, rusted floor-pans under the passenger side carpet, oil leaks from the side of the head. Also check for general running, if you can floor it and it accelerates cleanly without stuttering up to 6000 then it's good to go.

For a 70's car, it has all the mod-cons, combined with great reliability. There are only so many classics that you can drive every day and don't break down on you. Find a good one and you will be rewarded with a car you will never want to sell.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2004

14th Oct 2005, 02:15

Hi there, I was just reading your comment and was very intrigued. Although yours being a 73 I still took every point you mentioned into consideration. I'm trying to restore a 72z and as you described the rust issue can be quite tricky to pick up on. Although, Rather than the stocker engine I elect to go with the chevy small block 350 with some fine tuning done. The biggest problem I find with the performance is the 4 speed gear box. This causes more rpm, which leads to more fuel consumption and higher engine wear. But anyways back to the point, thank you for writing such an in-depth description of your car and the way it operates.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 9 reviews