1977 Datsun B210 AH14 from North America

Summary:

Love it, can't wait to have it restored to factory original

Faults:

Front brake pads.

Front end bushings.

Exhaust.

General Comments:

Starts every time, not bad for a 33 year old car.

Every time I drive it I get looks and smiles. Just today a little old lady parked beside us at a red light rolled her window down and asked us about the car, and said it was beautiful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2010

1981 Datsun B210 from North America

Summary:

Tough, durable, and made to last, with good mpg

Faults:

The light switch is bad because of dry rot.

Alternator belt broke this morning (mechanic installed belt upside down and it broke).

Needs a muffler (age).

Rust on body (dry rot from moldings).

General Comments:

This car was my grandmother's (RIP) car. My grandfather bought the car for her brand new. Of course she only went to the store and church in the car. The car has not been out of the state of Alabama.

I will be fixing the rust spots and painting it soon. Of course with 20200 miles the car is just being broken in!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2008

1981 Datsun B210 Station Wagon 1.3 from North America

Summary:

This car is a very reliable car!!

Faults:

The window washer motor no longer works.

General Comments:

The car looks as though it just came out of the show room when it is cleaned up. Runs great and with the price of gas it should be worth more than it is. This car just does not want to die. Even though parts are getting harder to find, it is still fairly easy to fix.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th October, 2005

3rd Nov 2005, 17:39

Uh-huh. You've owned the car 22 years and only put 3000 miles on it in all that time? that's about 136 miles PER YEAR.

Has it ever left your driveway?

13th Mar 2006, 22:52

By 1980 the "B" was dropped from the name and was simply the 210. The B210 line never had a wagon... sorry!

1980 Datsun B210 Delux Wagon A14 (1.4L) from North America

Summary:

A great car for a low budget

Faults:

The front U-joint on the drive shaft was shot when I bought the car. It broke on the first day of owning it. We fixed it the same day.

One of the heater hoses blew out causing it to overheat, but that was nothing I couldn't fix with some tape to get home.

Driver side seat was totally shot. We replaced all the seats with a nice set from a Datsun 510 wagon.

It really needs rear shocks right now.

Replaced the stock 4speed with a 5speed for better fuel mileage.

UPDATED: 6th February 2009

The headgasket blew at 269k.

The 510 seats I put in it have gone bad. I replaced them with a set from a 1985 Nissan 720 truck, big improvement.

General Comments:

Best car I've ever had. For $300 I can't beat it at all. I would jump in it and drive it anywhere in the USA.

It has lots of room inside for 3 people and 2 surfboards. Can pull a small trailer if needed. has plenty of spunk for a 24 year old car. 230000 miles and shes still going strong with no known rebuilds on the motor.

There may be a restoration in store for this car. Both my fiance and I love the car very much.

UPDATED: 6th February 2009

I've got 270,000 on it now and it's still going strong after getting a new headgasket. I've removed all its emissions parts and it does run much better now. Also gives a little better mpg.

I've got a Datsun truck that needs a lot of work, so I fixed the car in one week to get back on the road.

These little cars are getting harder to find now. I got mine for $300 six years ago, and I've gotten offers of $1000 for it in the past month. I'm not selling it anytime soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2004

1980 Datsun B210 1.4 from North America

Summary:

An inexpensive car with great reliability

Faults:

Leaking valve cover gasket.

Drivers seat belt retractor worn, no longer retracts belt.

Vinyl seats have holes worn into them.

Suspension components worn. The springs are weak, and one shock absorber is blown.

Major rust on body.

Heater temperature control cable broken.

Carburetor needs to be replaced. One jet is dead.

Clutch replaced at about 240,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car has many minor problems, but all are due age and high mileage. Nothing major or unexpected except for the carburetor.

The engine is still strong.

Transmission has had no problems.

Would handle reasonably well if not for worn suspension components.

Good fuel economy, even with malfunctioning carburetor.

The worst thing about this car, is because of it's age, finding parts are difficult and can be expensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2003