1999 Dodge Avenger Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1999 Dodge Avenger 24v V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 24v V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carSubaru GL

Summary:

Awesome except electrical problems

Faults:

I have experienced some electrical problems. Because of that, some times it won't start.

Also, the rotors and brakes still squeal even after replacing the rotors twice in 3 months.

And just today it started over heating, and I checked my oil and water, and nothing is low. New mystery to me.

General Comments:

I still love this car and love racing it!! When it starts... The car looks really sexy and I love the way the engine sounds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2007

1999 Dodge Avenger Sport V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance93792 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

I do not like this car and would not recommend it

Faults:

Brakes replaced after 10000

Transmission Sensor replaced at 15000

Rear Defroster stopped at 65000

Black goo from door seal at 5000

Transmission replaced at 70000

Major tune up, timing belt at 93000

Can't see out back window.

General Comments:

I would never purchase another Dodge because of the experience with the Dodge dealers in my area. They are very uncooperative when it comes to fixing a problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd May, 2006

1999 Dodge Avenger ex 2.5L V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

This is the best car I have ever owned

Faults:

There is nothing wrong with my car.

General Comments:

This is one of the fasts cars I have driven. I have owned a 2000 Eclipse with the 3.0L V-6 and a 1994 Chevrolet with a 4.3L V-6 Vortex engine with a computer chip, cold air intake, and a 3" exhaust system from the headers back. My Dodge Avenger out performs these vehicles any day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th November, 2005

1999 Dodge Avenger Sport 2.5 litre turbo from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 litre turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carDodge Avenger es

Faults:

My door ajar lamps do not work I replaced the switches I have no idea.

General Comments:

The avenger was a decent car with performance and everything else. I added a stage 2 turbo and I have 335 horse power and my trans does not slip at all, It is a stong car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th August, 2005

1999 Dodge Avenger ES 2.5 V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance69652 miles

Summary:

Nice

Faults:

Front coil springs have gone bad after only 3 weeks of ownership, and it needs new brakes also

General Comments:

I love the car. I just turned 17 and bought it with my own money. I got the dealer down to 5700. It does NOT look like a $5700 car. I love the way it looks, and it is a ES, so it came with CD, leather seats, moon roof, and all the bells and whistles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th December, 2004

27th Jun 2010, 08:18

Hahaha 5,700? I just talked a dealer down to 4,000 on a jet black 1999 Dodge Avenger ES Coupe. I love the car!!!

6th Mar 2013, 23:18

Congrats on talking the dealer down to 4000 six years later...

1999 Dodge Avenger ES 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Beretta

Summary:

Awesome sports car for the price

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with my Avenger. Just normal repairs like breaks and rotors at 60,000 miles.

General Comments:

I have the ES model which has Leather seats which are AWESOME! Also the 4 wheel disk breaks that have ultimate stopping distance. I just put 4 brand new slotted and drilled rotors. It has very good handling. I just don't like to drive it in the Wisconsin winters. It does have remote start on it though so I don't drive it cold. I love the automatic sun roof and the sleek look the car has.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2004

1999 Dodge Avenger ES V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

Looks good, but not worth the hassle or money

Faults:

Trans-axle Sensor at 21000.

Fuel Tank Sensor at 30000.

Black gunk leaking from the door at 35000.

Speed Sensor at 51000.

Front brake caliper sticking at 61000.

Twice a pothole bent a rim, causing a flat (I believe there are some class action lawsuits in court about this).

General Comments:

The car does not corner as well as expected.

Acceleration is poorer than expected.

Tires need to be replaced approx. every 30000 miles and are very expensive (though cheaper models are finally showing up on the market).

It is difficult to see out of the back of the car.

It looks great!

Poor service from a Dodge "5-star" dealer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th January, 2003

18th Jan 2009, 18:48

Actually, it looks like the sensors are badly made. Chrysler's had a reputation for electrical maladies since the '80s, so anyone buying one may as well prepare themselves for some electrical gremlins, and then be surprised when they don't show.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 9 reviews