1996 Dodge Caravan Reviews - Page 12 of 12

1996 Dodge Caravan SE 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.6 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carChrysler Neon

Summary:

A poor excuse for 'the best mini-van on the road today'

Faults:

Transmission went out after 6 months. The first time the dealer looked at it, they were unable to find anything wrong. When the transmission finally failed they 'found' the defect which was a stuck solenoid valve inside the transmission.

Passenger side rear door has a history of opening on its own. Very disturbing when you have three children.

Seems to have some problems with the front end. It shakes very badly at times, and new tires did not fix that problem.

Rear seal leaks oil, and at $500.00 to fix I guess I'll keep pouring oil in the engine.

Air conditioning went out 2 months ago. Found out the fans had quit working, total cost to fix all that was $700.00.

General Comments:

I wish I could trade this heap for something better, however these vans hold no re-sale value and I would take a serious loss trying to trade.

Dodge needs to get into the citrus farming industry, hey they've the lemon thing down to an art. They need to admit publicly that their Caravans are all defective from tip to tail and take them back.

The only redeeming quality is the interior room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th September, 2001

3rd Oct 2001, 20:14

We bought our 96 Grand Caravan new, loaded with leather and all options and now have 80,000 miles. In all these years the only problem was with the transmission at 78,000 miles. Other than that the car has been perfect.

Still looks and drives as new with no rattles of any kind. The only other expense was new tires at 45,000 miles.

I have spent twice the amount for some other new cars I have owned and had constant problems compared to this caravan, which has been almost trouble free.

20th Mar 2003, 21:12

I have had the same problems with my 1996 Dodge Caravan. Oil leaks, electronic issues, constant recalls, and transmission trouble have plagued me through my years of ownership. I believed the van would be great for my large family, but have yet to experience a family outing without something failing on the van.

9th Aug 2003, 21:26

My oh My, sounds like my Caravan! At 82,000 miles replaced the transmission. Had the integrated child seats 'fixed' 4 times. they would lock up on my kids and leave strap marks on their little necks. Chrysler said I was the only one who had complained! Imagine that! The A/C has cost me $2000 over the years. After three years the transmission is going again! Just out of warranty. The rear door locks don't work, the radio works when it is in the mood, and now the A/C is working when it feels like it as well. I also get a bell chiming at me occasionally out of the blue and I also have had the 'ghost wiper' fixed 3 times and it still is not fixed! We are trading in this heap of crap this week! Get this... trade in value...$1000. We paid $26,000 for it 6 years ago and it is worthless now!

9th Aug 2003, 21:49

Are you looking for another minivan?? Get a Ford Aerostar. Check out www.ford-trucks.com or the comments and reviews on the Aerostar. Great vans!!

1996 Dodge Caravan SE 3.3L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.3L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired81000 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Problem car

Faults:

Bought the van in 1995, started the recalls in 1996.

Electrical problems throughout the van.

Electric driver side window fell out of its socket.

Interior lights blink.

Water pump replaced.

A/C is not working, front and rear.

At 80,000 the transmission was rebuilt for 2,065 dollars.

General Comments:

We bought this van for our growing family.

We have had problems from the time I departed the dealership.

The three year 36,000 mile warranty is not working for this type of problem vehicle.

You will need an extended warranty if you plan on a Caravan purchase.

I will never, never, never buy another Caravan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th August, 2001

10th Apr 2003, 16:24

I bought a used 1995 Dodge Caravan in 2001.

A week later, I began to have problems with it not wanting to pull. It was as though it didn't want to take the gas.

Also I had to replace the water pump, only to find out that the previous owner had just replaced the water pump.

I also had a new timing belt put on, but after the water pump was put on, they told me that wasn't the problem; that it was a hose inside the motor that was leaking, so I had that replaced.

Then I had to replace the front axles, which did not help, so I had another transmission put in, thinking that would solve the problem, only to find out that after I brought it home and drove for a couple of days, it's still doing the same thing as in the beginning, not wanting to take the gas. So we did a code check, and were told it was a torque converter clutch solenoid.

Now my radio will not work due to some problem that we have no idea what it is. The fuses were checked, and that's not the problem.

Also, when I would turn my turn signals on, it sounds like a tapping noise, which started right before my radio quit working.

So I will say that as long as I live, I will never own another Dodge. I like my van as far as the room it has, and it drives good when it is running right, but I'm tired of sinking money into it, because it has been very costly, and I hate having vehicle trouble; I want something dependable.

16th Jul 2004, 10:25

You might want to have a mechanic check the junction box located under the steering column in the interior of your van. Also check the fuses again. A junction box can be very expensive.

1996 Dodge Caravan LE 3.3 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.3 liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles

Summary:

Unreliably nice ride with no manufacturer backing

Faults:

Transmission replaced 4 times - 60,000 was the last one.

General Comments:

Dodge needs to get out of the auto making business. One call for support and you know they are not in the customer support business.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th March, 2001

1996 Dodge Caravan V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carEagle Premier

Faults:

Not much pickup, bad rims,and it's not the Van's fault, but it only has a stereo, no tape or CD ... is this a 1997 van or a 1897 van.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2000

1996 Dodge Caravan ES V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission V6
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

Faults:

At 36000 the engine went out, after a lot of "talking" with the manufacturers, they finally covered most of the expense.

Constant brake problems.

Poor gas mileage.

General Comments:

Poor service at the dealers. Great wear/tear out of vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th January, 2000

Average review marks: 5.0 / 10, based on 46 reviews