1980 Datsun 310 GX 2.0 Lt 4 cylinder. from North America


A great little beater I'd recommend to anyone, and it must've been a great car when new..


Tachometer went out at 186,000 So my mileage is only mileage I've accumulated. I have no idea the the actual mileage is.

Exhaust has extensive rust. (going to take care of this this weekend, at a friends shop)

Backfires occasionally.

Needs clutch plate... Soon.

General Comments:

I love this little thing. It's not the fastest, or the most maneuverable thing on the road, but BOY does it have personality. I got mine for $350 off craigslist, and it came a faded (but not terribly) maroon with maroon interior (with almost a... Mexican blanket? inspired stripe along your shoulders) After getting it on the road, I realized it needed a bit of work to the clutch and stuff, but I've been told the parts are cheap.

It's as comfortable as any car I've ever owned, and I have to give high marks to Datsun/Nissan for designing a very modern looking interior, with comfy seats, almost 28 years ago...

The engine still runs strong, but it burns a bit of oil (something I suspected when I bought the car.)

I bought the car to replace an older car that I just couldn't stand. Since buying the car, I've painted the while car flat black, tinted the windows 5% and put a decent system in. I drive everywhere because it gets 39 miles to the gallon. basically, for 350... you don't get a better deal. I'd definitely recommend one to a friend, especially if you can get a cheap one. They're a lot of fun, and are a good looking car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2007

4th Feb 2007, 08:21

You bought a 28 year old car to replace an--older--car? lol.

Never saw a tachometer that kept track of miles before, must have been unique to this model...

4th Feb 2007, 19:35

As a teenager my friends Dad had one of these. Man it was great!Back in the mid 80's it was old looking, but very cool cause we could drive around all night for next to nothing in gas money. I would buy today if I could find one.

6th Feb 2007, 08:24

Wow. Where do you live? These cars are extinct in some parts of the country. Must be in Florida or the west coast. That would be a fun car to have for that reason alone.

26th Oct 2010, 17:42

I owned 79 310 GX. I brought new in Red Deer Alberta and took it with me to Germany. It was white with a black targa band and red interior. It was one of the best cars that I owned. Great fun to drive and excellent gas mileage. Sold it when I left Germany in 1982.

1981 Datsun 310 GX 1.4L from North America


It ain't no McDonald's (McDonald's sucks), but I'm lovin it.


The engine that came stock in the 1981 Model year of the 310 GX was actually a 1.5L. However, when my dad bought the car, the engine had been overheated so bad it seized up. So it was replaced with a 1.4L from a 1980 model year 310. After my dad drove it to and from work (about 40 miles a day) and on the occasional trip to my grandparents house, he finally drove the piston rings out of it. I got the car from him when I turned 15 as it sat in the backyard.

-Rebuilt the motor (1.4L)

-Replaced shift linkage (4spd. manual)

-Interior plastics are deteriorating.

-Parts are really hard to find seeing as how it was only manufactured for approx. 3 years.

-Replaced Speedo Cable.

-Replaced passenger side door handle.

-Various fuses.

-Front seats are more or less shot.

General Comments:

I just flat out love this car. My dad had it for the longest time before he finally gave it to me. He gave it to me in much less that street legal condition. We had a lot of fun watching him drive down the street, turn around, and then floor it, only to see how much blue smoke would roll out.

The car still has work that needs to be done, but I am perfectly willing and capable of doing it.

I can wait till I get it on the road. It is metallic brown in color... which isn't a very common color at all, let alone the fact that I have only seen 2 other 310GXs on the road in Salem Oregon. Both of which are silver.

It runs like a top and starts every time and handles like a beauty. Even with the 13" rims. Which I will most likely end up replacing for some good looking ones.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2005

31st Mar 2006, 16:11

Actually that dark brown color was pretty common on those old Datsuns, but at least it held up better than the silver or that medium metallic blue, which seemed to fade as soon as the car was driven off the dealer lot.