1996 Dodge B2500 SE 3.9 V6 from North America

Summary:

Truly something that should have never been built

Faults:

I had to replace fuel pump 3 weeks after I bought it.

A week later I had to replace the clutch fan.

6 days after that, I had to replace the water pump.

3 weeks later, had to replace the transmission.

I have to replace the clutch fan about every 3 or 4 hundred miles. Can't figure out what the problem is.

Front end makes a lot of noise.

Had to replace the rear shocks.

When using heater or A/C, it automatically switches to defrost.

General Comments:

This van is very sluggish; it can't get out of its own way.

It's a very noisy and uncomfortable ride.

Had to replace 4 fan clutches in three months.

They really need to do something about these true lemons.

Tires wear uneven and very fast.

It's truly not a safe vehicle to be on the road with all its problems, especially if a lot of people are having the same problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th May, 2012

29th May 2012, 06:20

A 17 year old car with 128K on it is probably worn out by the previous owners - you can't complain like it was new.

29th May 2012, 10:21

I agree. These vehicles don't come with "lifetime warranties", although I'm beginning to think some folks expect they do.

1995 Dodge B2500 Conversion Van 5.9L (360 C.I.) from North America

Summary:

Outstanding full size conversion van - 3/4 ton

Faults:

Developed a pin-hole in the radiator at about 80,000 miles. Minor repair at radiator shop resolved it.

Transmission would get hot and not function when pulling a trailer in hot weather. Factory transmission cooler was not sufficient. Added auxiliary cooler and have not had any problems since. Have been pulling trailers in mountains of the West for several years, since, with no problems. Just now getting to the point where the brakes will need replacing.

General Comments:

This conversion van has been an outstanding vehicle. Am original owner and always ran synthetic oil in it. The big 5.9 L (360) Runs great and never failed us. Engine turns very low rpm at highway speeds due to overdrive automatic transmission. Hills and mountains no problem with this large engine.

Use this van for vacations multiple times a year. Most of the miles have been interstate and the only maintenance has been one battery and one set of tires. Have 116,000 miles at this point.

I am also very pleased with the millage. Due to the automatic overdrive, get up to 18 miles per gallon with just us and our luggage in the van. Drops down to about 10 or 12 when fully loaded and pulling a heavy trailer.

Van still looks and runs as good as when we bought it new 14 years ago.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2007

1994 Dodge B2500 Conversion - Mark III High roo 5.2 (318) from North America

Summary:

Great family and trip taking van!

Faults:

I would say the worst parts on the van is that dodge uses a thinner metal in their doors, but we have been careful so no doors have any problems at this time, but from experience I won't buy a dodge van with a slider. (this van has the double door, no slider.)

Currently there is sometimes a bearing type noise that seems to be coming from the transmission, but no issues with the driving or shifting quality.

General Comments:

We have loved this van. The Mark III conversion with the TV and VCP makes the trips easier on the little ones. The leather seats are comfortable and easy to clean.

We are currently looking to sell only to find a larger van that has more than seven seats, since our 6th child we no longer can fit the whole family and not enough extra room for luggage.

Dodge seems to make a reliable motor and tranny setup that gives me peace of mind driving a distance without the cash to do any major repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2005

30th Sep 2005, 15:08

I totally agree about Dodge's sliding doors. I owned a '94 Grand Voyager and the sliding door fell off completely!! I B.S. you not.. The flimsy tracks were bent and mangled, which I don't understand because the van was never abused and I hardly ever used the slider! I went straight to the GMC dealer the next day and unloaded that flimsy hunk of scrap for a '99 Safari van, which I'm happy to say has no problems except for routine stuff (brakes, ect). Chrysler sucks.

1st Jun 2012, 11:48

The noise you are hearing is probably the rear end. The bearings in the rear end housing can get worn and make noise. Nothing to worry about until you feel a vibration upon acceleration, or when making turns left or right.