1990 Dodge Caravan Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1990 Dodge Caravan 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired167700 miles
Most recent distance171500 miles

Summary:

Won't stop running!

Faults:

Radiator started leaking at 169000 miles. (replaced for $140)

Leaks oil out of the valve cover.

(Gasket sucks)

Check Engine light came on at 170000.

(Ran rough while idling and had hesitation under acceleration. When it was at running temp engine would not rev over 4000rpm.)

This problem just went away by itself.

(No repairs were done, now runs great.)

Big dent the oil pan. (Hit it going too fast off-road.)

1st gear and reverse can be hard to get into. (But not usually)

Sliding door fell of the tracks and dropped to the ground after went over a speed bump and accelerated.

(This only happened because my friend didn't shut the door all of the way)

Put it back on in 1 hour.

General Comments:

Bought this van for $100. (Best money I ever spent.)

This thing is quick for a 4 cylinder non-turbo. Surprised to find that is was a 5-speed manual.

I drive this car very hard and it just won't break. (Burnouts, drag-races, off-road, 180's in the snow, etc.)

Pretty good in the snow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2003

17th Nov 2003, 10:51

HAHAHA!! You sound like me!!! I drive mine like I stole it!!Mine is in the shop right now because the water pump& timing belt went out! I need to slow down now!!! It's a sign from above!

18th Feb 2005, 21:55

Did you say that this VAN is a 5-speed manual? Wow. I thought all vans were automatics!

13th Apr 2005, 22:00

Actually, Chrysler did make the Caravan/Voyager vans with a 5 speed manual transmission. They are few and far between, but they do exist.

22nd Dec 2005, 08:30

1990 3.0 Caravan SE: Question for "Nov 17" client. What did the water pump repair entail? and cost? My Caravan has 160,000 and runs good. I've had some coolant leaking. It appears to be on the passenger side from the area near the water pump. I'm looking to get a "ballpark price" on what to expect. One garage said they must lift the motor out to replace the pump.

Mwh.

1990 Dodge Caravan SE V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
Engine and transmission V6
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10

Faults:

Brakes repeatedly - could be a function of front wheel drive.

Vapor lock in hot weather.

Factory muffler after 8 years.

General Comments:

Generally love the car - comfortable, easy to drive, great gas mileage, can haul lots of people and stuff.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 1998

1st Jun 2001, 09:08

I have over 214,000 miles on my Dodge Caravan and just love it. It's my 2nd home!

2nd Jun 2001, 00:19

I put 184,000 miles on my 86 Caravan, my younger brother has 143,000 on his '87 Voyager, and my older brother has a Grand Caravan (around '88) with 253,000 miles on it. The Grand Caravan just blew its transmission but after all those miles, and just returning from a trip to Florida (we're in Maryland) I guess its about time. We all love our minivans. I'm in the driver's seat of mine about 99% of the time and its really comfortable, and I'm a big person. And they are easy to drive, and to park in tight spaces.

7th Jul 2001, 09:12

We have an 1989 Dodge Caravan with the turbo. It has just turned 136,000 miles. Have loved this van, especially the way it drives. Our only complaint, is it has started to have vapor lock problems in warm/hot weather. We are on are third fuel pump due to the frequency of the occurrence. The first pump was good for 124,000 miles, the second one was just a bad pump that lasted 6 months. I really like the turbo on this thing.

14th May 2002, 20:18

We've had our 1990 dodge caravan for 12 years now and we're only up to 235000 kilometers and we have yet to change anything aside from the battery (and brakes, obviously).

It's great, it's fun and its very reliable. Best 25 grand ever spent.

13th Oct 2002, 23:15

Today, I bought a 1990 Dodge Caravan SE for a thousand dollars. When driving it home, I was impressed with how smoothly it handled; and everything still works on it! However, its paint is peeling miserably (it looks like it has a case of leprosy!!), but that can be remedied with a new paint job. This is my daughter's first car and she will be tootling around town in it to school and the stores-so I think I got a sweet deal! The interior is fantastic: it has been well-maintained.

4th Mar 2004, 22:12

I bought a 1990 Caravan in April of '90 with 45 k miles. It now has 356 k. It's been great and I would not hesitate to drive it anywhere. I have changed the oil every 3 k miles and use the STP oil additive on alternating oil changes.

I've had the usual transmission problems (three) but that's it. I just keeps on running and running.

Bob.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 6 reviews