1983 Datsun 280ZX Reviews

1983 Datsun 280ZX 2+2 T-Top 2.8 from South Africa

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired318000 kilometres
Most recent distance319859 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

280ZX, my favourite ride of all time!!

Faults:

The dash is cracked above the speedo, my cold start is failing, it has a clutch fluid leak inside by the pedal area, and worn out shocks.

General Comments:

I absolutely love this car. I live in South Africa, and my dad got his hands on an 1968 Camaro, and that's where my passion for muscle cars got started.

And now I've got an Japanese muscle car, absolutely no complaints except for the above. This car is in great condition, and has no rust on it. I am the youngest owner of the car, previous were 50+ years old, and they really looked after this car.

I have never raced it, and don't want to, because I LOVE this car, I don't wanna mess my baby up. The engine has a lot of kilometers on it, but damn this engine is one tough mother! It is still smooth, and sounds like a 6 cylinder symphony.

The only thing I have changed on her is the stereo; next are the speakers.

Guys, if you have a chance to get one, then do not even think, just do it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2011

5th Jun 2012, 04:56

Just a update on my car... fixed the clutch leak, sorted out the dash and overhauled the engine. Now the car is just wow! New cars can't compete. Once you drive a Z, then you will never want another car!

6th Jun 2012, 07:15

I went from a 1982 280zx to a Corvette C5 6 speed LS1. A logical progression.

1983 Datsun 280ZX 2+2 from North America

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1983
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance220726 miles
Previous carDatsun vw bug

Summary:

Most reliable automobile ever made

Faults:

The car is awesome. It has never left me stranded and still runs like a dream. The best car I have ever owned.

General Comments:

The car is very comfortable.

The 280ZX is the most reliable car ever made.

After have it for almost 25 years - it is my best friend.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2008

8th May 2009, 23:07

I owned a 280ZX for about 7 years. It never left me stranded. Only replaced a couple of ball joints and the water pump at 24 years of age. I'd agree that it would be one the most reliable cars ever... and I drove mine hard too sometimes. A bit expensive on fuel... but what a car.

11th Aug 2010, 11:54

I lost my A/C entirely when mine was 6 years old, and at the 50000 mile mark I had a 82 280ZX 2 plus 2. The insurance was steep for this one at the time, but I liked it.

29th May 2013, 08:52

I am looking for a Nissan 280zx ball joint. Where can I find it in South Africa?

1983 Datsun 280ZX Coupe L28 from North America

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission L28 Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired128000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Wagoneer

Summary:

Cool, very cool car

Faults:

Rust would never sleep. Engine had a surging problem at cruise that Nissan dealer could not diagnose. T-tops leaked. Clutch slave cylinder went out. Interior plastic deteriorated to powder. Roof line was too low - visors were at eye brow height, and I'm only 5'9".

General Comments:

Mine was a 2 seat, t-top with 5 speed. With the except of the problems noted, this was a neat car. One of the best looking cars ever. Great handling and shifting. The big in-line 6 reved super smooth and strong, and had an awesome sound. I'd like to get another one someday.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st August, 2006

1983 Datsun 280ZX 2+2 inline six cylinder from North America

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission inline six cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance182000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Awesome. Just like the original ads said

Faults:

My Z-car ran perfectly all way up to at least 160,000 miles.

The front suspension is gone, the struts need replacing, the rack and pinion is shot, but that to be expected with the mileage.

The fuel injectors are starting to leak slightly, but the car still starts and runs fine.

The body only has minor rust, luckily I live in central Florida which is somewhat rust preventative. No road salt.

The paint is the original red and is very faded and needs work.

The seats are OK, but the carpet need to be replaced.

General Comments:

I will never sell this car.

Although it needs a lot of restoring, I am the second owner and the car has never been wrecked.

The engine and transmission are in great condition, even with 180,000 miles on them.

I am definitely going to start restoring this car this year 2006, and can't wait to get started.

I am going to fix the mechanicals first, and the the paint and body work.

I am just going to fix one thing at at time until it is done.

This car has an awesome body style and is fairly quick once reaching 3500 rpm's.

I am going to have a good friend do the paint and body work, and return it to its original red color.

I love the idea of having this car restored, because of the z legend and you don't see hardly any older z's on the road anymore.

My car looks bad now, but it is definitely easily restoreable and very fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2006

5th Jan 2006, 08:44

Good luck with your restore I have a 1983 toyota supra.

Like the z car there is not much of them on the road.

I two restored my car one thing at a time.

Not done, but did a lot I like the old 240 -280 and supras.

I wish I had room at my place to buy a 280 but one car is all I have room for. like to read comments as restore goes on.

25th Jan 2006, 12:18

Hey my and my friends got two 280z one a 1977 and the other a 1983 283zx we are in high school and we are restoring them they are crazy fast. I love those cars and will never sell mine.

13th Sep 2006, 20:48

I just bought a 280ZX. It's awesome, I love it.

I am slowly restoring it too. Just got the mechanical side of things all done, and can't wait to get it sprayed.

I'm never going to sell it, just love it too much!

22nd Feb 2007, 06:50

I own a 83 280zx, just got done totally restoring it. I've wanted one since I was 11, I'm 18 now and have been working on this car for 4 years. Mines white, with black trim. I love this car. You just don't see cars that look and feel like the datsun z series anymore.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 17 reviews