Datsun 310 Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1979 Datsun 310 from North America

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1984
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

A great dependable little car

Faults:

This car has few faults. I have had minor problems with the linkage in the five speed transmission.

General Comments:

This 1979 Datsun 310 could have gone to the Moon and back. The engine is unstoppable. The car starts rain or shine and get over 35 m.p.g. This car has been very dependable and economical to run. My wife and kids could not say enough about me owning this little "blue bomb". I have been able to use the car like a "Texas pickup", for hauling everything. The hatchback gives you all the room to haul a refrigerator. The sadness that I have today,after twenty years of owning this car, is having to say "goodbye". This car has been steady at the wheel as President Reagan was. If I would have said to this Datsun, "Tear down this wall" she would have given all to do it. I am parting with this car as I have donated it to Volunteers of America. My Datsun will be greatly missed in our yard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2004

1980 Datsun 310 GX from North America

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1980
Most recent year of ownership1987
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles

Summary:

Now old - deserving a caring owner - generations to come can see how Japan took on Detroit!

Faults:

Constant Velocity (CV) joints bad @75K.

General Comments:

Oh how I loved this car! Yes it was my first brand new from the dealer car.

I've owned many cars, (ranging from new Mercedes to beater trucks) before and since, but this car will always hold a special spot. 7 years, using it for 4 of those every day in work... it was always sharp looking, ran like a top and cheap as can be to run.

In the hatchback mode it did everything it was asked... act as a moving truck or with its 5 speed and front wheel drive... stylish tour vehicle getting through any weather.

Gold paint with black trim and the hatch, with comfortable front seats, enough room to squeeze guests in the back 2 fold downs if needed. living in Phoenix proved it may have had (the all important) best air conditioning in the world.

No it isn't really powerful, nor super handling, but through those 7 years of ups and downs... it was simply the only thing I could (and inevitably did) rely on, especially through the worst of times.

Please, if you find one, give it a good home.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2004

13th Mar 2004, 21:07

I have an 81 Datsun 310 GX hatchback and I just wanted to say I agree in full on what you say about 310. Its true, they are perfect for any day of the year. I have recently converted my exhaust to 2' with an afterburner performance muffler. The thing sounds awesome. From one 310 lover to another. I salute you!

Blake

Vancouver, Canada.

1979 Datsun 310 GX from North America

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership1992
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.3 / 10
Previous carDatsun Volkswagon

Summary:

Worst car I ever owned

Faults:

3 clutches in 3 years

Alternator, Starter, ignition switch, replaced engine for multiple oil leaks, broken strut (twice)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th January, 2004

10th Jan 2004, 13:56

3 "cluthes" in 3 years means either whoever put the clutch in did not know what the hell they were doing, or you did not know how to drive a car with a manual transmission.

As for those other problems, the car was 10 years old already when you bought it, any car that age is going to have problems, especially with high mileage, which information you neglected to mention.

And what is a "Datsun Volkswagon"??

1980 Datsun 310 GL 1.4 NA from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 NA Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 kilometres
Most recent distance320000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz E-Class

Summary:

Indestructible in unmolested form

Faults:

The poor girl is worn out. Exchanged the 4-speed manual for a 3-speed auto. Bad move, fuel economy is not as good.

Automatic choke takes some time to warm.

Not well suited to air-con conversion.

Plastic starting to bio-degrade.

RUST!!!

General Comments:

Fantastic car, but running out of parts.

Good for modifications.

14"X6.5JJ alloy wheels chew ball joints.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2001

1980 Datsun 310 GX 1.4 L from North America

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired250000 miles
Most recent distance280000 miles
Previous carDatsun 310 GX

Summary:

Very dependable for an old car

Faults:

Door handle had to be replaced.

Alternater is a Chevy part, but works just fine.

Various fuses don't work.

Seats are worn out.

General Comments:

Rough riding car and not the best handling, but very dependable even at almost 300,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2001

11th Mar 2012, 14:45

I have a nice 1980 Datsun 310GX. I'm in Chihuahua, Mexico. I need the front grille. Can you please tell me where I can buy it?

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 15 reviews