1990 Dodge Caravan Reviews

1990 Dodge Caravan LX 3.0 from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance190000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Fantastic

Faults:

Replaced front axle (2008).

Driver's side window motor broke last year (2009).

General Comments:

I love my van. I don't care if it is out of style and has fake wood sides. This van is so reliable.

I got it for FREE because the axle was going bad, and the previous owner didn't want to deal with it. I paid $89.00 for the axle, which my husband replaced.

This van has had NO engine trouble for myself or the previous owner. The interior still looks nice and is not worn. The paint is still in good condition.

I have taken this van camping and up mountain hills, dirt roads, fishing, and to and from work everyday. It is completely reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2010

1990 Dodge Caravan from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

Not a good vehicle

Faults:

Like other owners, I have had to replace my brakes and tires often.

My car always needs an alignment.

The air conditioner was leaking water in my car. The company knew this was a problem with their Caravans, but did not do a recall. But they fix it, even though it was not under warranty anymore.

I have also had to replace many cracked hoses since I owned the vehicle.

My latest problem, like many other people, is my engine light stays on. Several months ago the mechanic told me not to worry about it. It was just a emission leak; it happens a lot with these vehicles. The only problem now is I have to get a brake tag, and guess what, I FAILED the test because of this emission problem. Hello Dodge Dealers, why don't you do a recall on this?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th December, 2007

1990 Dodge Caravan LE 3.0 from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance225000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

After 15 years, still like new

Faults:

Idle air control (in throttle body) requires cleaning every 40000 - 50000 kilometers or so.

General Comments:

Can still runs and drives like new.

Best vehicle I've ever had (of the 40 or so I've had)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2005

1990 Dodge Caravan from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

I loved her like a sister and she still took all my money, never again!

Faults:

I have had to repair and replace the brakes twice in the front once in the rear.

Replaced the battery once.

I put in a new water pump, radiator, timing belt.

Had to repair the fan. When I use the air conditioner the van overheats. There is a similar problem with the heater.

Engine light constantly comes on warning me of danger, its not always incorrect.

Electrical problems when it rains and the undercarriage gets wet.

I have had to remove the alarm system that was installed because it drained the battery.

Dash board sensors read incorrect data.

I've replaced the front tires twice.

The tie-rods have been replaced twice and front axle once.

The windows fell into the doors, right and left.

Repeat rattling clicking and banging noises are being heard now.

The transmission does it's own down shifting and up thrusting at random intervals while driving. Has trouble down shifting after reaching just over thirty five miles per hour speed.

This van is terrible on any incline.

Now I'm getting a wheezing noise when I start her up and then a click, click.

After a few of those then she starts.

I have spent over two thousand dollars on this vehicle, my own stupidity. I am not putting one more penny into her.

General Comments:

The comfort is great. The space is just what I need for what I do.

Folks I expected problems like this with an older vehicle but not this numerous.

After reading the reviews, no way am I buying another one no matter how new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th June, 2004

11th Jun 2004, 07:47

I don't get it. I just don't get it. Everybody on here who complains about a used car says it's a piece of junk. YOU BOUGHT IT USED!!! IT HAD 70,000 MILES ON IT WHEN YOU GOT IT!!! You don't know what the previous owner did to the van, how they treated it, or what kind of care they gave it. And from what it sounds like, they did not take care of it at all. Plus, you got just about another 40,000 miles out of a car that was built back in the early 90's (a time period where it was a big thing when a car hit 100,000 miles and was still running).

24th Sep 2004, 09:46

My mother's 1990 Dodge Caravan was a lot of work too. It turned over 100000 TWICE before we got rid of it. :)

It's hard to kill, I guess. But only if you make it so.

18th Feb 2005, 21:52

Actually, the late 80's and early 90's was a terrible time for Chrysler, so I can see why there are so many problems. At this time, Chrysler came out with the infamous electronic ultradrive transmission which was a HUGE LEMON, and practically bankrupted the company because of all the recalls and lawsuits.

14th Jun 2005, 11:55

Yeah, they did have a lot of problems with that transmission. My mom's old 1990 Grand Caravan SE had the tranny replaced TWICE within 4 years. It was still a good car though, and I have many fond memories of it.

28th Nov 2005, 01:07

The main power plant in most of these older Caravans is the Mitsubishi 3.0 lite v6. It's a very a reliable and durable motor. There is only one drawback. The thing is very tempermental. You have to make sure to change the oil at least every 3000 miles, the transmission fluid every 15000 miles, and flush the radiator every year before summer time. Make sure to always use new filters when changing the fluids. Follow the maintenance guidelines and the motor will literally last forever! If possible do the maintenance yourself to make sure it gets done right.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 6 reviews