1996 Dodge Caravan Reviews - Page 11 of 12

1996 Dodge Caravan LE V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.3 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance148000 miles
Previous carChrysler Cirrus

Summary:

A lifetime problem!

Faults:

I haven't even had this van a month and I have dropped 1900 dollars in it! Transmission blew last week and that cost me 1700! I am ready to sell, any offers??? This is my last Dodge purchase! They have disregarded all of my requests for help!

General Comments:

DODGE, no more!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st May, 2002

31st Oct 2006, 13:58

I personally haven't owned any Chrysler vehicles, but I have heard nothing, but trouble on the Caravan. I know 3 different families that owned them, and they were throwing away nothing, but money on fixing them.

1996 Dodge Caravan LE V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Previous carChrysler Cirrus

Summary:

The Dodge Caravan is like a beautiful lady with a bad attitude!

Faults:

I have had the van 2 weeks and so far I have had to buy a new starter, clock spring, and just today 3rd gear went out in the transmission that was rebuilt in January! The transmission shop says they can look at it in 2 weeks. By then all the gears will be out!

General Comments:

For a 96 I don't expect a brand new running car. However I did expect it to get me to work and back every day. I cannot believe the Chrysler Corp. is getting away with this! I only wish I had found this site 3 weeks ago. I sure would not be owning a Dodge Caravan! I have contacted CC and they beat around the bush about the problems being cause by drivers, etc. The bottom line is, they already have the $20,000 out of the vehicle YOU are driving. So why should they care what happens? Well, next year might not go so well for CC and Dodge if they keep up the poor service!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd May, 2002

1996 Dodge Caravan SE Sport 3.3 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.3 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Significant problems since we've owned it. Would not recommend this year of Dodge Caravan

Faults:

Gas gauge went within 30 days of having the vehicle. Replaced and is still not working correctly.

Air Conditioning dead. This has happened on several Dodge vehicles, should actually be a recall.

Wipers occasionally start and stop by themselves.

Built in child seats are horrible. Almost choked my child.

Oil leak, may be head gasket.

Starter went.

General Comments:

This has been nothing but problems since we've owned it. Wanted to get rid of it earlier, but sank too much money into it so decided to keep it for a while.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th April, 2002

8th Sep 2002, 18:43

I have a 1996 Dodge Caravan, bought new. Have the same problems you mentioned. Wipers come on for no reason, gas gauge jumps around, doesn't want to go sometimes, transmission went out at 60,000 miles, etc...

26th Nov 2002, 19:25

We also have a 1996 Dodge Caravan 3.3 automatic which we purchased in Jan of 2002 used. This van has been nothing but a nightmare since day one!! We have just about replaced everything imaginable since we purchased this van 10 months ago. We paid 4,000.00 and so far have another 4,000.00 invested into its problems. Everyone tells us its the green color, well I don't think so!! Upon finding out about the clock spring recall I immediately phoned Chrylser and they said I had to wait to get a letter from them. I explained that I already replaced the part and have a receipt and just want my money back and she said to wait for the letter. Yeah right!!! We have had to replace the power steering pump, water pump, head gaskets, oil problems, oxygen sensors, just to name a few things! The engine still smokes, the front end clings and clangs at every bump! I will invest not another cent into this van, next time it goes off the nearest cliff!

1996 Dodge Caravan from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance83741 miles
Previous carChevrolet Truck

Summary:

A $15,000 lemon..

Faults:

Headlights came on once by themselves, had to disconnect the battery for a day. Radio wouldn't turn off another time. Small fire in the headlight switch.

Airbag light is stuck on.

Passenger side sliding door lock doesn't work.

Electrical problems are causing me to have to get rid of it.

Been in the shop twice and they can't find anything wrong with it.

Just driving down the road and it dies. 15 minutes or a day later it will start again. I can no longer drive it anywhere because I don't know where or when it will die on me again.

General Comments:

Will never, ever, buy another Chrysler product as long as I live...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th December, 2001

Average review marks: 5.0 / 10, based on 46 reviews