1997 Dodge Avenger ES V6 from North America


I love this car!


Once, it was recalled for something, but I can't remember what. The mechanic accidentally dropped carbon into the valve while replacing the recalled part. The car began to stall as I left the garage, and at the first stop light had stopped completely. They needed to order a new part to fix the damage caused by the mechanic.

I've had to replace 7 tires (or maybe 8). And this is the major expense of the car. The best price I've gotten on these tires is $146 per tire. If it wasn't for the tires, I'd keep this car forever!

The fabric on the sun visor has deteriorated and the padding as crumbled and begun to fall out. I believe it it because I keep the driver's visor down all the time, and the sun has worn it away.

General Comments:

I love this car.

My only complaint about it, other than the cost of the tires, is the difficulty in loading the car. My job requires me to be on the road quite often, and most of those trips require me to fill the car with supplies. The trunk holds a lot, but its opening is quite narrow and large boxes won't fit in. Crawling in and out of the back seat to load boxes there has caused more than one strain to my back.

Outside of regular maintenance, new brakes, and just now changing transmission fluid at 104,000, I've never needed major work done at the garage. And, it just passed the state emissions test as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2004

3rd Aug 2005, 10:31

Tires aren't that big of a deal if you look hard enough (as I did) you can find racing tires for only about 70$ per tire, as far as the trunk... yes it is big, but yes it is narrow, but the back seats fold down which is a plus.

1997 Dodge Avenger from North America


A real lemon. Motor and transmission blown while being driven by the dealership




General Comments:

We had the car for 3 years. In that time we took the car to the dealership 15 times. The car was not driven hard at all. In that 15 visits the motor locked up and the transmission went at while being test driven by the dealership. Very low mileage to have motor and transmission go out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2004

1997 Dodge Avenger ES from North America


A great investment


The brakes wear down quickly, And drivers side door handle broke.

General Comments:

I love my Avenger, It's great. The acceleration is a little slow, but once it gets up speed it's fast. It has a lot of room for tall people, but not that much room for heavy people. I feel very comfortable in it. Some of the passengers who a larger don't have a lot of room, but I very rarely take anyone else in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2004

9th Feb 2004, 01:40

I've had the same problems with brakes & both of my door handles have broken off. Also the recall for the ball joints I had to take it in again & get fixed after it was already serviced for that.

1997 Dodge Avenger 4 cylinder from North America


A dependable sleek car with racing quality


The brakes wear down very often.

I go through tires fairly often.

General Comments:

The car handles curves extremely well.

This car is fast. I raced Acura's. Honda's, Mustangs (V6), Toyota Celica's, and other cars that are in the 4 cylinder to 6 cylinder category. After the car picks up speed, it is very fast when dealing with cars like a Mustang V8. There is no chance when racing against a car with a big block engine. You will most definitely lose.

The car is very spacious. There is enough leg room for very tall people.

It is also incredibly comfortable. This is one of the cars you can doze off in.

I have not had any engine problems yet and I race my car.

If you take the muffler off, the car sounds great. It gives you a lovely "purr" sound especially if you knock it to second.

This car handles base very well. This car gives off very little rattle. With a little dynomat, you will have a great sound system. I have two Apline Type R's (12's) and there is very little trunk rattle.

I love my car. What I like most is that it is very dependable. I do not have to worry about getting in it and the car not starting.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st November, 2003

12th Jul 2004, 19:04

I have the same car as you, no Honda's can take this car I also use my car to race, and I agree with the curve thing, it does handle well. top speed 142... so far.

4th Nov 2004, 07:19

I have a Black one. this car runs great with a nice cold air and a little extra hp in it I'm pushing 245 horse power out of that small v6. the one problem I do have is the brakes. but other than that I have taken a mustang Gt and many other imports. But one thing is it a impor or a American car?? GREAT CAR FOR KIDS.